We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable occassion”
Review of Hotel De La Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De La Paix
Ranked #3 of 22 Poperinge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel De La Paix and enjoyed the wonderful facilities and excellent service the Hotel, Restaurant and Bar with First Class, would like to keep this gem a secret !!!

Room Tip: We were a group and we all found our rooms equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 124 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

In corner of main square of Poperinge.
Had room #2 which is two bedrooms. Has two singles in big room with balcony / outdoor seating / fridge, ipod doc. Second room has single and bed settee which is bigger than single but not a double. Both overlook garden so quiter than overlooking the square, which is fairly quite but fountains are on all night! The smaller room is tucked into a corner. Fine to put kids in but i had smaller room (mate got there first bagged bigger one) and no problem for me!
Bathroom is fantastic, friend describes as her favourite bathroom. Fabulous shower, sink is bit pretenious but hey!
Staff were brilliant. Lady who runs it was very friendly and was happy to serve us late long breakfasts with as much as we wanted. Waiter was very friendly made us feel like friends, great.
Probably has best choice of beers in town so regularly drink there and if staying then happy for us to come in after the curtains close and drink as residents.
Didn't eat this time but eaten several times before and got excellent food but like everywhere in town (except the kebab shop) kitchen closes at 9pm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Loved staying here. Stayed in room #5 which we joked and called the penthouse but it was a remodeled attic room with a window overlooking the square and a terrace. The hotel was clearly new and everything was new, clean, and in great working ordering. Little things made a difference, real glasses in the room and a bottle opener (which is great since we were visiting Poperinge for the beer).

800 meter walk from train station.

The front desk is not continually staffed so you have to go to the bar at the adjacent restaurant for service.

Room Tip: The suite room could easily accommodate two couples traveling together or a family.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank trickytricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed there last year with 3 friends while visiting Westvleteren Monastery. Great location overlooking the square, Modern clean and spacious rooms with nice touches like a Bose audio system and ipod dock. The managers of the hotel were very helpful. Plus it doesn't hurt having a fantastic bar attached. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aric_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We booked the two room suite which was advertised at the time as suitable for 4 adults. The main bedroom was a great size with a fridge and wardrobes. It also had an excellent balcony which would be great in the summer. But was also useful for keeping the gin and tonic cool!The second room was disappointing as it didn't have wardrobes, bedside tables or chest of drawers and the second bed is put-u-up, positioned side ways on at the bottom of the single bed. Ok for one night or if you are under 40, but had booked for 3 during the rememberance weekend.
Excellent shower and huge bath. Lovely fluffy white towels changed everyday.
Restaurant nice although with the euro so stong even a spag bol is expensive.
Overall a nice place to stay and a good base for the battlefields. Excellent Belgian beers!
Experience the Fiddlers arms Irish pub and restaurant for atmosphere just down the road from the hotel. Great fun.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woola56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I have been visiting Poperinge for many years and are huge fans of the areas and its delights. In our estimation and currently, the best, most comfortable and most welcoming hotel in the town is The Cafe De La Paix. Only a few rooms but all delightfully boutiquish, yet with old fashioned comfort. Right on the main square, and added bonuses are an excellent and reasonably priced menu, a splendid beer list and a very friendly and welcoming young couple running the place. However they aren't unique in Poperinge, they are delightful and very friendlylittle community.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caskfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is about the restaurant part:

Price versus quality was good.
Service was, though a little popular, very friendly and more important very adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank amsterdam_beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poperinge hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
198 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#4 of 6 in Poperinge
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manoir Ogygia
Manoir Ogygia
#2 of 6 in Poperinge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 6 in Poperinge
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#3 of 6 in Poperinge
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Rentmeestershoeve
De Rentmeestershoeve
#1 of 22 in Poperinge
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix

Address: Grote Markt 20, Poperinge 8970, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Poperinge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Poperinge
Price Range: $110 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De La Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing