We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boxworth
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were visiting friends in Cambridge, and this is where we ended up when we were looking for cheap accommodation options.
First of all, let me stress that this was not a *bad* place to stay. It was completely average for the price range. It was clean, had all the necessary/expected facilities, and was conveniently situated for travel, both by car and public transport (although pinning down the particulars of the bus routes can be a challenge).
Staff were helpful. Room seemed damp even after some ventilation, but couldn't put my finger on why that would be.
Highlight of our visit was seeing a large bird of prey on a lamp post in the car park.
I can't guarantee this will happen on your stay, however.
So, to surmise - a perfectly adequate cost-appropriate place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stormachtig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    165
    111
    57
    69
See reviews for
108
140
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was expecting a travelodge motorway services, but this place is ok :-)

The room has everything you need, is clean and (relatively) quiet. You're better off with and upstairs room as the people upstairs can be a bit noisy but that's the same with any hotel.

Straightforward check-in, basic and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_evans_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner and i frequently stay at the Days Inn just off the A14 to Cambridge due to having friends who live nearby.
The hotel is always clean and the staff very welcoming. The location is hardly beautiful being at a motorway services but it is quiet, the rooms are a nice size, and the staff are friendly.
We usually pay to stay in a kingsize bed as the beds there are incredibly comfortable and its only a minimal amount more. You can also often find codes that reduce the price of your stay if you go for 2 nights and book directly via welcomebreak which is even better.
The only negative experience we had there was being put in a room on a very busy weekend, that had clearly had someone smoking in it. However we asked to be moved and immediately they lovely lady on reception sorted this out for us. However, upon moving to the 2nd room, we discovered it to be a very old and uncomfortable double, unlike the kingsize we had paid for and were expecting. We were eventually moved to an executive bedroom which was lovely. We are not the moany type, and felt awkward complaining the the lady on reception put us completely at ease and made moving rooms as quick and easy as possible. Wonderful customer service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Clean rooms with twin beds, had a bottom floor room but needed curtains closed as people used path outside as a shortcut, also couldn't have windows open. On arrival found kettle didn't work but was straight away changed for a travel kettle. Later on that night realised toilet seat was not fastened to toilet. Too late to go to reception so spoke to receptionist at 6:30am next morning as we had an early start. Came back after a day working to find toilet not sorted, spoke again to receptionist said no-one available to sort it now. Quite disappointing!!

Room Tip: Any level but ground unless necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Clean, large rooms. Surly receptionist who took a call as we arrived and was not helpful to the customer on the other end.
Very comfortable bed although there was only a sheet between us and the mattress - no liner. Nice shower - bit odd to find the sink in the bedroom but not a problem. we had a ground floor room and the aspect was onto a lovely manicured lawn with rabbits - totally unexpected at a motorway services!

Room Tip: Room 107 looked out onto the lawn - worth trying to get 101 through to 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseYHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Another great stay at Days Inn. Check in was pleasant and efficient and I was given the room that I had requested. I was really impressed with the gentleman who did the check in - he saw me struggling with my luggage and asked if I needed some help. No-one has asked me this in years! No bathroom but a really good shower. Wi-Fi accessed with no fuss again. Bed was comfortable with additional pillows in the room. I had a really good nights sleep and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htur61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wanted a nice double room with en-suite near Cambridge at a good price. So many hotels in or near Cambridge are over priced. Was pleasantly surprised as always thought Days Inn were low budget. The room was good with a nice big shower which even had a seat in it.
Was maybe a little far from Cambridge if you want to use taxi's as they were expensive. But we drove in during the evening and had no problems parking and during the day we used Cambridgeshire excellent park & ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turquoisebeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boxworth
4.2 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
1.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
9.8 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Cambridge

Property: Ramada Cambridge
Address: Extra Services A14M11, Boxworth CB23 4WU, England (Formerly Days Inn Cambridge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Boxworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boxworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off junction 28 of the A14, Ramada Cambridge is just 6 miles from Cambridge city centre. There is a 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi and free parking. Every spacious, air-conditioned room at Ramada Cambridge has a flat-screen TV an en suite power shower. Ramada Cambridge is ideal for visiting Cambridge city centre, Newmarket Racecourse or Duxford. Stansted Airport is a 40-minute drive away. Children up to 12 years stay free of charge. Discounted rates at Duxford Imperial War Museum are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Cambridge Hotel Boxworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing