We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in stunning location”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Aberporth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan H
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely house in stunning location”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have found a gem of a house in a stunning location. It exceeded all our expectations. A peaceful relaxing holiday in a stunning location with easy access to some world class beaches and the Ceredigion coastal path. The spacious accommodation provides a variety of rooms, some with en suite, including a lovely sitting and dining room. The traditional kitchen has all the facilities to provide for a large family. It is well maintained and was spotlessly clean. All in all we cannot fault it and could recommend this lovely house for a memorable family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland595
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty, decrepit and disappointing”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Probably the dirtiest house I have ever set foot in. I spent the first afternoon and evening cleaning the kitchen to make it even passably hygenic for my children and grandchildren. Threadbare rugs and a smell of wet dog everywhere, layers of grime around the taps in the bathrooms and the showers, and smoke alarms with dead batteries. Open drain in the utility room, unusable barbecue, Aga caked in grease, electric cooker you could only turn off completely at the wall, and on and on. Avoid it at all costs. 1 star only for the weather, which meant we could be outside on the lawn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Filthy kitchen and overall dirty condition
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
I am so sorry this lady did not enjoy her stay, but I am honestly amazed by her comments. We have been letting the house for 20 years and have never had comments like this. Since the new caretakers moved in several people have commented that the house is cleaner than ever. Moreover the caretaker asked the guest soon after she arrived if everything was all right and she replied ‘yes’. During the whole week she was here, she never once intimated to the caretaker (who lives across the yard) that anything was unsatisfactory.

To answer her complaints in more detail:

There hasn’t been a dog in the house for at least 2 months and that was only for a week. There were certainly no dog hairs on the kitchen floor (as the guest claimed in her original email) as it had been mopped 3 hours before the guests arrived. Nobody else has been able to detect ‘the smell of wet dog everywhere’.

There are no ‘layers of grime’ in the bathrooms and what the guest mistook for a smoke alarm was in fact a carbon monoxide monitor, which the caretaker assures me was working fine.

The Aga was certainly not ‘caked in grease’ and the guest actually told the caretaker that she wouldn’t need the Aga anyway. I’m sorry if she found the barbecue unusable but scores have others have used it without complaint.

In her original feedback the guest complained of ‘inadequate garden furniture’ – I fail to see how 6 deckchairs, 2 garden benches and a garden table that seats 6 could be ‘inadequate’ for 10 or 11 guests. She also claimed that she hadn’t let her grandchildren play with the toys here, but if so how did they come to be left scattered around the living room?

In fact, for a lady so clearly keen on cleanliness and order, she left the house and garden in a surprising mess. The croquet hoops were scattered round the garden along with balls of silver foil, the furniture had been moved round and not replaced, and glass and bottles were all thrown into the same bag as the food and general waste – this despite very clear instructions on the bins as to what should go where. It is a pity she doesn’t practise what she preaches..

In conclusion I can only repeat that her comments are totally contrary to the overwhelming majority of feedback we’ve had from our guests over 20 years.

Richard Mitchley (co-owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grumpy285
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable well equiped property in tranquil setting.”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2014

A well equipped comfortable 'homely' property in a lovely tranquil environment and we were greeted in a warm friendly manner. The property was ideal for our needs (with the added bonus of a ground floor bedroom and bathroom) with comfortable sitting rooms, bedrooms and kitchen. The only downside was that the property was 'tired' nothing a lick of paint and general maintenance would not address.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plenty of space, inside and out!”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this house for an extended family holiday, and found the variety of bedrooms suited us well, and there was plenty of space downstairs including the formal dining room and cosier kitchen. The children enjoyed the space outside to run around, and the adults enjoyed the views and the peaceful location.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L
1 review
“A lovely house and grounds, great for a family hol;iday”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

It is a lovely place, peaceful and private, handy for beaches and countryside.
Comfortable and well equipped. It housed our four generations easily. We were welcomed on arrival and well looked after during our stay. We are coming again for the same week this year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamescim
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Large house & grounds for extended family gatherings”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at the property (last time was over 5 years ago) and had no hesitation to return as the house has plenty of space for a large extended family gathering, with plenty of bedrooms and living space downstairs.
The heart of the house is the kitchen which has large table in the centre and an Aga keeping the room warm in the corner (there is a second cooker by the side if you want to cook things quicker!). It is also very well equipped with every possible utensil and plate sizes, and you can either eat in the kitchen or use the formal dining room if you all want to sit together.
The living room is just about big enough, but like most family groups people were split between all the different rooms as there is so much space!
The bedrooms are all on the large size and bedding provided is very good with enough bathrooms to allow everyone enough time to get ready.
The other highlight is the garden which is huge and plenty of space to play hide and seek or have an egg hunt!
The property also has WIFI but the speed isn't great but just enough to keep teenagers connected...
We also booked a Tesco delivery to arrive on our first day, but Cardigan is only a 20 minute drive away when you need to restock.
Overall if you are looking for a big house for a family gathering or with a group of friends this is a great house, and the surrounding area has plenty to keep you busy for trips to the beach, walks or visit to Cardigan castle.
Also we found a number of restaurants in Cardigan who would take a big group (see my other reviews)

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: It is an older property, but this add to the character!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
384valeri...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely spot to spend a holiday”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

large house to accommodate 8adults and five children raging from 115years to 2years ,big garden to play games in .lots of places to visit we had a great time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: plenty of room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing