We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first night: a real nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

first of all need to focus on all the positive side of this beatiful place: spa is a dream, gorgeous location, the view, the restaurant is perfect even if expensive.
By the way when we arrived everything seemed to be perfect; then the first night came and we couldn't sleep all night!!! Was really very HOT and there wasn't the way to turn it off, and while we're watching tv two VERY BIG BEES falled down the ceiling on our bed!!!.
My husband is allergic so just image the fear.
After our complaint they offered another room, very small, probably a single room but everythig is better than a night with bees.
The amazing spa, with big windows facing the garden could be a peaceful corner but some kids (even under 12 despite the rules) and unpolite adults even Germans, that usually are so nice, ruined the peace with laughing and screaming, but the staff didn't attend.
Anyway at the check-out we expected a discount or at least a coupon, but nothing at all!!! too bad could have been a way to apologize but probably it's not their policy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryElysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 596 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having discovered this lovely place some 15 years ago, we went back last year to experience the change ! And we travel there since on a regular base ! Beautiful surroundings, that invite you to peaceful walks, lovely rooms, welcoming and charming staff, the swimming-pool is wonderful, and they is enlightened by an excellent dining-room,, with first class food and a large selection of the finest wines, from cheap to expensive !
A place where you want to return...and return !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

While we were looking forward to spend few nights at Sant'Uffizio in a family suite given the pictures of the room and amenities on the hotel website, we have been extremely disappointed as we discovered that the reality was totally different. The "luxurous" family suite (room 6) was in fact a very let down bedroom that you could find in a 2 star hotel or a rustic agriturismo. See the attached pictures that speak better than words. I complained to the receptionist who said that pictures were taken from a family suite in the other building that was modified to build the SPA (I am far from buying into this story). The only positive in that is she mentioned she would remove the pictures from the website and these pictures have been removed now apparently so they are not crooks as I thought at some point. The room price is clearly outrageous for what you get. Clearly this hotel could be quite good but is extremely badly managed. The building itself is very nice from outside, location is fine and swimming pool is great (despite tons of wasps around it, don't go if you allergic). They have 2 mountain bikes available but breaks on 1 were absolutely not working (very dangerous). Their chef is doing sophisticated and good cuisine but while extremely high prices (you can have a full dinner at a nice restaurant in Moncalvo for the price of a dish at the hotel) might have been acceptable in a proper 5 star hotel, they are ridiculously expensive when looking at the service by very rude and unprofessional people (even when you try to speak to them in Italian as they don't speak foreign languages). This is an old hotel where rooms need massive renovation: furniture is either old (uneven mattress, air conditioning) and broken (e.g. safe) or "fake" (see picture of table) and low quality (e.g. cheapest flat screen TV you can find), floor tiles are broken. Bathroom is the most awful space: open shower directly next to toilets so all floor is damped, mould around the bathtub. I cut myself on a sharp end where you put the showerhead.There was no hot water at some times of the day. Wifi is free but could not be accessed from the room except if you stand next to a specific window. The area is also infected with mosquitos and despite nets we have been bitten multiple times. Of course, we will never go back there or in any hotel of this group.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NonSolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although the location of the hotel is fantastic, our room looked great (matrass just too hard - this is personal) and the facilities are great, unfortunately our 4 night stay was disapointing. The following was annoying us:
1) No regular channels on TV (only Sky/pay tv), no wifi in the room (only lobby), shaving mirror light did not work. After complaining at the reception we were told all this was due to a thunderstorm/lightning some time ago, and it was difficult to fix/not fixed yet. Why not told us at check in?
2) Save was not open upon arrival in the room. When we addressed this with the reception it was promised this would be fixed. However, it was not and stayed closed for the complete stay...
3) Housekeeping did not lock the door after cleaning the room twice (after 1st & 3rd night). In combinarion with the previous point, this is awkward. After 2nd time we addressed this with the reception and were told they were going to take it up with housekeeping.
4) No towels at the pool. We visited the pool three times and not one time the were towels waiting for us. We had to ask every time and once it took up to 15' before they arrived.
5) At the day of our departure there was a water disturbance at around 8:30 AM and there was no water available in the rooms. Luckily we just finished our bathroom activities, my partner just could not brush her teeth with flushing water.
Alltogether: for a four star hotel and corresponding rates, we felt the service and technical situation was far below expectations. Maybe others are more lucky, but we will not visit again ...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnoukVerschuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is a nice quit hotel on the countryside. Staff is really professional and helpful. Breakfast is OK . We had only one evening diner in the restaurant, but we found the menu limited in choices and overall the price at the high end, reason why we eat for the other nights outside in Moncalvo.

Pool is sometimes crowded and I would suggest to put some chairs in the garden for those clients who prefer to relax in a quit environment. We look forward to come back when the wellness centre is open.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toscana981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Locanda del Sant’Uffizio Charme Resort” 14030 Cioccaro di Penango, Asti a jewel hidden in the vineyards. We stayed for 3 nights 28th to 31st July on MAP basis. Initially we had decided on only 2 night stay on MAP but booked an extra night which we have no regret. Truly enjoyed our stay in this charming romantic 17th century Monastery located in the countryside on a hill, now restored into a lovely resort. It has 41 rooms & suites, beautifully decorated & the resort is set amidst the Piedmont & Monferrato vineyards. This resort is also part of the Solieve Group of hotels. We had some excellent traditional Piedmont cuisine accompanied with some of their superb wines served in their gourmet restaurant. They have a wonderful outdoor pool where one can relax in their deck chairs & soak the sun or sip a chilled beer or wine. Their Spa is supposed to open end Sept 2012. Location is great but one has to do a self drive to truly enjoy the delights of the Piedmont region to experience the wonderful wines- Barbera & Barolo.

Room Tip: Recommend the suites on the 1st floor as they do not elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaladantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel. It is a real pleasure for us to return to this wonderful place! Ideally situated in a quiet and calm area amidst the vineyards, the hotel has a swimming pool, and soon to be opened a spa. We had a junior suite that was tastefully decorated with a large bathroom and very a comfortable bed. The hotel staff is very hospitable and welcoming. There is a gastronomic restaurant that serves delicious local food, and a huge collection of wines to choose from. You can even arrange to have a guided tour of the wine cellar. A Special thank you to all the staff (especially Monica) for making it a real success. Pasquale & Véronique from Brussels.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pasquale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penango
1.7 mi away
Spinerola Charme & Relax
4.5 mi away
La Foresteria del Castello Wellness & Spa
22.5 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rocca Civalieri
Rocca Civalieri
#1 of 1 in Quattordio
278 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Lis
Hotel Lis
#1 of 18 in Asti
452 reviews
21.2 mi away
Residenza San Vito
Residenza San Vito
#1 of 2 in Calamandrana
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA

Address: Strada Sant'Uffizio 1, 14030 Penango, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Penango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penango
Price Range: $106 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Sant’Uffizio – Wellness & SPA Hotel Piedmont ItalyA romantic oasis of peace and quiet, tucked away in the calmness of the Monferrato and Piedmont vineyardsIt is the ideal place to regenerate, discover the peace and quiet of nature and the scent of the vineyards, while tasting the dishes and wines that make this paradise on earth famous all over the world. The Relais Sant’Uffizio, Wellness Hotel & SPA, that dates back to the seventeenth century, has now regained its old glory thanks to a very careful renovation. The rooms and suites are big and have been renovated restoring the nineteenth century frescos, the Virgin Mary icons and the old chambers of the monks of the convent.Opended in 2012, the new SPA AQUANATURA, which is proportionally divided into the centre’s various zones:-Hydro Pool Zone with a water temperature of 34°; located under the majestic span of the central archway in painted chestnut.-Wet and hot area; made up of a Sauna with a view of the vineyards, Mediterranean Baths, Steam Room, Ice waterfall, and emotive showers with local scent essences.-Massage and Beauty area with four massage cubicles for massages and treatments taken care of by Comfort Zone.- The private Piedmont SPA, equipped with a double water-bed and double hydro-massageThe SPA of the Sant'Uffizio Relais rediscover the ancient traditions of the monks in the preparation of oils and creams that are made using herbs, flowers and natural spices according to the formulae and the methods of the monastic life of many centuries ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sant`Uffizio Hotel Penango
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA Penango, Italy - Province Of Asti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing