We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick and convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bungalow Thai - CLOSED

Bungalow Thai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
246 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quick and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bungalow Thai , looked very inviting on a cold evening, the decor is mostly orangey /red and warm looking . We went at about 7.30pm. There were two other tables occupied. Service was prompt and the food nice. My partner and I ordered rice dishes both of which were attractively served. It was a "bring your own wine" establishment.
Just lacked something to push it into the good category.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tweet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Level Contributor
396 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice food but still hungry afterwards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Not quite the horror stories of others but I can sympathise with some of the problems. Nice starters but I'm glad we'd agreed to share the main courses as they came at separate times - we'd finished one dish before the other arrived.

Enjoyed the food but still wanted more - they didn't seem to do dessert. BYO wine from the store down the road with some corkage ($2). The bill was still quite expensive for 2 courses - mains were $25-$34.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Thai food at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a meal here one Monday eve the service was polite and attentive. I think the staff probably didn't speak too much English but we managed. I went the shop on the corner for a bottle of wine to go with our meal. The food was freshly prepared and very tasty, one of the best thai meals we have had in a while. Would recomend beef curry and chicken stir fry with fresh noodles

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelersLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“terrible place to be, bad service, very ordinary food.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I just don't understand why there are still people queuing outside of this restaurant....come on, we are in Sydney!! after long waiting for our menu, then we told that they are BYO only, foods are not hot enough and portions are all small (Thai cuisine, not Japanese!)

We tried to make booking before, but the phone was not answer for the entire morning (from 10 am to 3pm, terrible answering voice message with funny AMERICAN accent, WAKE UP!! This is Sydney!!)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DamenDeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
144 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“We don't know what the food is like!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Having waited 45 minutes for the first acknowledgement and then being told it is BYO I went to the bottle shop opposite and returned to my wife still not getting any menus !! So we left and had a great meal elsewhere in Kirribilli. Don't bother. Walk past and try one of the other places nearby. Very rude too!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bungalow Thai also viewed

Kirribilli, North Sydney
Kirribilli, North Sydney
 
Kirribilli, North Sydney
Kirribilli, North Sydney
 
Kirribilli, North Sydney
Kirribilli, North Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing