We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge by a Christmas Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Judge by a Christmas Visit”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Red Lion is an interesting contrast, it is an ancient coaching inn with areas dating all the way back to the 13 century with a harsh styled modern Holiday Inn adjacent to it.
There are 18 rooms which look clean and fresh. the accommodation having received extensive and no doubt expensive refurbishment including flat screen television and a multi-function clock come iplayer. The rooms are decorated in shaker style and as such follow a minimalist theme, there are very limited storage provisions except for a peg board coat hanger. This was acceptable for me but could present problems for guests staying for a number of days. The bathrooms modern and fresh but again, no storage it could really benefit from a shelf.
My first stay in December 2012 was not the best experience, often they can be problematic during the busy Christmas period, and so it proved in this case. It was very busy with noisy parties, relatively slow service and rushed cooking. The room I had was a single, I forget what number, and could only be described as a 'broom cupboard' with a single bed up against a wall however, it provided a comfortable quiet nights sleep. Breakfast was slow and limited, with very little on offer for the continental choice and no porridge or green tea, although to be fair there was numerous other green tea options some of which I had never heard of!

Despite this I returned in January for two days, I'm so glad I did, what a different experience. Room 27 was similar to the previous one except a little larger and a double bed up against the wall, the same storage issues remained however. The dining experience was far superior, they had obviously been challenged by the sheer volume of people just prior to Christmas. The wines were excellent as was the cooking, the menu, choice and availability good and the staff were just great and genuine. The breakfast was far better, now with added porridge but still no green tea. the continental options were still limited.

It just shows that you should not judge an establishment over the Christmas period. It is a genuine establishment with good honest food and reasonable value for money to which I will definitely return.

Strongly recommended but watch out for Christmas.

Room Tip: Have your height surgically reduced. Medieval doors, I'm 6' 2" tall!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive feedback.

I am very pleased you decided to return after a festive visit that left a lot to be desired.

We were not overwhelmed by the sheer volume at Christmas however on reflection we were pre-occupied and it has taken you to point this out to us. Taking care of our customers is important because we want people to return. It makes no difference if a person spend £1.00 or £100.00, we treat customers the same.

The feedback you supplied was shared with our team this morning. It is something we will ensure we guard against in the future.

We hope to welcome you back again and thanks for giving us a second chance.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    75
    62
    45
    34
See reviews for
54
125
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed on 19th Jan for a post Xmas works do. The 2 course meal room for night and full English breakfast package was excellent value at £35.00 the room was great, bed comfortable and customer care great, food was of a high standard at night and breakfast. Could not hear any noise from train station or traffic. The only down side was the price charged for drinks at the bar which at nearly £5.00 a pint was very high, and the fact that bar ran out of cider, guest ale, and dark rum very very early in the evening. But a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive feedback.

I was very happy to read your experience with us was positive.

I apologise for the lack of certain products, I have brought this up with the Operations Manager who said he thought he had enough stock of the items you mentioned but didn’t anticipate the demand on these lines to be so strong. The cider and guest ale are popular but the Dark Rum is very hit or miss so he didn't order more because he didn't think he would need another bottle. It is rare for the hotel to be caught out with ordering but we hold out hands up and admit we got it wrong. Our Point of sale system is very robust and this allows the hotel to analysis sales trends per product but perhaps using a bit of old fashioned gut feel or common sense would have been better.

I am very glad to read your comments about noise levels in the bedrooms. Having lived and worked in a busy city centre, the noise compared to these areas is far reduced so thank you for highlight how quiet our hotels are.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

a group from work took advantage of a fabulous January offer here for dinner, bed and breakfast at very reasonable rates.

On arrival, I discovered the heating wasn't on in my room and the room was cold. This was fixed very quickly, with a portable heater brought up to my room so that it could be brought up to heat quickly while the radiator started to warm up.

The food was fabulous. Even though there must have been around 50 people booked in for this event, all the food arrived on the tables hot and beautifully cooked, well presented and very tasty. As an added bonus, there was a disco provided, which was beyond expectation for us. I did find the bar prices a little expensive, but for a hotel, probably quite normal.

All the rooms were nicely presented. All were a little quirky and as the building is so old, there are doors which are very low and windows that don't seal well enough to stop the draft, but as the building was well heated, none of that was a problem. It all added to the charm and character of the experience. It is however quite noisy, so ear plugs are a must if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast was excellent. A full range of cold choices and a full breakfast cooked to order. Very well presented and lot's of it.

The staff here were excellent. All were customer focussed and the manager went above and beyond to ensure everyone had a great experience.

A great stay and I would recommend both the hotel and the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binniecambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your views on our hotel.

It was very pleasing indeed to read your satisfaction with our services. The team are very thankful to you for taking the time to post your review. Whilst all feedback is important to us, it is great to hear of a job well done.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had my Birthday Party at the Red Lion at Whittlesford Bridge at the end of December 2012.
The whole evening was a great success, and ran extremely smoothly. The staff could not have been more helpful. The venue was ideal, using the conference and atrium at one room to make a great room to seat 80 guests. I have heard nothing but praise from my guests about the venue, the staff and especially the food. Thank you so much for making my birthday so memorable. Jacquie

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JacquieK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Jacqui

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read you, your friends and family enjoyed thier time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to serve you and your party and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Quite a surprise’ clearly a lot of money has been spent transforming an old coaching inn into a rather chic boutique hotel. The rooms are functional and clean. The large double bed was very comfortable with good quality linen. Very little noise despite being located directly next to a railway station. Large car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on our hotel.

I was very pleased indeed to read you thought our facilities were up to the standard you would expect.

We hope in the very near future to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We travelled 8 weeks around Great Britain and the Red Lion was the worst by far. We were the only people staying there so the guy put us in the smallest room in the atic. Charged us a extra 20 pound just in case he said [ it was a bond]. We paid for breakfast only to get up the next morning and there was none , they forgot to tell the girl. You could not stand to have a shower,the bathroom was a joke. So, so small the room, l would hate to be a big person. The bed was a king single bed for two people, just had to lie on side. Oh well a travel story but would not recommend this place. Bad

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daffywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duxford hotels

nottingham england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in room 18....or Harry Potter`s room...it was TINY !!,warm,(window was painted shut) clean, nice sheets comfy bed, no wardrobe no drawers.................I like quirky but this was little !! When we arrived not sure why it was suggested we paid in full. ..we also paid for 2 evening meals £40....we had our meal, the bill was less than £40,but then presented with a full drinks bill...."can we have our drinks bill redused, by the underspend on our meal " ...."No "....well that was not good...it was sorted in the end by a grumpy manager, and 3 waitresses !!!! we paid the correct ammount.....evening meal was very good......not noisy despite being near a rail line...breakfast average, fruit was very poor, tea cold....poor waitress was very busy and helpfull....she became the receptionist a little later !!! busy girl...overall worth the money and would stay again...but not in room 18 !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couple5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
323 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
11.0 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Property: Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge Duxford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing