We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Sandend cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage in historic fishing village overlooking spectacular beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage in historic fishing village overlooking spectacular beach.
The croft has seating at the front overlooking the beach. Fully equipped kitchen with views across the beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Cottage in historic fishing village overlooking spectacular beach.
The croft has seating at the front overlooking the beach.
Fully equipped kitchen with views across the beach.
Kitchen equipped with washing machine.
Living room with wood burning stove.
Living room seats 6 with windows to secluded yard at back and across beach at front.
Wood is provided for stove.
Main bedroom with double bed.
Main bedroom and ensuite  on ground floor.
Ensuite with Japanese bath and shower over.
Surfing is a popular pastime in the bay.
Two twin rooms upstairs.
2nd shower and toilet downstairs.
Shower in main bathroom.
Laundry drying in the historic fishing village.
View from the front door.
Great coastal walks.
Nearby village of Cullen.
Logs are supplied for woodburning stove.
The secluded back yard is fully enclosed.
Heart shaped stones collected on local beaches.
Coastal footpath.
Sunnyside beach.
Spectacular views from cottage.
Cross country skiing in Clashindarroch forest neat Huntly.
Sandend village.
Portsoy harbour during small boats festival.
Sandend harbour.
Parking is available in front of cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portsoy, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
geddesmx
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Sandend cottage”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Hmm.... the Scottish North East in the dead of winter turns out to be a great place to spend the New Year. This, in no small part, was helped by this lovely cottage with views across Sandend beach. My wife, two teenage boys and I arrived to a warm and cosy log burner already lit by the kind owner Elspeth. With the rolling sea and beach in view from every room you can't really help but relax. The kitchen has everything you'll ever need, the living room and bedrooms are comfy and welcoming, wifi to keep the kids happy and there's a hideaway den for when they want their own space. With great coastal walks on the doorstep, forest walks and mountain biking 20 minutes away at Fochabers there's plenty to do in the local area. Gordon Castle walled gardens cafe/restaurant and Fochabers ice cream shop are worth a visit too. We really loved our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return. Thank you Elspeth.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Dear Martin
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Croft. It really is lovely in Sandend all year round, the sea is always changing as is the weather! The waves are fantastic for surfing now and the surfers are all taking advantage of them.
We hope you come back very soon. regards, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R
1 review
“Lovely cottage,stunning view”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Arrived at 7pm ,after 14 hour journey,to a lovely welcoming cottage,with everything you'll need.Plenty of room for the 4 of us,2 adults, 2 14 yr old's, like any other teenagers made use of the wifi straight away,after exploring the cottage and choosing their rooms with no fuss,they were very happy at having their own space(The den) where they could escape to.We had placed order with Tesco to be delivered which arrived about an hour after we arrived ,so could have drink and something to eat ,although needn't have worried as tea coffee milk already waiting for us.Awoke to a lovely morning after a comfortable nights sleep and children made full use of the surfing equipment in the shed/garden in the bay ,although never surfed before they thoroughly enjoyed it,and couldn't wait to get back in there again and again.Plenty of information available in the cottage as to where to visit ,plenty to do within a fairly small area ,dolphin watching , Baxter's visitors center, Banff, Mcduff , Cullen, Portsoy have plenty to see or do ,but the lovely beach and bay outside the front door is enough to keep you entertained .Made use of the waffle maker ,makes lovely waffles.All in all one of the best holidays we've had in a long while ,and we definitely will consider returning again .Thank you Elspeth for a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Dear Kevin
Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at The Croft and hope that you come back soon.
best wishes, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonBel...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage and location”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at 'The Croft' in Sandend at the end of August to the beginning of September 2016. It was our first time in Scotland as a family with 2 teenagers and 2 dogs. We were pretty exhausted after the 9.5hr drive but the lovely Elspeth was there to welcome us and show us around the house. Our first impression of the house exceeded all our expectations from the online pictures. It is absolutely beautiful and has such an amazing view of the bay at Sandend. It is literally a stone's throw away from the beach. The house has every possible amenity you could wish for, Elspeth has thought of everything! Even our 2 very "easily bored" teenagers were never short of things to do, whether it be surfing, dolphin spotting, playing in the upstairs games room or just surfing the net on the house wifi connection. Usually when going on holiday it takes a few days to adjust to sleeping in a strange bed...not here! Maybe it was a combination of the sea air, the soothing noise of the seagulls or just the thick duvet and marshmallow like pillows but we all said that we'd never slept so consistently well in such a long time. We wanted a quiet holiday away in beautiful surroundings and that is certainly what we got. Plenty of coastal walks, beautiful scenery and to top it all off, the weather was glorious. Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely house Elspeth. We all left a little piece of our hearts in Sandend and will definitely be returning next year to leave a little bit more.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Croft, Sandend. Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage location
Liked least: the weather could have been better!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2016
Dear Janis
Thank you for your great review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love sharing our lovely cottage and super village with guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CroKee
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Really lovely cottage with a wonderful view.”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It was a pleasure to walk in this cottage as it is so nice. The owners had thought of everything you could possibly need, the kitchen was well stocked with appliances, we especially enjoyed the waffle maker!
Sandend is just beautiful and we enjoyed body boarding in the sea everyday.
Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cooking equipment and woodburner
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, Sandend is a truly special place. We hope you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriet O
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Perfect house in perfect village”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Warm comfortable, very well equipped house in the traditional fishing village of Sandend. Great sea views from house, lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Breath-taking coastal walks in both directions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and sea views
Liked least: the weather! But that's the luck of the draw
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stdoepp
Wuppertal, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2017
Danke, ich freue mich, dass Sie Ihren Urlaub genossen haben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing