We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay with amazing views.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponterwyd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ffynnon Cadno Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ponterwyd B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for a weekend whilst we were trail riding motorbikes across the mountains just up the road at the Nant Yr Arian centre.

John and Jill are very welcoming, friendly, polite and their B&B is great. Very well priced, the breakfast was good and you are spoilt when it comes to the views.

Rooms are of quite a high standard, and the internet connection was useful, especially as there is no mobile phone signal in the area.

The double glazing in the bedrooms makes for an almost silent sleep, it really was peaceful.

The garden is lovely although we visited during the winter storms, I bet it would be very nice during spring, summer and autumn.

I'd highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnoncadno, Owner at Ffynnon Cadno Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we have wonderful views which we tend to take for granted. The garden has taken a hammering during the recent storms but hopefully will soon looking much better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in October 2013 We were made very welcome on arrival by John, who after showing us our room invited us down for tea and biscuits, we then got to meet Jill. A lovely couple who made us feel like friends and not guests. We were even taken to and from the local pub as the weather wasn't the greatest, nothing was too much trouble for them and the breakfast was mmmmmmmmm. Thanks to you both for a lovely stay, we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can honestly say this was the best guest house we have ever stayed in. Wonderful hosts, John and Jill are both so welcoming you couldn't wish to meet a nicer couple, we even got tea and biscuits on arrival. Only stayed for one night but wish it could have been longer.

Everything was way above what you normally expect in the usual run of B&B's, they provided a wonderful assortment of beverages including bottled water and biscuits in the room. A wide array of toiletries in the bathroom, fluffy white dressing gowns, three pillows each and spare blankets, loads of towels and a bath and a shower.

The breakfast was superb, plenty of fruit, cereals,etc., and the full cooked was a huge plateful all cooked to perfection including the best fried bread ever.

We have paid twice as much at other places for a lot less. I could not recommend this more highly we will be back.

Room Tip: We had the twin room with private bathroom its compact but was big enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywright47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

On arrival & were made most welcome.We stayed one night, but wished we'd booked for longer. The facilities were excellent and the Guest Lounge and bedroom were very comfortable. John & Jill were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent served in the conservatory overlooking the Country Garden. This is a great location for exploring this lovely part of Wales. Within half an hours drive we had seen Red Kites & Ospreys at the various wildlife centres, it is also within easy reach of Golf courses etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently stayed in the four poster room for 2 nights,thinking we would be able to relax in the advertised 3 acre mature garden with ponds and beech wood.In actual fact we could only reach a very small portion of this [a tiny concreted area closed in by a huge barbeque and picnic bench] as by the owner's own admission the rest of the garden was very inaccessible [and not only because I use a stick] due to large uneven parts and being overgrown,we could not get to the wood or the big pond.The garden had swayed our decision into staying here as we just wanted to chill for a couple of days.The A44 alongside a good portion of the garden was another disadvantage and contrary to what others have said on here this was very audible from our room also.
The bed was very uncomfortable,the wooden frame pinched your legs when sitting on the side of the bed as the mattress was such a bad fit,the mattress had also seen much better days along with the pillows and the 2 'comfortable chairs' in the bay window. A lot of dust was present,the round table in front of the window particularly so.Also the curtain on the small window was coming away at the top.
We also felt very uncomfortable [where was this 'arrive as a guest...leave as a friend?'] as many family members were there especially on the Sunday and we felt like intruders.
One of the owners only said about 2 words to us.
The car parking is awful.....a lane at the side of the property,you would be blocked in if more than 2 vehicles present,and you would also have to reverse onto the very busy A44 unless you'd managed to [still dangerously]reverse in.
On a positive note our room was a good size with plenty of storage,the breakfast was good, especially our omelettes,and quite a lot to choose from.The lady owner was pleasant when she was there but this was not a lot.
I am afraid a further stay would not suit us.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet choose the back double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hectorzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnoncadno, Owner at Ffynnon Cadno Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay at Ffynnon Cadno. As you were registered disabled and needed a walking stick to walk my wife suggested that the slightly uneven path leading to the woods and pond area might be unsuitable. There is however a level access to this area from the second car park which would have been suitable.
With regard to the parking arrangements the lane in question belongs to Ffynnon Cadno and is not used for any other traffic. There is sufficient parking for a minimum of 3 cars and an area to turn around without reversing onto the A44 road. I am surprised about your comments also about the 4 poster bed. The mattress is an orthopaedic mattress and the pillows are replaced as a matter of course every 6 months. On a positive note I am I am glad that you enjoyed the Breakfasts for which we are truly proud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed a ffynnon cadno three times over the last two years and we have always had a warm welcome fro John and Jill. A cuppa on arrival is typical of the way they greet their guests. The room was clean and spacious. A great breakfast and what a wonderful conservatory setting with superb views of the local valley. Even though the road is a busy one we couldn't hear it from the room. We have stayed here whilst visiting our daughter at nearby Aberystwyth university which although several miles away is within easy reach and the local kite feeding station is very handy if you have time to spare

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped here for one night on a trip to see relatives on 9th Feb 2013. Well what can we say.... this is a really great b and b! Our room was beautiful with a lot of thought and attention put into the room and great value for money. John and Jill are lovely hosts who were so welcoming and helpful. It was lovely chatting to them over breakfast. There was a great choice for breakfast too. We will definitely be coming back here to stay again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
0.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
156 reviews
9.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
9.9 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Brynarth Country Guest House
7.6 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#8 of 36 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hafod Hotel
The Hafod Hotel
#2 of 2 in Devil's Bridge (Pontarfynach)
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ffynnon Cadno Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ffynnon Cadno Guest House

Address: Ffynnon Cadno Llangurig Road, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ponterwyd
Price Range: $53 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ffynnon Cadno Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ffynnon Cadno Guest House is a distinctive residence with large mature gardens, ponds and walks, set in the beautiful foothills of the Cambrian Mountains. Ideal for explorinng Mid Wales mountains and coast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing