We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bed and breakfast, high quality rooms and friendly staff”
Review of Durn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durn House
Ranked #1 of 7 Portsoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic bed and breakfast, high quality rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I came across this bed and brakefast on Late rooms and it was a real find. It is a historic house that has recently been converted by the owners in to a high quality bed and breakfast. The rooms were huge, the owners very friendly and they served a great breakfast in the morning. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avbHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Many thanks for your generous review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate any review posted by business travellers and we hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to the area. We find that the business fraternity enjoy the peace and quiet that the house offers in addition to our free WiFi facilities enabling Guests to keep in touch.

We look forward to greeting you again soon

Haste Ye Back!

John and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    33
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
51
226
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kvitsoy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We found a rare and wonderful place, taking care of old traditions.The beds, the breakfast were so good. The first evening we had a very nice buffet for 25 persons with scottish specialities. the hospitality of the hosts were so great and very generous.
We really want to come again.

Greetings from members of the Norwegian group, Hyttetu men`s choir.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunde_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Many thanks for your most gracious review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The evening reception for your overall party was a magical affair made all the better by the wonderful music and singing. We are always pleased to welcome our overseas visitors and we hope that Portsoy proved to be popular with all of you.

We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Haste Ye Back!

John and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Just found a little piece of heaven. Very comfortable room super king size bed and the luxury of a feather pillow. The food was excellent and sevice great all made possible by our superb host's John and Sandra. The icing on the cake was the Boat Festival.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OLLIE13Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our House. The Boat Festival is always an exciting time and as you appreciated we are near enough to enjoy the festivities yet secluded enough to be able to enjoy some peace and quiet.

We do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Haste Ye Back!

John and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Being a typical Londoner, Im ashamed to say that while I have travelled widely in the world, I have never been to Scotland before(!) I went to visit an old friend who i hadnt seen for many years and for the sake of convenience I booked into a B n B- Durn house. The plan was to spend most of the time with my friend and use Durn House just to sleep. I was expecting the usual dreary slightly depressing air usually found in these places, along with the nylong bedspreads and dreaded heart attack inducing greasy fry up breakfast.

I couldnt have got it more wrong!

Durn House ended up exceeding all my expectations. You drive along this long long lane and suddenly you see it behind the wrought iron gates! Dogs come bouncing to welcome you and the aroma of homecooking fills the air. All around the grounds you see lush lovely countryside. It was really like a fictional fairy castle, yet with the most amazing decor (sheets by Design Guild, wallpaper from Timorous Beasties), a games room with a fully stocked cocktail cabinet, full internet access, fresh fruit and gorgeous pastries for breakfast , fantastic shower and really comfortable bed. (I didnt just have an ensuite bathroom I actually had my own lounge!!)

However this is the not main reason i am writing this review. The people who run this wonderful establishment was just the nicest people you could hope to meet! They are Sandra and John,and Durn House is basically their home, into which they welcome you with such warmth and hospitality, that you forget you are in a b n b. Several nights when I got in after seeing my friend, Sandra and John invited me into their lovely sitting room for a dram or two,and we ended up talking till the small wee hours. On my last day, they even fed me dinner (Sandra is a great cook by the way--bonus) AND drove me to the nearest train station so I could get to Aberdeen for 8pm to catch my sleeper to London! the alternative would have been to go into aberdeen by bus in the afternoon and hang around for five or six hours! Now thats what I call going beyond the call of duty:)

I had never heard of Portsoy before but the enthusiasm with which the owners talk about the place, the history, the significance as well as the various places of interest close by (the Cairngorms, the coastline, the harbour, Balmoral etc) made me determine to come back to Portsoy, just for a short break, just to stay there again! It's not just the building, which is gorgeous, or the decor and the grub which is terrific but the people who run Durn house Sandra and John that actually makes it for me. They are friendly, helpful and at the same time they dont crowd you, they let you do your own thing! Thanks a lot guys, I'll be back!

PS Check out the Homemade Portsoy icecream on the high street! To die for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lili37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
We are very grateful for your kind words and we appreciate the effort taken in posting this flattering review. We try our best to give every visitor to our Home a memorable experience and we hope that you will consider paying us another visit in the not too distant future. As we say in Scotland - Haste Ye Back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Durn House is elegantly furnished throughout.
Really warm and friendly welcome (with fresh coffee and muffins).
En-suite bedroom very tastefully decorated and spacious.
Wonderful breakfast (ask about the kippers).
We took advantage of the residents lounge and billiards room.
The owners found information and details of local walks and places for us to visit.
Happy stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
We really appreciate your kind words and the time taken to offer a review of Durn House. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Gentlemans Club and all of the facilities that we offer all Guests to our House. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope to see you again soon. Haste Ye Back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsoy
5.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
5.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Station Hotel Portsoy
Station Hotel Portsoy
#2 of 7 in Portsoy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boyne Hotel
The Boyne Hotel
#6 of 7 in Portsoy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seafield Arms
Seafield Arms
#1 of 2 in Whitehills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durn House

Property: Durn House
Address: Durn House Durn Road, Portsoy AB45 2XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portsoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portsoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Durn House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durn House nestles on a quiet country road, by a small stream, and within easy walking distance of the main street and Portsoy's famous 17th-c. Old Harbour. Durn House is an elegant Georgian Mansion House in its own grounds offering luxury accommodation in large rooms with luxury en-suites or private bathrooms at sensible rates. Warm hospitality, excellent service and sumptuous breakfasts await our guests. Steeped in history, Durn House was believed to have been built in the Adams style by Sir James Dunbar of Durn in circ. 1770. The house has retained many of its original features with huge open fires, superb plasterwork, magnificent stone spiral staircase, and very large rooms. Durn House has many important historical links including the Battle of Culloden, as well as being home to the famous Scottish Astronomer James Furguson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durn House Hotel Portsoy
Durn House Portsoy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing