We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, lovely location.”
Review of Lister Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lister Arms
Ranked #2 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, lovely location.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After a disastrous start to a 2 night break at the Lion in Settle we were moved to the Lister Arms by the Lion's management - the Lister is the sister hotel of the Lion. We had no idea what to expect but had no option and travelled to Malham with some trepidation. We were impressed from the start with the Lister. It looks good from outside and room 11 was a delight - large, comfortable with a sofa and wood burning stove. Sonia the manager was charming and helpful and the food was very good, as was the service. The location is superb and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Lisa Penny - Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am so pleased to read that we were able to restore your faith in Thwaites Inns of Character and it’s good to hear that you managed to get the rest and relaxation you were looking for with us. Sonia was delighted to be mentioned in dispatches – we hope you will plan a return visit soon.

Kind regards,
Lisa Penny - Manager and all the team at The Lister Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    222
    67
    16
    11
See reviews for
110
501
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break and I would certainly recommend this property. Our room (no. 2) was very comfortable, great decor, very clean. We appreciated the small extra touches that you don't often get in B & Bs ie home baked biscuits in the room, fresh milk, not UHT, iron and ironing board.
The breakfast was fab! So much choice and very tasty, eaten in a lovely dining room. I would also mention that all the staff were very friendly and professional.
My one negative which you may think is unimportant is that the hanging baskets outside really let the side down - brown, crisp plants! It really doesn't give a very good first impression, but that's not bad going, this being my only negative.
Well done Lister Arms

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pand66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I (plus our little dog) stayed for 2 nights last weekend and we had a fabulous time. We stayed in room 17 and the room/beds/bathroom were very spacious. The only concern I would have about the room is a lack of light as the windows are quite small. However, the breakfast was lovely and they even cooked and cut up sausages for our dog - which was a very kind thing to do! :)
We ate in the bar each evening and the food was extremely good and very reasonable. We really enjoyed sitting in the beer garden after a long walk, reading the papers over a glass of wine/beer (me/husband!). The service was fantastic. The Lister Arms is very close to Malham Cove and we were lucky enough to see the Peregrine Falcons. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinibelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Lisa Penny - Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
What a delight to read - thank you for the kind review. We’re an old building so the daylight can be a challenge in some of the rooms, but you’re always welcome to use the bar and lounge to relax and read the papers. So glad you saw the Peregrine Falcons too –we are so lucky to live in this part of the world.

Kind regards,
Lisa Penny - Manager and all the team at The Lister Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just spent a relaxing night at the lovely Lister Arms on the 2nd July 2013. Although the weather wasn't particularly good, it didn't stop us exploring the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. The Hotel is very clean and well presented and our bedroom (Room 11) was a delightful, spacious, well equipped room with a huge comfy bed complete with crisp luxurious sheets and plump pillows. Good quality tea and coffee is provided in the rooms along with fresh milk (and shortbread biscuits). Our room was in the adjacent cottage block just a stride from the main building and included an attractive sofa, a large leather armchair and patio windows leading into the rear beer garden. The food was excellent. We equally enjoyed lunch in the pub bar and evening dinner in the restaurant (albeit both from the same menu). The 'crispy' beer battered 'light & fluffy' fish (Hake) was as good as I have tasted anywhere and the Sea Bass from the specials board was amazing. Breakfast was also very tasty with plenty of choice.
Our only minor constructive criticisms are that WiFi was available (for free) but only in the bar.
The shower was a little tight to get in and out of (or perhaps it was us that were too fat for the opening after the delicious food we ate)
Soft lighting in the bedroom was adequate but would benefit from a standard light to throw out a little more light without putting on the ceiling spot lights
Our criticisms are minor and we highly recommend The delightful Lister Arms where all the staff were warm and friendly and we look forward to staying their again soon.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the restaurant to eat in and room 11 to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Lisa Penny - Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for the great review and good to know that our friends come from far and wide – and even the other side of the Pennines! Chef was delighted about your comments - especially the hake - and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lisa Penny - Manager and all the team at The Lister Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antequera, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday night in a fabulous room (11) which had pstio doors opening onto the rear beer garden, Stylich bedroom with acoal fire for cold spells. Excellent room and the bar still had its original flaggged floor. Food was very good service alittle slow probably after abusy fathers day. The breakfast the next morning was a delight great cheerful witredd and the foodagain excellent. Very cinvenient for walks up to the cove, tarn and janet`s foss. Only little winge was that the Wi Fi is not in the bedrooms. You have to go to the bar.

Room Tip: select a character room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnbooth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Lisa Penny - Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It’s good to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. We’re looking at options to extend Wi-Fi coverage but in the meantime you’re always very welcome to make yourself at home in the bar. Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lisa Penny - Manager and all the team at The Lister Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Popped in for lunch on Father's Day at the Listers Arms Malham.
We normally eat at the other pub iin the village although wanted a change and was not disappointed.
The hotel and village pub is quite charming and full of English character.
As you walk through the door a traditional sit in inglenook lit fire awaits with a bevy of ales and wines to choose from coupled with a lovely choice of local foods.
We did not stay for the evening as it was just a day trip although we will definitely be back.
Just a small niggle as they advertised free pack of local beer for Father's Day if you buy the meal and yet when we asked for this pack at the end of the meal the reply was that this only applied if you book he table in advance!
It never said it on the board so I did feel this was quite a let down.
If you offer something you should hold your promise not make excuses why it does not apply

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Lisa Penny - Manager at Lister Arms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I’m so pleased you decided to give us a try and glad that we helped to make Father’s Day special for you. I am so sorry about the mix up with the pack of beer and agree that this should have been made clearer on the board. I do hope that you will perhaps come back again and stay with us and enjoy a little longer in Malham.

Kind regards,
Lisa Penny - Manager and the team at The Lister Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at the Lister Arms for three days this past June and everything about it was just delightful. The rooms were clean and thoughtfully updated. One of our party, who insists on eating at a different place every day, ate all of our dinners here - the food was amazing! In fact, it was better than the food we ate in Venice or Paris! The staff were helpful and cheerful at all times. The building and grounds were charming, right down to the little brook in behind. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marniezdriluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, The Lister Arms at Malham at Lister Arms, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Such a positive review - Thank you. We really are delighted to hear that our food impressed you and your party, we are happy to hear you cant wait to come back in that case we cant wait to have you back.

Kind regards,
Kirsty McGoogan and all the team at The Lister Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
331 reviews
17.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lister Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lister Arms

Property: Lister Arms
Address: 1 Finkle Street | Yorkshire Dales National Park, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lister Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lister Arms is a quintessential English pub offering home cooked food and cosy accommodation in the village of Malham. Our scenic location at the foot of Malham Cove in the Yorkshire Dales National Park makes us a popular choice for walking breaks in North Yorkshire. We offer cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lister Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lister Arms Hotel Malham
Lister Arms Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing