We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & quiet except for the sound of the waves”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sandend Cottage

Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes The Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes
The Lounge
Kingsize Double Bedroom
Main king size bedroom
The Twin Room
Bathroom
Back Bedroom
Utility Room
View of Cottage from Beach
Terrace view
view from the terrace garden
Sandend rooftops near the harbour
Winter view from the bedroom
What more could a dog want?
Only a road separates us from the beach
Rough seas
Coastline near Portsoy
The old Portsoy swimming pool
Shoreline
The wide expanse of sand that is Sandend Beach
Twin bedroom
Modern and well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsoy, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jeffree45...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet except for the sound of the waves”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband & I retuned for a third time to this very special cottage.
If you want peace & quiet , it's got to be here.we spent a week & the weather was kind. A bit blowy at times but warm enough to sit out on the little patio bit & read in the sun.
We went on the train to Keith from Duff town with a little trip around the Strathisla distillery before our return trip, such a good day
We went out & about discovering different places, like Bow Fiddle Rock, & the little town of Huntley with Deans shortbread factory,
Still lots to do & see, with a lovely place like Sandend to stay in we will be back

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DML-and-M...
Castleford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Beautiful cottage, lovely and clean in a perfect location With all mod cons, everything you would need for a home away from home.

Sandend is a lovely little village but with no facilities therefore in my opinion you will need a car especially to visit all the lovely little towns and coves along the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful getaway”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My partner I and the dogs absolutely love visiting here annually round about February time, it's been our 4th visit. We enjoy the time out away from it all, we enjoy getting wrapped up warm for the fresh morning walks over the beach, and returning to a warm welcoming cottage cupping a warm hot drink looking out to the fantastic views everything is perfect we cannot fault the cottage its first class and the service also with Wendy when we book very proffecional service everything is always to perfection right down to your welcome pack which is a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage has it all
Liked least: There is nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme R
Dunblane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep quiet..this is a gem”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great well equipped cottage, a stones throw from the beach. Has great well equipped outdoor space. Full wifi and comfortable living room to settle down at night and watch tv after a full day outdoors.

If taking pets, has very large utility room with direct access outside great benefit when you bring back wet dogs from the beach...also has hose to wash them down.

Great welcome pack which was appreciated.

Sandend is a great place to holiday and this is a great base to work from...almost too good to tell people about

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to beach and harbour
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias2...
Windeck, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Sandend.There was a nice warm welcome after a long journey. We stayed in this cottage for the second time. One day we saw dolphines in the bay. The cottage is established very well with all you need. Wendy (the owner) is very friendly and helpful, she told us that the northern lights will be there in the night so we can go to the habour and look at them. It was gorgeous. A big thank you for this information. The weather in this week was so good that we used the bench in the lovely garden (with an amazing view) to have a tea. Kind regards from Germany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Hi Matthias and Birgit, so glad you got to see the Northern Lights! That's made my day! Hope you had a good trip home and hopefully till next time!
Regards
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elinor B
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Can't recommend this cottage or location highly enough!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Right from the word go we knew this was going to be a memorable destination. As we drove down the narrow road into Sandend the first thing that met our eyes was the beautiful beach with the sun glinting on the sea. When we unlocked the front door and entered the cosy cottage it felt lovely and warm and welcoming due to the very convenient gas heating and then as we surveyed the interior we just felt more and more at home. Comfortable furnishings, homely touches, well equipped kitchen, excellent bathroom with bath and powerful shower. After a comfortable night's sleep we had coffee on the terrace looking out to sea. A brisk walk on the beach with our springer spaniel gave us an appetite for the bacon and eggs kindly supplied by the owners (as well as a bottle of Cava and fresh flowers which were enjoyed as the week progressed). We were very lucky with the weather as it was unseasonally settled, warm and calm with sunshine from morning till night every day. Though to be honest there is so much to see and do in the area that even if the weather had been inclement we would have enjoyed it just as much.
As the week draws to a close now and we must hit the trail for home tomorrow we do so feeling truly refreshed and relaxed with a very happy dog and will definitely visit this cottage and Sandend again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property met our expectations.
Liked least: Nothing negative to say about his property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage by the sea”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely holiday in this comfortable and well equipped cottage. It is situated by the beach. It has beautiful views of the sea. At night you can hear the roar of the waves. The children enjoyed rockpooling paddling and trying their hand at a bit of surfing. We could sit on the garden bench and watch all the activity on the beach.
The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious. It is perfect for dogs, with its utility room and proximity to the beach. There are lots of coastal walks and beaches nearby. Spotlessly clean but a real home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing