We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duxford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duxford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duxford
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed two nights whilst visiting the Imperial War Museum [minutes away] and we were impressed with both the accomodation and the excellent food.
Mine hosts were very helpful and service in the restaurant was as good as the food.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    46
    24
    29
See reviews for
32
117
22
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a very enjoyable 33rd Anniversary meal on Saturday evening, Staff were very polite and the ambience was nice, Menu was good, we chose the crab salad and the lamb with fresh vegetables and a very nice dessert washed down with a nice bottle of wine. I would not say there was a very big selection to choose from but it suited our taste and we had a lovely meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice welcome from friendly receptionist, who said she lived in the next village. We stayed in a garden room with a four poster bed and our own bathroom. It was a beautiful day and the well cared for grounds and hanging baskets of flowers created a lovely peaceful atmosphere. We were able to find a quiet spot to sit and relax in the garden.
The bedroom was a little dark, but not a problem. It was very hot, but an efficient fan was provided and we had an uninterrupted nights sleep.
There was a wedding party in the hotel, but no disturbance from this.
Breakfast was enjoyable. We both had a cooked breakfast and the bacon was especially tasty. We would consider staying here again. It felt more like 'home from home' than the hotel chains we sometimes stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreabocelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Comfortable cosy hotel in its own gardens. Trees and shrubs on the front drive and circular flower bed in front of reception immediately provides a feeling of tranquillity as you leave the road behind you – free parking provided. From the attractive stained glass entrance, through the sunlit hall and stairs, it is immediately evident that this is a well-kept, clean and pleasant place to stay. Very friendly welcome – a member of staff cheerfully took my case up two flights of stairs to our room. The bedroom decoration was of an equivalent standard to that of many boutique hotels with a fairly contemporary and stylish colour scheme. The bathroom was a good size and the fittings looked fresh and new despite the bidet (often found in more dated looking bathrooms). A range of attractive bath products were also provided. The lack of an upright shower was compensated for with efficient shower mixer taps and a large, deep bath. A pull open skylight in the bathroom and easy to operate wide opening bedroom windows allowed us to benefit from a lovely breeze on what was an otherwise hot day. A view of tree tops and the sound of bird song added to the pleasant countryside feel. Evening dining was on offer but as we had plans we did not sample this. After a good night’s sleep we enjoyed a pleasant breakfast served without fuss. Guests would benefit however from being offered pre-buttered toast with eggs (scrambled eggs arrived on dry toast so trying to butter it ourselves was unnecessarily messy.) Like so many hotels, the room supplies of milk and teabags were also fairly limited and I would much rather not have to bother staff for more supplies in order to satisfy the caffeine levels we enjoy at home! These very small issues aside, we had a very enjoyable stay at the Duxford Lodge – a relaxing, value for money break in pleasant surroundings -we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem you might want to ask when booking not to be put on the top floor as it fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We loved the attentive service during meals and the rest of our stay, but the room (nbr14) was a disappointment. Fortunately we were just in transit so it did not matter too much, but the room was small, had a small double bed and a small bathroom. I have never had to say please and thank you so much to my wife as we manoeuvred around the room and bathroom.
We slept badly because we are not accustomed to such a small bed.
The room, a converted outhouse is potential delightful, letting onto the gardens, but it was just too small.
Dinner was a pleasant surprise (I was not expecting too much) and the breakfast worthy.
On balance however, we thought poor value for the price.
You can get a larger room at 40% of the price from a national chain down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger garden rooms or something in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nayland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed one night and did not experience dinner but did enjoy a very good stay. Our bedroom and breakfast were excellent. This hotel is quite traditional in its style with good pleasant surroundings. Our bedroom was on the top floor in what would have been the attic and was a very spacious room with a sofa and additional seating, TV, tea and coffee facilities, plenty of storage if you were staying for more then one night. The bed was very comfortable, 5' and with crisp white bedding. The bathroom is generous in size but because of the pitch there is not a shower but there is a bath with hand shower which is very useable. On a potential down side it may be a little hot if the sun had been beating down on the roof, not a problem when we were there though.
The breakfast was very good and it was so nice to be seated and then able to choose from a menu and be served a full English breakfast, excellent fried egg! It makes such a change from a buffet and food that has just sat on a hotplate!
The staff were very polite and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel for good value, great comfort and an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I had some work to do at the nearby Duxford Air Museum and needed a hotel for two nights which was not too far to travel. Using Booking.com I found the Duxford Lodge and then checked it on Tripadvisor. I got the impression of a generally reasonable establishment.
On arriving, I was very surprised, first by the sweeping drive then the seclusion of it even though it was in the middle of the village, and then by the welcome from Sue on the reception. It was a cosy and inviting place to walk into. The room No 2 was set for a single traveller and was perfect for my needs.
I did not have an evening meal in the restaurant, but looking at the menu in passing it catered for all tastes.
I was 10 minutes from Duxford Museum which was perfect, which after a substantial full english breakfast a pleasant drive through the countryside to work, I arriving refreshed.
The staff were all very friendly the food was excellent, the room was great. I cannot fault it in any way.
I will certainly return in the near future.

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller room No 2 is perfect. it has a view of gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freespiritashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
22.9 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.4 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
7.8 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxford Lodge

Property: Duxford Lodge
Address: Ickleton Road, Duxford CB22 4RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duxford Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Duxford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxford Hotel Duxford
Duxford Hotel Cambridge
Duxford Lodge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing