We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete luxury, good food, welcoming hosts and stunning house”
Review of Durn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durn House
Ranked #1 of 7 Portsoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Durn house on approach is imposing, though not on a grand scale. The perfection of the early Georgian architecture delightful and unaltered and when the old iron locks on the front door swung open our hosts met us with such warmth and hospitality we felt at home at once. The reception areas are beautiful and stuffed with comfortable antique furniture and nick-nacks. The dining room is elegant, with period style hand blocked wallpapers lending themselves to the Georgian proportions and windows. Sandra is rightly proud of this room. The bedrooms are spacious, even on the second floor, spotlessly clean with well thought out acessories, you lack nothing.

John is a knowledgeable and amusing host, Sandra, an accomplished cook and perfect hostess. Both will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay in this truly undiscovered corner of Scotland. The Banffshire Costal trail is a treasure trove of tiny villages, small fishing harbours and castles. Well worth a few days exploring, with craft workshops and exhibitions to discover we will be heading back again before the year is out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fothersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

What a delightful review, we are extremely flattered and we thank you for your kind and gracious comments.

Sandra has spent considerable time in designing each room throughout the 5 year refurbishment and has been particular in both quality and style in order to achieve an end result that is both functional and appealing, whilst retaining the essence of an early Georgian Mansion. It is reassuring to see that Guests enjoy the ambience that we have achieved and above all the homely feeling that Durn House enjoys.

We have recently completed our new garden Patio and are currently preparing the gardens for a major landscaping exercise early in 2012. The completion of the landscaping and the opening of our new Hairdressing/Treatment Room will be the culmination of the refurbishment works and Durn House will be back to its former resplendent glory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 410 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed for a weekend with our daughters aged 12 + 15 in the Silk Room. John and Sandra were very welcoming and we felt relaxed straight away. Sandra was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history. The room was spacious and the bathroom even more so! The bath was so deep....... The games room was fun. Pool and TV so the four of us spent the evening in there. Breakfast was great, simple menu with all the favourites. Johns selection of infusion teas impressed our youngest.

After a day exploring the lovely coast we enjoyed a tasty dinner in a formal but comfortable atmosphere. The crab starter...mmmmmmmmm... Then a few drams courtesy of John. Again, the evening ended with a few games of pool.....

In order to balance out the food and relaxation, I needed a jog which was gave me the opportunity to take in Portsoy. John (and nephew Liam) kindly organised one of the mountain bikes for my daughter to use.

All in all a great weekend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your kind review. We feel that the little touches go a long way to making our Guests feel at home - the infusion teas, the provision of Bicycles, the Games Room with Ipod Dock, 40inch LCD television, complimentary pool table, the spacious rooms - all adding up to what we hope is a memorable stay. The facilities are being enhanced by way of a new Beauty Treatment Room in the Basement, allowing for a full range of beauty and hair treatments for Guests to enjoy. In addition, our new patio will allow Guests to enjoy our wonderfully mild climate during the summer months.

We look forward to welcoming you to Durn House in the future where you be assured of the highest level of comfort and service - "Haste Ye Back"

John and Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent two nights with two young children (1 and 3 years old) at Durn house, and we really appreciated the hospitality of the landlords, the comfort and the decoration of the rooms and the lounges. On top of that, the dinner was a unique experience. We were charmed and we will be back at Durn house on our next stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne-Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

We are always delighted to welcome our overseas visitors and even more delighted when they find the time to offer a review. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our facilities. We offer Guests numerous Lounges to enjoy, from the Games Room with complimentary Pool Table, 40" LCD TV, Ipod music system, the more refined Drawing Room with Bose Ipod, the Reception Hall and the Executive Level Guest Lounge, again complete with 32" TV and DVD system. We also have a DVD and Book Library for Guests to enjoy - even bicycles for the more energetic amongst our visitors.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future - "Haste Ye Back"


We

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing place to spend a few days exploring the Moray coast during our honeymoon in Scotland. The Durn House was exactly what we hoped to find. The location was amazing, the house itself was beautiful, and the owners were wonderful! They are very friendly and have a wealth of knowledge of the house and the local history. The breakfast was great, too! Portsoy is a relaxing town, and a good spot to explore the Moray coast and the surrounding area. We loved nearly everything - there were only two minor inconveniences: the shower at times got quite hot, and the toilet was a little tricky to operate. But those issues were minor and did not detract from the wonderful stay. We highly recommend the Durn House, and if travels take us back to Scotland, would love to stay again!

Room Tip: The online reservation system was very helpful and useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - we are extremely grateful. We are also delighted that you chose to spend some of your honeymoon with us at Durn House and we hope that the memories that you have taken with you will remain throughout your married life together.
Portsoy is indeed a magical place, full of character and indeed characters and we are proud of its heritage and history. It is also centrally located and provides an ideal base for exploring the North East of Scotland and beyond. We are spoilt with an abundance of wildlife, from our famed Dolphins and Osprey, puffins and gannets, Red Deer, seals, the list goes on. We have Castles a plenty and Whisky Galore - excuse the pun.

We sincerely hope that your path in life winds its way through Portsoy in the future, where your welcome will warm and friendly - "Haste Ye Back"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

To appreciate your stay at Durn House, I suggest you should read the history of the place before you arrive. http://www.durnhouse.co.uk/#!history.
Once you visit the place and see how well everything has been restored to its former glory you will not be disappointed with it inner grandeur , and how everything is so well co-ordinated. The food is magnificent. Your hosts Sandra and John, will make your stay such a memorable event. The area around Portsoy has so much to offer the traveller, it make your stay at Durn House so convenient to travel to Portsoy Harbour, and along the coast to lossiemouth and Elgin. We visited the Maritime museum in Lossiemouth, where we say the study and papers for Ramsay McDonald. We then continued onto Elgin and visited its Cathedral, and the beautiful gardens across the road from the Cathedral. We ended up in Plushcarden Abbey. There are many more interesting places to visit in the NE of Scotland no matter what the weather throws at you.
We will never forget the warm welcome and the great food and the grandure of Durn House, and this is all thanks to Sandra and John.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyfAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Many thanks for your kind review and we are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our house has indeed got a wealth of history, with links to Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Honours of Scotland. There has been a Durn Hous since at least 1538 with the current house being built in 1770. Whilst we have no Ghosts we can certainly provide a spirit ot two!

We are ideally located, being about halfway between Inverness and Aberdeen, for Guests to explore the region. Within approximately 1 hours drive are the Cairngorms, the Black Isle, the Grampians, the Whiskey Trail, the Castle trail etc..with so much to see and do.

We look forward to greeting you again in the near future - "Haste Ye Back"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Durn House was fantastic from the beginning: a warm welcome with a nice cup of tea in the drawing-room followed by a tour through the lovingly decorated house where we found something new to admire every time we walked through it. Our room was large and spacious and we especially loved the old-fashionned bath tub. Everything was immaculately clean and to the highest standart. We also had our dinners at Durn House and enjoyed them very much. We loved the fresh local produce thaat was used. After dinner our hosts had time to talk to us. We enjoyed the witty conversations and the complimentary wee drams.
If you want to be spoilt, go to Durn House.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christineschmutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

We are extremely grateful for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also found our local Golf Courses to be both challenging and delightful. There are at least 17 Golf Courses within easy access of Durn House and we can provide a tailor made package for our Guests requiring a Golf Break inclusive of all Fees, Tee Times, Lunches, Dinners and even Trophies! And what better way to round off a hectic day on the course than a relaxing game of complimentary Pool in our Gentlemans Club, a wee dram in the tranquility of our Drawing Room or watching a DVD in our Guests Lounge. For the more energetic, a stroll to our local Harbour, built in 1693, for a pint at the local and a wee bit of Dolphin watching.......

We look forward to greeting you again soon "Haste Ye Back"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had high expections of Durn House having read other travellers' reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed for 2 nights in the Culloden Suite which had an enormous, wonderfully comfortable bed and huge ensuite shower room. The furniture and fabrics throughout the house are testament to the owners' good taste. Our only regret was, that due to family commitments, we were not able to make full use of the excellent facilities such as the pool room and resident's lounge. We were made most welcome by our hosts who are rightly proud of their beautiful home and have plans to develop it further in the future. If the excellent breakfasts are anything to go by, we missed out by not being able to stay for an evening meal. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The Culloden Suite was peaceful, bright and overlooked the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniekBonnieDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

We are genuinely appreciative when Guests take the time and effort to offer a review and we thank you very much indeed. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to enjoy our facilities even more. We are in the process of introducing "Gourmet Evenings", offering a themed dining experience of the highest quality and provided by visiting Chef's. As you noted, we are also commencing the installation of our very own Treatment Room, offering the full range of beauty treatments from hair styling and nails through to massages. This facility will become available to Guests in the coming months. The landscaping works are taking shape and the new external patio will be installed during August thus allowing a wonderfull opportunity for Guests to relax in the garden.

We look forward to the opportunity of greeting you at Durn House in the near future and as we say "Haste Ye Back".

Kindest regards

John and Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsoy
5.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
371 reviews
5.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
461 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Station Hotel Portsoy
Station Hotel Portsoy
#2 of 7 in Portsoy
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boyne Hotel
The Boyne Hotel
#6 of 7 in Portsoy
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durn House

Address: Durn House Durn Road, Portsoy AB45 2XT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portsoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portsoy
Price Range: $114 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durn House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durn House nestles on a quiet country road, by a small stream, and within easy walking distance of the main street and Portsoy's famous 17th-c. Old Harbour. Durn House is an elegant Georgian Mansion House in its own grounds offering luxury accommodation in large rooms with luxury en-suites or private bathrooms at sensible rates. Warm hospitality, excellent service and sumptuous breakfasts await our guests. Steeped in history, Durn House was believed to have been built in the Adams style by Sir James Dunbar of Durn in circ. 1770. The house has retained many of its original features with huge open fires, superb plasterwork, magnificent stone spiral staircase, and very large rooms. Durn House has many important historical links including the Battle of Culloden, as well as being home to the famous Scottish Astronomer James Furguson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durn House Hotel Portsoy
Durn House Portsoy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing