We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Relaxing Lunch”
Review of Black Boys Inn

Black Boys Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Boys Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Hurley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Relaxing Lunch”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great place for lunch. The dining room is comfortable and relaxing. The service is professional and friendly. We had the fixed price menu which was very well presented, enjoyable and good value. Our third visit and we're looking forward to next time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    48
    20
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well it's ok, no more no less, very friendly service from owners, good wine list but not cheap, not much under £25 and most over £30 not on a par with other places we have reviewed. And similar price. Table d'hote would make it more economical, vgood digestif list. £120 inc tip

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PSandzillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good one-night stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We chose The Black Boys Inn for its location as we were attending a wedding nearby. This eliminated the opportunity to use the restaurant except for breakfast. Our bedroom was small but entirely satisfactory for a one-night stay. Breakfast was excellent, using local produce where possible, including eggs from the inn's own chickens. Staff were friendly and helpful. Just right for what we needed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gloucesterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mouldy bread madam? Er, no thanks.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've eaten here before when it was very pleasant. Today, we were meeting friends for lunch and all decided to have the table d'hote menu. Two options for each course - pork rillettes or fish soup as a starter, fish and chips or chicken chasseur as a main and a sorbet or lemon posset as a dessert. Sadly the toast with my rillettes had mould on it. The waitress was called over, was very apologetic and a fresh starter was brought over. It was lovely, as was the rest of the meal. My rating on the food here is based on the mouldy bread.

The manageress/owner (?) was very apologetic afterwards and opened a bottle of wine "on the house" which, while the gesture was appreciated, given we had two drivers, wasn't really appropriate (although the two non drivers drank it!).

The excuse we were given was due to a young man who worked in the kitchen. We were told he'd been apprehended and was now to consider his career. We didn't need to know this. The bread is evidently cooked fresh every day (fresh was lovely), but how many days was it sitting in the kitchen before going mouldy? Four/five days?

Sadly, whilst the rest of the food was lovely, the mouldy bread and the inadequate excuse/reasons soured the food as we were then unsure as to how everything else had been prepared and kept.

A discount was given (after a request) but it was too little, too late. Unhygienic food or food not kept properly, with the management blaming the reason on a lower member of staff doesn't wash in this day and age and there are plenty of better or equally good restaurants in the area which don't serve food with mould.

We won't return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doglovers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was taken to the Black Boys Inn by a local who obviously knows where to get good food. We had a most enjoyable meal in a very pleasant dining room that was busy - a good sign especially when there are so many places nearby. My fish was as fresh as could be and a very generous portion. I hope to visit again very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Boys Inn also viewed

 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Black Boys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing