We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but standards must improve !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, but standards must improve !”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the family room. Room was decent and reasonably clean. The bar area has a log fire which was fine, but the room looked very shabby with worn out furniture and dated decor. The breakfasts were fine, and the evening meals were of a good standard , however the menu was quite limited. The hotel needs a serious makeover and a deep clean. The reception area was littered with clutter and the first impressions of this place were not very good. Good location, but spend some money and bring it up to scratch, and it will be a very nice place to stay for a break.

Room Tip: Family room has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    48
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
34
68
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We spent five nights at this classic country hotel while doing ancestry research at the National Library of Wales, only a twenty-five-minute drive away in Aberystwyth. We would recommend the George Borrow Hotel for those who enjoy the quiet of the countryside combined with good food (breakfast and evening meals), friendly staff, and a bar. There is enough parking for hotel guests as well as for the friendly locals who stop by for a pint.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Like some of the other reviewers I would agree this hotel could have been presented better as the internal decor and furnishings were a little faded. However, it is very handily situated for Aberystwyth and the owner and staff were very welcoming. The hotel has a nice outside seating area overlooking a waterfall and open fields. The bar area was pleasant and the available beers of a good quality. The food in the restaurant was generous in portion size and just about to an acceptable standard though fairly limited in range which is not surprising for a hotel of this size. The hotel was not 5 star standard but if you are looking for a small and friendly establishment within a reasonable price range this will meet the bill.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms on the top (attic floor) if you are tall due to the height of the eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwesties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREWSBURY, Shrops
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were travelling as a group of five en route home to visit relatives. We decided to stop at the George Borrow as we were all collectively displaying varying signs of hunger!

From the outside the Pub looked like a typical country pub if slightly in need of a touch of paint etc. However, that did not deter us, in fact it added to the character;it's hard to find anything other than a faceless chain pub these days. Inside the pub has probably seen better days and again could do with updating...athough I refer readers to my last comment, it just added that 'real' lived in feel and TBH the whole place has great character.

Anyway after a few pints (less the driver of course!) we decided to order from the menu. The menu is small, although in my opinion less is best. Typical Pub style grub on offer, with the added bonus of sandwiches/baguettes and much to our groups joy all day breakfasts!! After much deliberation between ourselves two peple ordered all day, breakfasts, two ordered bacon baguettes whilst the reviewer plumped for a cottage pie.

When the food arrived, it looked very, very nice if it tasted as good as it looked we would have all beeen happy. I am happy to say it was GREAT!!!. Good, honest home cooked food and the cottage pie was awesome. Some readers may question the fact that the classic british breakfast cannot be gotten wrong! unfortunately yes it can, I have dined in some swanky establishments and hotels throughout Europe and the breakfasts pale in comparison. In fact my notoriously finicky/fussy companions ate the lot!!!

The service was also very good and personal and ceratinly helped with the whole experience. Also of note was the lovely beer garden and view of the waterfall, helped by the sunny day!

Overall, if you are in the area/passing or even a local, get down here and have a bite (I have heard from friends the Sunday Lunch is good)...KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK Guys/girls and if we are in the area again we will have no hesitation in returning.

P.S Quite enjoyed the Holsten Vier!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sith8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is in a fine old building with many historical touches. the pub food was good and the ale choices were tasty and cold. The hotel Is in the countryside with great views from the back patio. The staff and owners were friendly, and the hotel makes a great hub for exploring this part of Wales.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckynmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Sadly only had 2 days here and foolishly moved onto Aberdyfi which we hated and phoned Karen at the Borrow to see if we could go back but she was full[didn't surprise me!] We has the family room with 2 big windows with amazing views and could even watch red kites!!!!! Liked our room as was larger than average double,small bathroom but had the necessary amenities! Comfy bed,tea and coffee facilities and Karen provided us with 2 chairs as we have some disabilities,she also washed my nightshirt for me as I got omega 3 oil on it from a burst capsule[don't EVER do this...you WILL regret it!!!]
Comfy residents lounge with lovely views again,so did the restaurant where we had a nice breakfast.It's also the local pub so a nice atmosphere in the background[you could sit in the bar if you wished]
This place really grabbed us,the location[you can visit Nant yr Arian down the road and watch the red kites being fed]beautiful countryside and pleasant,down to earth staff.We hope to return in summer[did I say that?]for a few more lovely peaceful days

Room Tip: views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hectorzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Although 15 min drive from Abber this little hotel is great. Ok slightly in need of updating but the whole place has great character. Good honest food, eat in the bar at night in winter or resturant in summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pward09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
10.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
304 reviews
12.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
498 reviews
11.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Property: George Borrow Hotel
Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing