We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mint Imperial”

Imperial War Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Duxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: IWM Duxford tells the story of the impact of aviation on the nature of war and on people's lives. Set within Britain's best-preserved Second World War fighter station, seven impressive hangars filled with extraordinary collections and state-of-the-art exhibitions take you on an unforgettable journey through times of war and peace.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Mint Imperial”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a grand old day out .
You will need comfy shoes for this day out as there is plenty of walking to do , our advice is to start at the furthest attraction which is land warfare and then make your way back down. Plenty to see and do and defiantly worth the admission fee .
Its a real step back in time , and the aircraft and the vehicles are in pristine condition and look and feel as though they could go into action at any time
An excellent day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SSW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,358
    536
    92
    26
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Extremely interesting day out with lots to see. Going inside Concorde was the highlight of my trip, but my son preferred the huge selection of war planes. You could easily spend 6 hours in there if your feet were up to it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyleesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walk to fly”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

All the reviews will tell you about the fabulous aircraft exhibits. But please note that this is a big walking day if you are taking in all the exhibits, including land warfare. It is an airfield and, obviously, the buildings are spaced out as they would be for ground movements of aircraft. There are plenty of places to sit and rest, there are food outlets and bathrooms at multiple locations and an ice cream truck was on site when I visited. There is a small bus for people with mobility issues or disabilities but it does not run as a shuttle between the exhibits. If it's raining you'll be out in the weather for some time as well. A private company was offering flights in a Tiger Moth, Dragon Rapide biplane airliner and a training plane, possibly a Harvard. These were quite popular.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank coxp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fab day out with our boys (ages 7 and11). Great interactive section in the first hangar - upstairs and fantastic opportunity to go inside Concorde. American air hangar also excellent. Everything well signed so we could talk about aircraft, tanks etc - the 7 year old especially loved it all. Ate in The Wing Commander cafe - very clean and meals were reasonably priced (£33 for 6 main meals). Stopped for coffee in the afternoon too - only downside was the overpriced cakes at nearly £3 a slice. A lot of walking - we were there for 6 hours - so wear comfortable shoes and if you want to take the opportunity if going up in an old plane take some extra cash. At £39 per adult we declined. All in all a value for money fun day out for families with military enthusiasts.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal Day out with the Family”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went on Good Friday thankfully the weather was dry as a lot of walking outside to the different museums. I purchased the Spotting book for the children which was a brilliant buy. Seeing all the different planes up close was amazing the children were so excited, especially being able to go inside Concorde. Our eldest son has been learning about WW1 & WW2 in history so being able to see, touch and read and learn a lot more was amazing for him. Food in the cafes were very over priced and wish we had done a picnic, that was the only down full. Staff very pleasant and helpful who we spoke to in the grounds. We had an extra bonus on this day, a spitfire landed and took off from the air field. Of course the pilot had to do some tricks before landing and after he took off! WOW! A fantastic Day out full of learning and exercise.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kgrl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial War Museum also viewed

Duxford, Cambridgeshire
Duxford, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Imperial War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing