We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Balsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friends wedding reception”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to our friends wedding reception at the red lion. I can speak on behalf of all our party.The room set up looked stunning and you could see that the team had put alot of effort into the set up. The service was outstanding especially from the two girl supervisors Lucy and Natasha. All three courses were delicious so please pass on my thanks to the team in the kitchen on the day. I would recommend anyone wishing to celebrate a special occasion to go to the red lion.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Red Lion for your friend’s wedding.

Weddings are a very large part of our business and considering this is the most important day in the bride and grooms lives, we put very sizeable resources and planning to ensure it goes smoothly.

You recommendation means a great deal to us and we hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    75
    63
    45
    34
See reviews for
54
126
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had 2 double rooms here on Livingsocial deal so good value 2 night break. The hotel is very convenient for train, literally 1 minute walk to station. This did not mean 'noisy bedrooms' we did not hear the trains at all. One room was very comfortable the other was very small for a double- not a problem to us since we were a party of 3 and therefore that room had single occupancy. We were also very well placed for Duxford Air museum which we visited and American War Cemetery. The girls behind the bar which also doubled as reception were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was freshly prepared and exceptional quality, service at breakfast not so great - no menu on day one, no side plates either day just bowls, no offer of more toast or drinks and in fact the hot water for tea and the coffee on day 2 ran out. I am sure all these would have been provided if requested . We enjoyed one dinner here and the food was good value as we used a 2 for one main meal voucher. The waiter, Charley, told us it was his second service and bearing this in mind he did extremely well. we were served quickly but not rushed and the quality was good. I would definitely stay here again the negative comments could be sorted in one training session.

Room Tip: We had room 19 which was excellent. room 18 very cramped double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was very pleased to read your review and your overall happiness with our services.

Thank you for your comments on our new waiter Charlie, the lad tries very hard, is eager to learn and your review has given him encouragement.

Sorry about the issues at breakfast. The buffet is set out the night before with the food added the following day. It would appear on the day in question, the preparation wasn’t great.

We are glad to read you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am not impressed with this restaurant. Everything is to over priced. The meals aren't up to standards. It took forty five minutes for our meals to arrive to our table. My mothers steak was raw, she couldn't cut it, only the outside of it was cooked. She sent the steak back and they took off 50% off our bill. Seeing the raw steak out us of all our meals. Also with the steak and other comfort food dishes you only get about 9/8 chips in a tiny pot. When we arrived the waiter told us they only had a few dishes available. They had five main courses left when there was more than five on the menu, which meant I could not get the meal I wanted. It's a very nicely decorated building with nice modern touches but they are trying to hard on the food an the presentation of it. The staff were welcoming which felt nice for a change but the food was awful. The staff kept telling us that the new menu will be available next week but we replied with this "Yes, but we're here for today,not next week." Really if they don't have many meals they should put a board out side the restaurant saying "Short on food" or "Closed due to no food left" by the time we left they had about three main courses available, which is awful for early evening on a bank holiday. Surely they must of had some food. There steaks were tiny for £17.00 and my chicken was not worth £13.00. Overall not impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyrevieiws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies

What an awful experience you had, this is simply unacceptable and I can find not one excuse for the failures in our service levels. This is rank amateur on our behalf and something I will not tolerate from my team. We have let you down very badly indeed.

I am very eager to speak with you, we want to invite you back by way of an apology but also to let you see how the Red Lion really works.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duxford hotels

Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent one night in the hotel. We were intrigued by how successful the modernisation had been especially in a 13th century building. The floors in the bedroom were delightfully uneven. The atmosphere in the bar was great and the meals were very acceptable. We have absolutely no regrets in our visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read of your satisfaction.

The interior design was done by our owner and her sister. Having grown up in the red lion, they know every nook and cranny meaning the end result complimented the old build perfectly.

That said, it is okay having a shiny new hotel but without the right people serving, the success of the red lion would be limited and it was great to hear the staff impressed you too.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and thanks for sharing your views on our hotel.

Kind Regards


Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Red Lion is a very old coaching inn which cowers at the back of a vast station car park over which a Holiday Inn Express hotel stands sentinel. It has been bullied into submission by modernity, and now caters for the more widely-built customer in terms of characterless dining and drinking areas. Conversely the bedrooms are a triumph of design over space. Room 18 is mainly occupied by a very comfortable double bed, there is a miniscule shower room, but two people would fall out if they had to spend a night here, both out of the bed and with each other. As a bedroom, what it lacks in space it compensates with a iPod dock, a good size TV, and evidence of the clever people who constructed timber-frame buildings 300 years ago. One does have a choice - The Red Lion charges £79 for B&B, and the bacon and egg for breakfast was excellent. The Holiday Inn next door charges £119 and the breakfasts are unexciting. One night in either place would be enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room bigger than 48 sq. feet, they will either overlook the railway line or the car park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your very constructive review.

We have modernised the red lion not because we felt inadequate compared to the buildings around us, more out of necessity. We were at pains to ensure the building’s character was left intact even after our modern spin was added.

We have 18 bedrooms all different sizes and i am sure we would have one you would find comfortable.

Thank you for the comments on our breakfast, all the produce is locally sourced to ensure the most important meal of the day leaves you refreshed and ready for the challenges to come.

We do hope you return, we have a room for you and a warm welcome would await.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a very good lunch at The Red Lion, Whittlesford Bridge. We were greeted in a friendly, professional manner and seated quickly. There was a good choice on the lunch menu and we had an excellent meal - freshly cooked, hot, tasty, plentiful and served on hot plates. The succulent steak and Stilton pie was crammed with good quality beef, and the accompanying fresh vegetables were cooked well. The fresh haddock with wholegrain mustard sauce was delicious. Yann, the restaurant manager, was attentive, as were other staff. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67RONNIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is very pleasing to read your comments. The food is all locally sourced produce ensuring we give customers a real taste of Cambridgeshire.

Our Restaurant Supervisor Yann is a very attentative chap and we are very proud of his efforts.
I am delighted to see you will return and I assure you the next time will be even better than your first visit.

Ross Ferguson

General Manager
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I held my 50th birthday party at the Red Lion on Saturday 16th March 2013 and had the best night of my life. I was so impressed by the way the staff looked after me and ensured I was happy with the arrangements right throughout the evening. They picked up on the smallest of things, for example, someone commented to their friend that there wasn't any vegetarian food on the buffet table (my fault for not ordering any) and arranged for a special meal to be made for my guest. My guests all commented on what a brilliant venue it was for a party and how wonderful the food was. The following morning, my guests that had stayed over at the hotel for the night, were looked after equally as well by the breakfast team. I can't recommned the Red Lion highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Roz

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very pleased to have made your 50th birthday so memorable.

Your review proves how capable the team are of making a customers visit special.

We know you have choices and we are humbled you picked our hotel for your special day,

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
318 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
6.8 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
570 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Property: Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge Duxford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing