We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
54
37
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
54
37
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshly cooked eggs no lift would highly recommend this hotel walk in shower comfortable bed warm welcome square sites ypres bernardus euro stairs beer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

The receptionist was very helpful and the room was spacious and clean with a walk in shower and comfortable bed-right in the centre of the town. Not much of a view as we were at the back of the hotel. Our meal in the hotel was lovely and the service was friendly and efficient.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JanConstable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Poperinge is a good base for exploring the WW1 battlefields and memorials. This hotel is on the main market square, which is mostly pedestrianised. Paid for parking is available on the square, but there are free car parks nearby (and Friday is market day when you have to move your car anyway). The rooms (1 and 2) were very comfortable with large double beds with tea & coffee making facilities. There is free Wi-Fi. There is a TV, but it only has local stations, and a radio. Room 1 (at the back on Floor 1) has a walk-in shower (with steps down to the bathroom), whilst Room 2 at the front (but still pretty quiet) has a bath with shower attachment. The continental breakfast is Euro 16 but is very nice and sets you up for the day. The staff are very friendly. The only drawback is that there is no lift and the stairs are quite steep, although perfectly manageable. There is building work next door at present, but it was not intrusive.

Room tip: Room 1 was very good.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We came to the area for the beer, and didn't expect to fall in love with the hotel food! Some of the best salmon I've had, and every meal was outstanding. If you're in the area, definitely don't miss out on a self-guided bike (or e-bike!) tour to Westvleteren, St, Bernardus and back. The ride through the local farms and fields was breathtaking (and almost no effort on an e-bike). A truly outstanding day!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank unstuck546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Was over in the Hotel Amfora lounge with a group of 10 British adults. Warm welcome by the lady of the house and waitresses. Had coffee and cake on a short stop during battlefield tour around noon. Although busy with catering for other guests ( lunches ! ) we were warmly greeted and served in the lounge for only our small orders. Went back this WE on a vintage car tour on a sunny Sunday. With my spouse had dinner outside on the terrasse. Friendly and professional service. We enjoyed this lovely terrasse watching the Poperinge folks passing by. If hotel is as good as service and quality it must be a top location in Poperinge. Poperinge is a cosy town, nearby the WW1 battlefields but near to Ieper and with lots of places to visit that made once the British army rearguard. It is out of busy and expensive Ieper and a good resting place

Room tip: I just took meals, no sleeping accommodation. My opinion is for the restaurant
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conrad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter, our grandson was interested in visiting WW1 sites especially around the Somme. The hotel was perfectly placed and the rooms were spotless, breakfast was full of choices and we were offered freshly cooked eggs as well.
We had dinner twice in the restaurant, each time the food was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel, lovely staff, great beds, spacious rooms and only a few miles to Ieper/Ypres if you want to visit the museums and the Menin Gate.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lils46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews