We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manoir Ogygia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manoir Ogygia
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poperinge
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is superb, with very interesting furnishings and decorations. The service is very good and nothing is too much for the family that owns it. Would definitely return here.

Visited this hotel as part of a trip to the War Graves at Ypres as part of the 2014-2018 - 100 years commemoration. Its just outside the lovely town of Poperinge which is full of history

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mravjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
55
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Found the hotel via Trip Adviser and booked direct. We had a fantastic family room where the children were in a double bed in a mezzanine level which is a great idea. Jacuzzi bath for two went down well! We ate at the Manor. The 70 Euro set meal with wine was one of the best I have eaten for a long time. The children were well catered for with a set menu at 20 euro. Best decaf coffee I have ever tasted! Buffet breakfast next day was also very good. Overall I would highly recommend and would certainly return.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was such a surprise - part of the Romantik group the grounds of the Manoir looked like they had been set for a wedding reception - the grounds were stunning with paper lanterns hanging in the trees, white candles in lanterns all around, a pergola festooned with variously designed hearts and messages. All very tasteful.
The room we had was stunning with beautiful antique accessories and paintings. The en-suite was just as tastefully done and had everything you could wish for.
Breakfast was continental. First we were given a slim tall glass filled with yoghurt, then a glass of fresh strawberrys. The bread was freshly cooked and we were offered eggs.
You can eat at the Manoir, in the evening, but it is a set menu. As non- meat eaters, we strolled a short way into the town square, and had a fabulous meal at the Belfort.
Overall a surprisingly delightful break!

Room Tip: A small hotel with the same excellence afforded to all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Almost exactly two years to the date of my first visit - for which I did write an initial review on this site - I am delighted to have been able to return and discover that it is as wonderful as ever. And, just as last time, I can hardly wait for the next opportunity to return and can but hope that it will be for longer, all the better to enjoy the luxurious peace and tranquility it offers the weary traveller. Thank you so much once again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful setting and good service. Breakfast was interesting and plentiful. The room Demeter was comfortable although a bit cluttered for our taste. Terrific shower and bath with warm and comfy bathrobes. The grounds are well looked after and very peaceful. We stayed for two nights and a ground floor room (booked on-line) for the older couple we were travelling with was provided. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly and create a very relaxing atmosphere. Easy walking distance to Poperinge and easy access to Ypres. A good visit.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with terrific view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel while on a visit to Poperinge to visit war cemetery. Parking was available in the grounds. I cannot add much to the wonderful reviews already here except to say I would recommend this hotel if you have reason to stay in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a find. Poperinge is not the most beautiful place in the world but its' easy access to Calais and the Channel Tunnel makes it a great location for a lost weekend!

The bedrooms are not huge but they are all mega comfortable and beautifully furnished.The whole place felt very homely.

The dinner was an outstanding, awesome experience. We had the gorgeous gourmet fixed menu with wines to match - breathtaking quality from start to finish.

The breakfast, served in a very beautiful light and airy room, was again another stunning delivery.

This husband and wife team deserve every success they achieve. They are top class hosts and it appears second nature to them to deliver the very best experiences they can for their guests - we can't wait to return for at least 2 nights next visit. You don't need to leave this little bit of paradise for even one minute!

Room Tip: Both rooms within the main house that we occupied were delightful. The hotel is well set back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poperinge
0.3 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hostellerie Kemmelberg
5.0 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#5 of 6 in Poperinge
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#3 of 6 in Poperinge
80 reviews
7.0 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
388 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Ogygia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Ogygia

Property: Manoir Ogygia
Address: Veurnestraat 108, Poperinge 8970, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Poperinge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poperinge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir Ogygia 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Manoir Ogygia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing