We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent local pub restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Horse at Ireland

The Black Horse at Ireland
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse at Ireland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Shefford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Black Horse is a family owned Inn with character and style set in a small hamlet in Bedfordshire. The Black Horse was built in the 17th Century, and although it has been updated and given a contempory style, it still holds its charm and character. With it's exposed original beams, inglenook fireplace and low ceilings, the bar is warm and welcoming - perfect for relaxing with a drink or a glass of wine. The restaurant consists of two distinct dining areas each offering their own unique style and atmosphere with either garden or courtyard outlooks. Our seasonally changed menu's use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally (where possible). The dishes are expertly prepared and presented by a team of highly qualified chef's.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent local pub restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

One of the few local pub restaurants serving quality food at lunchtime. Wide menu slection and good value limited menu. Interesting and varied wine list as well as good cask ale. Friendly staff work well as a team. Can be popular so may have to book, even midweek.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank climberrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    215
    94
    51
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of our favourites.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The Black Horse at Ireland is one of our favourite restaurants. Primarily we use it for birthdays, anniversaries etc but also when we fancy a teat.
It's not cheap but the food is always fantastic and they make a fuss of the birthday girl/boy.

Helpful?
2 Thank StuABedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been to the Black Horse several times now; initially for a 40th birthday dinner and yesterday back again for Sunday lunch.

The standard is exceptional and it was probably the best Sunday lunch I have ever had. The waiter explained the specials in much detail, and the all of the staff were extremely attentive without being obtrusive. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was rounded off with a spectacular board of cheese and biscuits, which we shared as it was huge.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions as the food and atmosphere is fantastic, and well worth the 30 mile trip to get there from where we live. I hope I get to go before Christmas for some more of that yummy Turkey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great country dinning and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a lovely pub/restuarant. The meal we enjoyed was creative , a little fancy but local. great beer and good wine. Good atmosphere. must book in advance

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Guaranteed to please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have lunched at this establishment on several occasions and always had a good experience but last week was the first occasion I had taken dinner at The Black Horse. We were a party of 5 from 3 generations so we all had rather different tastes in food but we all agreed it was a splendid meal which we all thoroughly enjoyed. It was a Monday night and the restaurant was full which speaks for itself. Th ambience is good and the outdoor seating area with the mirrored surround looks interesting for a summers day. Although one of the more upmarket local establishments the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming and this restaurant is well worth visiting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse at Ireland also viewed

Old Warden, Bedfordshire
 
Henlow, Bedfordshire
Northill, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Black Horse at Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing