We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dark, dank, disgusting and depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Three Horseshoes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Absolutely the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to stay. Room was classed as a luxury en suite which was a total joke as there was nothing whatsoever luxury about it. Mould, cobwebs, hairs in the shower, dried mud stains on the bed sheets. Absolutely disgusting place. Breakfast was ok but not enough tea or toast offered. Price was extortionate given the hostile nature of the staff and the skanky room.

Oh and a canvas wardrobe in a luxury room??? What planet are these owners on???

DON'T BOOK HERE UNLESS YOU LIKE STAYING IN DIRTY DISGUSTING DARK DANK PLACES. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666sean666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

The inside of the pub is attractive with old exposed beams and open fire. The welcome given was was great as was the service. Dinner was good quality pub food, breakfast in the morning was excellent. We had what was described as a 'de luxe' room - it was tiny, but comfortable enough. My main criticism was the lack of heating in the bathroom.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Touring the area on a short break, we booked the last en-suite room at this 'Charming Country Inn' about a month before hand. Arriving in the Village and viewing the outside, our disappointment set in. However, we received a warm welcome from the gentleman behind the bar who proceeded to show us to our room. This was very small - no where to put our luggage even the kettle and mugs etc. were on a try on the floor. Our en-suite was almost as big as the bedroom but in desperate need of an update and tlc. (broken tiles in the shower area etc)
Breakfast was OK but certainly not the 'Charming Country Inn' we were expecting. We will not be staying at this Inn if travelling in the area again and defernately not good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31CMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

After being let down by Laterooms who cocked up my booking we found The Three Horseshoes by a chance search on the internet. Steve the Landlord could not have been more helpful and we arrived to a very warm welcome. After being shown by the landlord to our room, which was spacious and very comfortable, (The bed was so good I had trouble getting my wife out of bed in the morning!), we went for a drink and a meal in the main bar area.
Well what can I say. The locals are very welcoming, the beer and wine are excellent and very reasonably priced. The food was superb and we will definitely be returning. Thank you so much for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bognorregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from one of the worst B & B I have experienced. Stayed with my 13 year old son, and he thanked me for his first one star experience, Staff made no attempt to be friendly. The room itself was fair, until I tried to open the door to the en-suite, to be disappointed by the locked "private" door. When showed to the room was not told where the bathroom was, it was down the corridor shared by four bedrooms. The food was warm, and what you would expect from a 1970,s pub, think this was also when the place was last cleaned and refurbished.

My son is keen to go back to MK to the Snow Dome, on understanding we don't have to stay here again!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Lymington66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked to stay here on Boxing Day night as I was visiting family nearby. The booking was made on 14 December. On the morning of Boxing Day I received a phone call from the pub to say that the pub was shut that night, not enough customers. I was asked to telephone when I arrived and someone would meet me to let me in. This was a major disappointment, as I was looking forward to having a beer in the pub that evening before going to bed. If I had been told when I made the booking the pub wasn’t going to be open, I would have gone elsewhere.
However, when I arrived, I received a friendly welcome and upon commenting about the being closed, told I could still have a beer that evening and take it to my room.
I was shown to my room which was in the corner of the building (above the pool table). First impression was very good. Well presented room, luxurious looking bedding, tea and coffee, a few paperbacks on a shelf.
I went out for dinner and when I got back, got hold of the landlord and did indeed get a pint of beer.
The bed turned out to be a cause for concern. When pressed down, I could feel very easily, all the springs in the mattress. I was worried I wasn’t going to get a good nights sleep, though fortunately I did.
It turned out in the morning that the heating doesn’t come on until 8am, so when I woke before that, the room was very cold and took a while to heat up.
My bathroom included a sunken bath and a shower and the shower was fine. However, the bathroom could do with a few DIY jobs being attended to. Not to mention the very large and dusty cobweb suspended over the basin.
I had the cooked breakfast which was OK except they use tinned tomatoes rather than fresh ones and the sausage was obviously left over from the day before and reheated in the microwave.
It was nice to find accommodation so close to where I was visiting, but I wouldn’t say, at £60 for the night, that it represented value for money. It still annoys me that I wasn’t told until the morning of my arrival that the pub wouldn’t be open that night despite having booked nearly two weeks previously.
Have booked at the Furzton Lake Premier Inn for my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this truely quirky country pub - no frills but friendly staff and good selection of real ales. Rooms are somewhat small and most have shared bathrooms etc. However, for 2 of our nights we stayed in one of their on-suite double rooms - very comfortable. Did not eat at the pub in the evening, but the breakfast was satisfactory and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes

Address: 10 Main Road, Drayton Parslow MK17 0JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Drayton Parslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Drayton Parslow
Price Range: $84 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Horseshoes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Three Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing