We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, friendly quirky hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Rivers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Rivers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferryside
Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant, friendly quirky hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a cosy hotel in a lovely location within a few minutes walk of the beach. The interior is very pleasant although the room we had was relatively basic and, a tiny niggle, the toiletries in the room were very limited - the bubble bath bottle was empty, there was just one soap in a dispenser above the sink and no toothpaste. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

We ate in the restaurant which was ok but a bit "old school" with rather over cooked vegetables etc. Breakfast was excellent.

The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere of the place is homely and relaxed.

Overall it is excellent value considering there is a pool, sauna and jacuzzi and I love the fact that these are open all the time so guests can use them at their convenience.

We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area, although would probably eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca_F_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    50
    24
    15
    9
See reviews for
55
50
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

4th visit for a cycling trip and still excellent value for money. Perfect position with great service and excellent service. Quiet location with the added bonus of a swimming pool, sauna etc all included in the room rate. Nice place to return to after a hard day in the saddle, will certainly return again, no complaints at all, thanks to Caroline and staff for looking after us....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Booked this place last minute, as I was in the area working!
I was attracted by the price and the fact that there was a pool. Unfortunately the hotel was disappointing!
The chap on reception was friendly, but that is pretty much the only positive.
The room was grubby! Sheets not the cleanest and the bath room smelt of urine around the toilet area! The view from the window was ok! Apart from the flat roof directly below my window.... Where the owners Alsatian lived! There was dog poo everywhere!
The spa was an added bonus but it was tired grubby and in need of repair. The steam room and jacuzzi were not working.
I ate in the restaurant and my food was served cold almost frozen in the centre. So I didn't eat in there again. And the wifi throughout the hotel was unreliable so I couldn't do my work.
The morning breakfast was a buffet style but it didn't look fresh so I ate cereal instead.
Such a Shame about this place.... It's got bags of potential but is in need of a lot changes!!

I'd like to point out again that the staff really were lovely and helpful!!!

But I won't be returning here

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dairylesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was booked as a gift for my wife specifically for a night out with good food, and the added attraction of the advertised spa. We were both utterly disappointed. On first impression, the hotel looked good. We booked a deluxe double room that was spacious with a large double and an extra single in it. On closer inspection, the double was in fact 2 single beds pushed together. This wouldn't have been worth mentioning, except that things just got worse from there. The TV remote worked if it felt like it, the kettle dripped scalding water everywhere if it was used, only 2 sachets of coffee were provided (no biccies), no shampoo or toiletries were provided, only shower cream, and some of the lights in the room didn't work, so it was fairly dingy. After being in the room for a few minutes, we could hear people talking and realised it was those in the next room. They weren't being noisy, it's just that the walls are paper thin. All excusable in budget hotels maybe, but not in one charging £124 / night.

Thinking that all this would pale into insignificance when we went in to the spa / gym complex, we were yet again to be let down by this hotel. Everything was tired and a little grubby, the pool was fine, but the jacuzzi didn't work. After finding one of the quite elusive staff, she had no idea what the problem was, so called the owner. She couldn't get it to work either and said it must have only just gone wrong as it was working earlier. After telling another guest later, we were told that it wasn't working the day before either! The light in the sauna didn't work, and the light fitting in the steam room was missing, but there was some kind of control box in the corner with a blinking red light on it. On investigation the panel fell out of the box exposing bare electrical wires... in a steam room! When the owner was told about all this and how disappointed we were, he was completely disinterested and carried on about whether I'd be booking food or not for that evening. In fact it seemed quite difficult to get him to understand anything that was said to him. We did find a sign to the beauty treatments room, but there was nothing on offer, strange as this was specifically requested at the time of booking.

So to the food, where I thought the hotel could really excel. It did, after all, have a good looking menu. The steak was cooked fine, but came with frozen chips, the desserts were like those bought in a supermarket's frozen food dept. The creamy garlic mushrooms weren't particularly creamy but again were just ok. This was a fairly expensive meal and we were expecting something a little special for the price, but it was really only as good as half decent pub food. Next morning we sampled the included breakfast which is served as a buffet. Staff seem to wander about and you have to catch them to get simple things like the filter coffee maker topped up. There was a good choice of cereals and yoghurt on offer, but when it came to cooked breakfast, it was not at all good. It seemed that it had been kicking around in a warming cabinet for quite some time. The bacon was dry, the sausages were small cheap looking things and the mushrooms were a tinned or frozen variety boiled up. At the prices charged, I was expecting to be asked how I would like my eggs, but that wasn't even an option, instead some bland watery scrambled eggs were offered that really weren't very nice at all. The owner walked through the dining room twice and didn't even bother to ask anyone if everything was OK, in fact, he didn't even acknowledge anyone and walked past without a word.

To be honest, there were some good bits to the hotel, but the owners seem not to be on top of keeping their standards up. I felt overall that it was at best a budget hotel masquerading as a quality one. We had stayed in the Future Inn, Cardiff a couple of days prior to this one and it was half the price and a whole world of difference in quality.

In fairness to the staff, I think they were trying to do a decent job under adverse conditions. The receptionist was very friendly at booking in time and other staff members would respond to requests where they could, but a top class hotel that "runs out" of sachets of coffee for the rooms is clearly getting something very wrong. Just to top it all off, the owners have a large german shepherd dog, that seems to live on the flat roof above the reception. It runs to the edge barking every time someone walks past, which is incredibly irritating if you have a room nearby and not too nice for those being barked at by a large dog.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gar1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

we chose this hotel specifically as it said it was dog friendly , and we were not dissapointed.
we arrived at about 8pm on a fri for a 3 night break , the gentleman on reception was very friendly and welcoming , and we were soon booked in to our room , we had a lovely room on the 2nd floor with a small balcony and a sea view . i can not fault the room , it had a kingsize bed plus a single , plenty of storage space , tv , fridge , hairdryer .
the bathroom was huge with bath and shower cubicle. room was lovely and clean
we were able to get a meal in the evening even after arriving late , the food was served quickly and of excellent quality , as was the wine.
breakfast was buffett style and plentiful
our main reason for booking here was as we could bring our dog , they made her so welcome , offering fuss and sausages , she was allowed in all areas of the hotel and allowed to join us for breakfast .
i would reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYESOWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend and his family for a week over new year. The house is wonderful; incredibly spacious and well equipped and each bedroom has an en suite. We all used the gym and pool at the main hotel on a daily basis and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The beach is beautiful as is the scenery nearby and the walk back up to the house is a good thigh workout! The gym at the hotel is in need of updating but as that didn't affect our stay, Ty Canol still gets 5 stars!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HettyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent one night here and were very pleasantly surprised by the cosy warmth of the reception and public areas, whilst the spa was an added bonus. The bedroom was a little dated in terms of décor, but spacious and clean. We had good quality hearty meals and the staff were wonderfully friendly and welcoming. Next time we come this way we'll definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: If you enquire by phone you might be able to request a room with stunning views over the estuary to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferryside
2.5 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.3 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
13.0 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
16.0 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Rivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Hotel

Property: Three Rivers Hotel
Address: Ferryside SA17 5TU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Ferryside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferryside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Rivers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem situated in the Carmarthenshire seaside village of Ferryside nestling on the Three Rivers estuary enjoying superb views of Llanstephan Castle and Carmarthen Bay towards Caldy Island and Tenby. An idyllic setting.Completed in 2003 using original stone to match the existing Georgian House combined with the highest quality materials and expertise, evident throughout the hotel, all bedrooms are en-suite, spacious and tastefully furnished. Deluxe rooms all have sea view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Three Rivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing