We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at the Durn House was a highlight of our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Durn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durn House
Ranked #1 of 7 Portsoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Durn House was a highlight of our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing place to spend a few days exploring the Moray coast during our honeymoon in Scotland. The Durn House was exactly what we hoped to find. The location was amazing, the house itself was beautiful, and the owners were wonderful! They are very friendly and have a wealth of knowledge of the house and the local history. The breakfast was great, too! Portsoy is a relaxing town, and a good spot to explore the Moray coast and the surrounding area. We loved nearly everything - there were only two minor inconveniences: the shower at times got quite hot, and the toilet was a little tricky to operate. But those issues were minor and did not detract from the wonderful stay. We highly recommend the Durn House, and if travels take us back to Scotland, would love to stay again!

Room Tip: The online reservation system was very helpful and useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - we are extremely grateful. We are also delighted that you chose to spend some of your honeymoon with us at Durn House and we hope that the memories that you have taken with you will remain throughout your married life together.
Portsoy is indeed a magical place, full of character and indeed characters and we are proud of its heritage and history. It is also centrally located and provides an ideal base for exploring the North East of Scotland and beyond. We are spoilt with an abundance of wildlife, from our famed Dolphins and Osprey, puffins and gannets, Red Deer, seals, the list goes on. We have Castles a plenty and Whisky Galore - excuse the pun.

We sincerely hope that your path in life winds its way through Portsoy in the future, where your welcome will warm and friendly - "Haste Ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    33
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
51
226
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

To appreciate your stay at Durn House, I suggest you should read the history of the place before you arrive. http://www.durnhouse.co.uk/#!history.
Once you visit the place and see how well everything has been restored to its former glory you will not be disappointed with it inner grandeur , and how everything is so well co-ordinated. The food is magnificent. Your hosts Sandra and John, will make your stay such a memorable event. The area around Portsoy has so much to offer the traveller, it make your stay at Durn House so convenient to travel to Portsoy Harbour, and along the coast to lossiemouth and Elgin. We visited the Maritime museum in Lossiemouth, where we say the study and papers for Ramsay McDonald. We then continued onto Elgin and visited its Cathedral, and the beautiful gardens across the road from the Cathedral. We ended up in Plushcarden Abbey. There are many more interesting places to visit in the NE of Scotland no matter what the weather throws at you.
We will never forget the warm welcome and the great food and the grandure of Durn House, and this is all thanks to Sandra and John.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyfAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Many thanks for your kind review and we are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our house has indeed got a wealth of history, with links to Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Honours of Scotland. There has been a Durn Hous since at least 1538 with the current house being built in 1770. Whilst we have no Ghosts we can certainly provide a spirit ot two!

We are ideally located, being about halfway between Inverness and Aberdeen, for Guests to explore the region. Within approximately 1 hours drive are the Cairngorms, the Black Isle, the Grampians, the Whiskey Trail, the Castle trail etc..with so much to see and do.

We look forward to greeting you again in the near future - "Haste Ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Durn House was fantastic from the beginning: a warm welcome with a nice cup of tea in the drawing-room followed by a tour through the lovingly decorated house where we found something new to admire every time we walked through it. Our room was large and spacious and we especially loved the old-fashionned bath tub. Everything was immaculately clean and to the highest standart. We also had our dinners at Durn House and enjoyed them very much. We loved the fresh local produce thaat was used. After dinner our hosts had time to talk to us. We enjoyed the witty conversations and the complimentary wee drams.
If you want to be spoilt, go to Durn House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christineschmutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are extremely grateful for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also found our local Golf Courses to be both challenging and delightful. There are at least 17 Golf Courses within easy access of Durn House and we can provide a tailor made package for our Guests requiring a Golf Break inclusive of all Fees, Tee Times, Lunches, Dinners and even Trophies! And what better way to round off a hectic day on the course than a relaxing game of complimentary Pool in our Gentlemans Club, a wee dram in the tranquility of our Drawing Room or watching a DVD in our Guests Lounge. For the more energetic, a stroll to our local Harbour, built in 1693, for a pint at the local and a wee bit of Dolphin watching.......

We look forward to greeting you again soon "Haste Ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had high expections of Durn House having read other travellers' reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed for 2 nights in the Culloden Suite which had an enormous, wonderfully comfortable bed and huge ensuite shower room. The furniture and fabrics throughout the house are testament to the owners' good taste. Our only regret was, that due to family commitments, we were not able to make full use of the excellent facilities such as the pool room and resident's lounge. We were made most welcome by our hosts who are rightly proud of their beautiful home and have plans to develop it further in the future. If the excellent breakfasts are anything to go by, we missed out by not being able to stay for an evening meal. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The Culloden Suite was peaceful, bright and overlooked the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniekBonnieDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
We are genuinely appreciative when Guests take the time and effort to offer a review and we thank you very much indeed. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to enjoy our facilities even more. We are in the process of introducing "Gourmet Evenings", offering a themed dining experience of the highest quality and provided by visiting Chef's. As you noted, we are also commencing the installation of our very own Treatment Room, offering the full range of beauty treatments from hair styling and nails through to massages. This facility will become available to Guests in the coming months. The landscaping works are taking shape and the new external patio will be installed during August thus allowing a wonderfull opportunity for Guests to relax in the garden.

We look forward to the opportunity of greeting you at Durn House in the near future and as we say "Haste Ye Back".

Kindest regards

John and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We travelled to Portsoy for the boat festival. .We was greeted at Durn House by Sandra and after a cup of tea settled into our room. It is a lovely place and you are made to feel at home. We met John the following morning and also the two dogs Ben and Jerry. .would recommend a stay here as it is a lovely area to visit and the hospitality of all the staff and the locals is out of this world. . .Thank you once again. .Kathryn and Paul. . .from Cleethorpes

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgrant11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
We really appreciate both the time and effort expended to provide a review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Portsoy Boat Festival is always an exciting experience and this year we were blessed with glorious sunshine for the whole weekend. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to our 17th Century harbour and Village, which we feel is in an un-discovered part of Scotland with so much to offer visitors.

We really do look forward to seeing you both again in the future and would be delighted if you came to join us at Durn House - "Haste Ye Back"

Best wishes

John and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I managed to escape for two nights and we booked Durn House because it's not a Hotel and it's not a B+B it is a luxury home that we had the privilege to stay in. Sandra and John are graciou hosts and looked after us very well but were not intrusive. Ben and Jerry are the house dogs and I loved them and wished to see more of them. We can't wait to go back. As soon as the Bridal suite is ready I will be the first to book as I had a sneak prieview WOW! The reviews on Tripadvisor for this home have all been spot on. I can highly recemmend Durn House for couples, large or small groups, families or singles they will all be made very welcome

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magneil31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to provide a review, we are extremely grateful. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Durn House. We strive to provide a homely ambience and as such are not strictly either a B&B or a Hotel, it is more a case of Guests joining us for a stay in our Georgian home. We are progressing well with our luxury Honeymoon Suite, which will be available towards the end of this Summer, ready in time for our wedding ventures starting in 2012. This room will also be available to all Guests staying at Durn House in the future and will finalise our refurbishment of all 6 Guest Rooms. Our next phase will be the refurbishment of the Basement which will comprise a luxury Treatment Room with hairdressing and manicure facilities, additional Lounge and feature Wine Cellar to compliment the Games Room. We are also very excited at being voted by Trip Advisor as the No 1 B&B in Aberdeenshire - quite a remarkable achievement of which we are truly proud.

As we say in these parts "Haste Ye Back"

Kindest regards

John and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed at this excellent B&B recently whilst travelling on business. The house is absolutely stunning and everything was perfect. The room was breathtaking and the breakfast was excellent. As someone who only ever stays in 4/5 star hotels, I was a bit nervous about booking a B&B, however, this was a truly excellent find and would, without a doubt, stay again. If I had to make one criticism, I would say that I would have preferred the breakfast dining room to have individual tables instead of all guests sitting at one large table, however, this is by no means a major problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRJG-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durnhouse, Owner at Durn House, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Durn House. We are also extremely grateful that you provided a review as these allow us to adapt to the ever changing needs of our Guests. We strive to provide a comfortable and homely experience at Durn House whilst maintaining the highest levels of service and quality. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future - Haste Ye Back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsoy
5.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Station Hotel Portsoy
Station Hotel Portsoy
#2 of 7 in Portsoy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boyne Hotel
The Boyne Hotel
#5 of 7 in Portsoy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seafield Arms
Seafield Arms
#1 of 2 in Whitehills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durn House

Property: Durn House
Address: Durn House Durn Road, Portsoy AB45 2XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portsoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portsoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Durn House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durn House nestles on a quiet country road, by a small stream, and within easy walking distance of the main street and Portsoy's famous 17th-c. Old Harbour. Durn House is an elegant Georgian Mansion House in its own grounds offering luxury accommodation in large rooms with luxury en-suites or private bathrooms at sensible rates. Warm hospitality, excellent service and sumptuous breakfasts await our guests. Steeped in history, Durn House was believed to have been built in the Adams style by Sir James Dunbar of Durn in circ. 1770. The house has retained many of its original features with huge open fires, superb plasterwork, magnificent stone spiral staircase, and very large rooms. Durn House has many important historical links including the Battle of Culloden, as well as being home to the famous Scottish Astronomer James Furguson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durn House Hotel Portsoy
Durn House Portsoy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing