We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must-see”
Review of Talbot House

Talbot House
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Poperinge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a must-see”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The museum offers an original look on the daily life of soldiers on those rare occasions when they were not being shot at or sent "over the top". For practical details on the museum itself, you can visit their excellent website. So suffice it to say that this museum is like a small hidden treasure. Throughout my visit it often brought a smile on my face (and sometimes almost tears of compassion), a nice change when visiting other war sites in the region.
Very friendly staff too (and a cup of tea is included)!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    58
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A nice cup of tea”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Didn't really know what to expect visiting here, but it turns out to be a very informative museum dedicated to a house that was a respite for those on the front line.

There is a real sense of atmosphere in the old house, and it was lovely to sit there and have a cup of tea like those tommies would have done a hundred years ago. Climb to the chapel at the top of the house to see the original wooden cross of the soldier the house is named after, Gilbert Talbot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DorsetBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place of peace and memories”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is one really special place to visit if you are interested in WW1 either personally or historically. A place of rest for the soldiers from the front lines. The atmosphere is amazing and you can feel the echoes of the past around you. If you are able to climb steep stairs, don't miss the room at the top. Is hard not to shed a tear for the memories and shadows from the past of all those who sought solace there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Another Mystery Solved.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

There is a saying in English,"As dim as a Toc H lamp". For years I wondered what this meant but having visited Talbot(Toc) House(H) I have seen the original on its stand in the upper room chapel, I can imagine. The silence and tranquillity of the gardens and the comfortable home from home atmosphere of the all men's club, give a hint of how it must have been for the troops who visited this place to escape the horrors of the front, albeit temporarily.
The museum section of the house is very interesting and one can spend a good two hours looking at the objects displayed.
Having looked around the entire property we took time to sample the tea in the kitchen and the hospitality which is technically free.but donations are gratefully received.
A short walk from Talbot House is the town square ,where you can experience the cells where deserters where held prior to their execution in the Town Hall courtyard. You can park on the market square and Poperinge is easily visited without too much effort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank islander2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unexpected interesting”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I didnot really want to go there (not really like War museums), but still decided to join my friend who is interested in WWI. And I was very glad that I visited Talbot House, as it was REALLY very, very interesting. It was a very moving experience. We spent there 2 hours and half and I enjoyed every moment of it!
I highly recommend to everyone to visit it when you are in Poperinge or in the neibourghood.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lulushke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talbot House also viewed

Poperinge, West Flanders Province
Poperinge, West Flanders Province
 
Poperinge, West Flanders Province
Poperinge, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Talbot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing