We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lister Arms
Nearby Hotels
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
$142
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Golden Lion Hotel(Horton-in-Ribblesdale)
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
566
241
73
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
566
241
73
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe barnmalham coveboth nightsbar areadog friendly pubbeer gardenyorkshire dalesdog biscuitssteak and ale piehot chocolatereal aleyorkshire breakfastfamily roomfresh milkcouple of nightsevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 909 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

sat in the centre of the lovely village of malham this pub is old from the outside but up to date on the inside, modern bedrooms and bathrooms that are clean and well presented.the bar and resturant have the old world charm and a simple menu that offers good wholesome fare at a reasonable cost. the breakfast is varied with continental and a good yorkshire fry-up(have this and you will not need anything else that day!)although £55 per person is a bit on the steep side for young kids overall we had a good time at the listers and would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns-of-Character, Chef Patron at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for posting a review, I'm delighted at how much you enjoyed your trip to the Dales and to the Lister Arms. Please do come and see us again soon where we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Terry ,kirsty and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Had a night here recently as a birthday present for the wife. OK so it rained so being fair weather walkers we decided against the Malham/Goredale Scar walk.

So what of the Listers Arms. Let's get the negative out of the way first. It needs to improve its front of house. You can be waiting around at the bar if there's a few to be served as bar duties were combined with checking in. The person who looked after us wasn't too clear what package we had booked and what was included. That's the negative out of the way.

Now the positives.
(1) the rooms - very clean, new and looked after with plenty of facilites. We had a family room at the front and it was also very roomy
(2) The food - maybe as the patron is also the chef and his partner did most the waiter service is why the front of house appeared a little neglected. But the food is excellent and worth a visit just for that. I had haddock and it was very tasty indeed. Most the produce is local or Yorkshire produced. The package we went for included a 3 course meal, breakfast the next day and a packup lunch which is a really nice touch (and a decent beef sarnie as well)

Overall I think The Lister arms is worth a visit. We shall go back at some stage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyhoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns-of-Character, Chef Patron at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us but disappointed you felt our service didn’t live up to our usual high standards on this occasion. I do sincerely value your feedback and we would be grateful for the opportunity to welcome you back.
On behalf of all our team thanks again.
Warmest wishes,
Terry, Kirsty and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Booked three nights but only stayed one night because we had to get home through illness. Staff very helpful, good food, good beer. Very comfortable room. No problem with having to leave early because of the great staff. Still that incessant music in all areas of the bar. At another guests request the music was turned of for a short time in the afternoon and it was great. Some where we will go to again, but only for a short stop because of the music in the bar areas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns-of-Character, Chef Patron at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Thank you for the kind review - and I am sorry you had to cut your stay with us short.
I am pleased to say that we have now turned the bar into a music free room and we’re delighted with the feedback and the lovely atmosphere there is with the buzz of customers enjoying themselves.

The team are all pleased you felt the help and service contributed to another pleasant stay. Please do get in touch with me personally upon the next booking where I will endeavour to make your next visit an extra special one.

Warmest regards Terry ,Kirsty and all at the Listers
Terry Quinn Chef Patron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Lovely, clean and well looked after hotel. Staff all friendly and the food was perfect. Lots of walks and scenery close by. We had a great time and couldnt fault the hotel or destination.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns-of-Character, Chef Patron at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

We are very pleased at how much you enjoyed the Lister and the surrounding scenery. I'm delighted you enjoyed our food and that the overall friendliness of our team helped contribute further towards a great stay,
On behalf of all our team thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest wishes,
Terry, Kirsty and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We have just spent the night at the Lister Arms to break the journey, as we are going onto Scotland. We have stayed before and last time had a room over looking the green. This time we were in the back and although not such a good view was comfortable.
We do like the little touches of homemade biscuits and filter coffee bags in the room.
The food in the resturaunt was excellent but the service was a little slow. I think the staff were quite streched.
Thanks to all the staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the green
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellvelyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns-of-Character, Chef Patron at Lister Arms, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

We love to see our guests return and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do take great pride in our food so I’m very pleased you enjoyed the experience and as always your comments will be passed onto to the whole team. If you would like to contact me personally next time you’re passing through we will endeavour to accommodate a room with a view.

Warmest wishes,
Terry, Kirsty & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews