We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - quite quirky.”
Review of The Olde Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Olde Bell Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hurley B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed here on a number of occasions, due to its proximity to various locations where we have interests. Some rooms are very much better than others, Room 10 is our favourite in the main hotel but all the other rooms in the various outbuildings look to be of a good standard. The bar is lovely old english pub style, the service good but not excellent, the menu a little dull if you stay for more than two nights but there are lots of other excellent places nearby to go to, so that isn't a problem. Good breakfasts, but why play the radio? I have asked them to turn it off but they say they can't! The dining room has bags of atmosphere without Heart radio. Lovely walks along the Thames, some beautiful places nearby (Henley, Marlow etc). It is a very homely place but having changed ownership recently and the new manager already gone, the jury is waiting in the wings. That said, we will be going back soon, so dont book room 10!

Room Tip: Room 10 is the best, but ask for "quiet".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHBRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear RHBRutland
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for your constructive comments. I am delighted that you continue to return to us; we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit this charming part of England.
Kind regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 969 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We've just returned from a stay at The Olde Bell. Plus points: really easy to get to from London; beautiful countryside; large garden which our room overlooked; interesting history and very good food in the restaurant. However... service could have been a bit more attentive (i.e. took a while to get served in the bar, and on a cold and wet bank holiday weekend lighting the fire in the bar area would have been appreciated - the room looked desolate without it), and staff a bit more knowledgeable; our first room (in the Malt House) was very spacious, but noisy: wooden floors -so thumps and thuds from the room above - and next to a fire door which banged at irregular intervals - that said, we were able to move the following night to a room on the top floor which was considerably quieter; the décor is very plain, fashionable no doubt, but with no frills - and in our view it hasn't aged terribly well. The restaurant was large but not terribly atmospheric - it felt a bit bare. All in all a pleasant place to stay, but could do with a little bit of attention pretty soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Malt House, so can't comment on the other rooms - would go for a top floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte_E_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Charlotte_E_London
Thank you for submitting your helpful & constructive comments on Trip Advisor. In the main you seem to have enjoyed your time with us although there are obviously some areas in which you felt we fell short; these will, of course, be looked into and considered.
I would thank you for your kind comments regarding our food offering and I am pleased that we were able to move you to what you felt was more suitable accommodation following your first night.
I hope that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I would thank you once again.
Kind regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Beautifully preserved very old building and interior without any twee embellishment. Loved that part of it. Bar good and well stocked. Gardens very well looked after and most attractive. Village and walk to river also delightful, this is a lovely area. Unfortunately our room more like Premier Inn and smaller than description (must say we did only book standard room and not luxury). Bathroom good fittings, needed more attention outside of shower fitting and room presentation slightly scruffy. No wardrobe although room in corner so could not stay more than one or two nights. Courtyard area outside quite attractive but for us too far from Inn to get any atmosphere. Also Tithe Barn and extension next to us and (we assume) staff arriving early using Toilets and cleaning area very noisy and constant hum of hand dryer so did not sleep after that. We had booked the restaurant for 8.15 and had a drink in bar beforehand. Ordered bottle of wine with dinner and finished it before starter arrived. My partner enjoyed his dinner but mine was too late, also not enough balance between rich food and salad or veg particularly with lovely goats cheese starter. Breakfast on the terrace - lucky enough to have perfect weather and the breakfast which was plentiful, hot or cold, could be taken outside onto the very attractive terrace and garden area. Overall, we felt some aspects here needed to be addressed but the staff we encountered were quite special. All the staff greeted us (good start). Restaurant Manager appeared as soon as request for change - discreet and concerned. Reception very helpful and smiley. Manager had also heard we left restaurant quickly and approached us next morning to voice concern. He is fairly new and seemed very enthusiastic and we would wish all of them well for the future. This place could be quite something with the current input if sustained.

Room Tip: Only saw our room which was not great for us as we had wanted the atmosphere of an old inn and we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Averil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear AverilN
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review on Trip Advisor.
I was very pleased to read of your enjoyment of your stay at The Olde Bell and particularly pleased to read your comments regarding the Team here, I know that they will be hugely encouraged by such positive praise and feedback. I have noted your less positive observations and these will, of course, be acted upon
I hope that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future and would thanks you once again.
Kind regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Basic things I like in a hotel: quiet, easy to get to rooms, comfortable bed and temp, good shower. The olde bell has character in spades, but if you're after any of the above then don't go and stay in room 54. It's almost impossible to find, it's got those annoyingly noisy exposed floorboards, it's hot, noisy and the shower is like a trickle. Disappointing. :(

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank staffs_oatcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Staffs_Oatcakes
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Olde Bell. I am very sorry that the room that you occupied was not to your personal taste and I would thank you for pointing out the failings of the shower which have since been rectified.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We spent the weekend here for a friends 40th Birthday celebration. Pre- arrival arrangements and booking had been fabulous. Service by staff during the day was attentive and helpful.
The room was disappointing. All 5 x couples had booked rooms on a special package price and had requested to be located all together in the Tithe Barn ( located opposite the main building). There was no access to the communal area that was in the write up on their website and an attraction when booking. Having seen all 5 x rooms in this particular area all rooms widely differed in size including bed sizes ours being by far the smallest. Having all paid exactly the same price I wasn't quite sure how that could be right. Manuevouring around the bed proved difficult without banging your legs on the bed frame. It is also fair to say that there is zero sound proofing in these rooms meaning you can literally hear the person in the next room brushing their teeth and switching on the bathroom light!!!!

On the plus side our meal was amazing due to our server Suly although service was sometime a little slow he more than made up for things. We were however very shocked and disappointed to be told that we had to keep the noise down in the restaurant from 11.15pm onwards. We were still enjoying our meal at this point and although noisy were not exactly dancing on the tables. Not a place for celebrating unless you attend as a couple. Breakfast the next morning was disastrous. The food in the buffet servers was cold as the heaters were not working. Staff failed to rectify this for over 45 mins and finally had to arrange a la carte breakfasts for everyone in the restaurant individually. Definite management issues here. Would regrettably not return to this place but would definitely visit the area again as it is beautiful.

Room Tip: If in the Tithe Barn request room 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear TMoody
Thank you for submitting your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that some aspects of your stay were disappointing, particularly our service of Breakfast on the Sunday morning, valuable lessons have been learnt from that.
Due to the age and nature of our building we have to be cautious in terms of all our visitors as noise travels easily through the Hotel, I apologise if you felt this approach to be over zealous. The communal area to which you refer is actually part of our exclusive function area, The Tithe Barn, and is used only when a function or event is taking place.
On a more positive note I would thank you for your kind comments regarding our Personnel and, in particular, Sully.
In closing I would thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to submit your review.
Kind regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I thought overall this was not five star. Our room number forty two had damp on the blinds and the room did not resemble five star. The food however was bliss pricey however but worth it. Pork belly was superb. Breakfast this morning was a little dis organised . we were not instructed or shown to anything.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear nula6
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to The Olde Bell. I was very pleased to learn that you so enjoyed our food offering although disappointed to read your other observations on which action will be taken.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Went for a celebration family lunch. It was chaotic. On arrival on time told to wait in bar for our table when there was no one actually seated in the restaurant. 30 minutes later when still no one had served us we asked what the problem was with slow service and the reasons given ranged from gas pipe leak, ovens not working to staff didn't show up! We were advised either put up with it or go somewhere else. When asked to speak to a manager the response was ' you are wasting your time he is useless!' Eventually got food. It was ok. Nothing special. Sadly wont go again which is a real shame as we hoped it would be special place family could go back to for special events as we used to go a lot as a family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Weekendsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Weekendsr
Thank you for your recent report submitted on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for the obvious dissatisfaction that you experienced during your recent visit to The Olde Bell. Whilst it will be of little consolation to you now I would assure you that valuable lessons have been learnt from our lapses in service on the day of your visit.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
1.1 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
94 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#9 of 11 in Maidenhead
730 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
20.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Bell Inn

Address: High Street, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Hurley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hurley
Price Range: $69 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Olde Bell Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 12th century inn, set in the heart of the pretty village of Hurley on Thames. The coaching Inn, updated. Using locally sourced food cooked simply, the Inn provides eating, drinking, lodgings. Parts of the building date back to 1135, with nooks and crannies and crooked floors. For the warmer months, enjoy local ales and eats from our summer kitchen in our huge meadow garden, or in the winter, make yourself at home inside by our open fires. We also have 48 bedrooms and 7 individually designed rooms in various auxiliary buildings, seating from 8 to 150 people for weddings, meetings and private parties. Only 45 minutes from central London, 20 minutes from Heathrow with good road transport links and Maidenhead Train Station 4 miles away and free wifi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Olde Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hotel Hurley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing