We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody Awful!!”
Review of Duxford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duxford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duxford
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked this hotel for its charm and also close to Duxford air field, on first impressions it was lovely, the gardens are beautiful but that is where it stops, the girl on reception was polite enough in very bad english! The first room was at the top of the house and had no shower, my husband kept hitting his head on the beams and I cannot use a bath, I actually requested a garden room and got stuck up the the atic. I asked to be moved to a room with a shower which we were and it was a garden room, well the mould was awful, a massive crack in the sink, the spiders where enjoying the room more than we did, there was so much dust everywhere, radiator was rusted, the shower didn't work properly, the bed was so soft I hardly slept for the 2 nights we where there, we tried to find somewhere else but all where fully booked due to the airshow. We got a reduction in the price of the room but still felt ripped off, we didn't have an evening meal there but went round the corner to a lovely pub called the Plough and food, price and service fantastic. We had no apology for the room when we left, the breakfast staff on Saturday morning where so rude to us, I couldn't wait to leave., I have had better stays in a PremierInn which is where we will stay when next in Duxford.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirfieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetmary-9, manager at Duxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2009

We have 4 executive rooms- 2 on the second floor and 2 garden rooms each with a 4 poster bed.
The on-line request made via our website was for an executive room. A second floor room was allocated as the 2 garden rooms were already booked.
On arrival the room was not to the guests liking and they were offered the only other room available that night.
An alternative room was offered for the second night but this was not accepted.
The concerns about the bathroom have been noted and the problems dealt with.
On Saturday morning the guests sat at a table set up for 3 people before the Waitress could show them to their allocated table and were therefore asked to move to the correct one.
As we have a relatively small dining room, tables have to be allocated according to the number of guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 345 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

I found this hotel on the net as I am doing regular business in this area and needed to find somewhere that I could hold informal meetings.
Duxford Lodge is ideal, the room (no 4) was comfortable, the food, particularly breakfast, was good, the bar very comfortable and ideal for informal meetings.
They have free wi-fi.
Will be back regularly

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed here for one night after attending the Last Night of the Proms Concert at Audley End, which is just down the road. Our room on the second floor was very comfortable, with plenty of storage space and a good view of the extensive garden. The large bathroom had everything except a proper shower.
There is a wide choice on the breakfast menu and we both enjoyed the Duxford Grill which was freshly cooked to order.
The staff are very friendly and efficient. The hotel is ideally placed to visit Cambridge and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

this was our fourth stay at the lodge and it was wonderful relaxing ,the staff as ever were lovely always willing to help and take care of all your needs nothing too much trouble you are made to feel special,the food is very good indeed cooked with great care the puddings were yummy and i love the chef the breakfast are really good large portions to set you up for your day ahead
we can not fault this hotel and get cross when we read poor reviews on this hotel because you would have to go far to get this kind of service any where esle it is good vaule for your money we can not wait for our return next year.
sue tottie

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank poohbearLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

lovely hotel. freindly helpfull staff. Had a fab time at Duxford iwm and visiting various beautiful villages.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank robmorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrywest763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachhousehotel, General Manager at Duxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
2.4 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
277 reviews
10 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
271 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxford Lodge

Address: Ickleton Road, Duxford CB22 4RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duxford
Price Range: $78 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duxford Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duxford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxford Hotel Duxford
Duxford Hotel Cambridge
Duxford Lodge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing