We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing on a budget - go here!”
Review of St Gothard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Gothard Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here as a group of 7 people Jan 2011.
The transfer in for the airport was not as bad as expected, no getting away from the fact that it is a good few hours on a coach but they didn't hang around at the airport and they stop half way through the journey so you can stretch your legs and get a sarnie and a cuppa tea.
The Hotel - Don't expect luxurious surroundings but great value for money. The hotel is super clean, basic but comfy with spacious rooms. Take some bubble bath to soothe those aching limbs at the end of the day - you have to pay extra for the sauna which we thought was a cheek as other guests that used it said it wasn't worth it. But plenty of hot water in the en suite bathrooms which were clean and tidy with plenty of daily fresh towels. Only downpoint was the shower didn't have a wall mount so a bit of a balancing act!
The food was brilliant, ive never seen so much fresh fruit in the mountains!plenty of choice everyday. Steaming soup and plenty of desert!ha ha. Also choice of meat, fish, veggies etc. They went the extra mile on our day of departure and opened for breakfast at 3am!amazing.
It has a nice lounge/reception/bar area which isn't exactly party central but good for relaxing before/after dinner and has a brilliant fast and free wifi connection (only works in this recepion area not in your room) A nice quiet hotel for a good nights sleep but also with a chilled bar for a few drinks and a laugh
The ski hire shop is in the basement of the hotel - couldn't be more convenient. The week we arrived was the first that the shop had opened so all the kit was brand new, as for the owner - they couldn't have been more helpful, a far cry from french resorts where they chuck a pair of boots at you and get in a strop if they are no good. They were happy to spend time helping my friend, a first time skier get a good fit
If you want to keep your skis/boards at the hotel then you have to either sneak them into your room (plenty of room) or they have racks down in the car park/basement so take a lock for this, looks slightly dodgy but the hotel say they have never had any theft Downpoint is there are no boot racks/warmers to be found but that is just being fussy. Alternatively you can pay to leave your skis/boards at the top of the gondola in cages run by the ski companies, we didn't bother with this as it was no hassle to bring them on the bus with us, thought they did get slightly battered on the short journey.
The hotel is a good 10 minutes walk UPHILL to the gondola that takes you up to the ski area. There are regular buses in the morning so no worries for that but other times of the day are a bit hit and miss, not too much trouble trundling down in the evening if you are a boarder but my friend suffered the short walk in her painful ski boots!the bus is meant to come every 20 minutes but one day we waited 1.5 hours only for the bus driver to tell us off - he has to eat and is only one man after all!ha ha ha typical Catalan attitude!
dare i say if you fancy a break from skiing then its pretty stright forward to get the bus a 20minute journey into Arinsal town for a bit of shopping - expect high street rather than tacky independant shops!
so, the slopes - brilliant for learners and intermediates, experts would be bored. Some nice wide runs good for buliding your confidence. At the top of arinsal you get the gondola across to Pal - beautiful and worth the short trip - boarders beware when you vernture more 'deeply' into Pal you will hit flat areas -s tick to the few slopes close to the gondola
Arcalis is DEFINATELY worth a visit - slightly higher altitude so has better snow. Once again lovely wide runs and again boarders beware!!!!do not take the green leading back to the base of the area - it is COMPLETELY FLAT, it has a didgy rope that you can get dragged along on but i ended up walking most of it - it's to long a trip to even just unclip your binding and scoot - painful!much better to take the reds down, they are nice and wide and not too steep so should be managable even if you are not a pro!
The snow had suffered the week we were there but they did a brilliant job maintining the slopes, plenty of cannons that were kept going at all opportunity. It was just strating to get a bit icey by the end of the week when we were blessed with powder for our last day - if you have the same luck - head straight for Arcalis!!!well worth the free bus journey - be warned though, you can get it from outside St Gothard Hotel but try and get the bus from the centre rather than outside the hotel - it fills up and once it is full it will not stop - or will stop but only for the driver to laugh at you!
so end of the day - head to Cisco's!its quite funny when you step off the gondola you could be mistaken and think you are in Ibiza with the guys touting for buisness at the bottom of the lift. Well worth it though for 1.50 eur pints, free nachos and free shots!i got the drunkest and spent the least i ever have on the mountains!
The town is not a massive party palce, you won't find any clubs but plenty busy and lively enough for nigths out after tiring days with friends.
ps give the quizz night a miss - never been so bored!and as for the disco - be preared for cheese!
so after that long essay - what i say is if you get a good price book it!!!!!don't let the lack of ski in/ou put you off, it's really not a big hassle for a 5 min bus trip each way or a slow strole and the hotel is clean, comfy and friendly - what more do you need?ow yeah the free shots , great slopes and a good group of friends for company!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abstar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 463 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

Our expectations of this hotel were very low as we only paid £236 each for a 7 night ski package holiday here on a HB basis ( so that's flights and transfers included - with Directski through lastminute.com booked about 2 weeks before we left). Our expectations of a bed, a bathroom and some edible food were met. In case your expectations are higher because you have paid more than we did, here is some stuff you may want to know.

We spent most of the week trying to figure out how this is a 4 star hotel. Having stayed in other 4 star hotels in Andorra, this in comparison is a basic 3 star place.

The location is at the bottom of the hill, but you'll know that anyway. Not a problem for us, good warm up in the morning. Takes about 15 mins walk. Definitely hire a locker at the top of the cable car to keep your skis and boots in.

Rooms - basic, clean, comfortable enough. Bit manky - lots of wall and floor tiles cracked, mould in bathrooms etc.

Food - could be described as either "beige" or "likely to give you food poisoning" but to give them credit there was always fresh salad and fresh fruit available and avoiding the dodgy stuff we generally ate well. Bit of overkill though with the "if you take food from the restaurant we will charge you for it" signs - I counted 9!

Staff were all friendly and efficient.

Now for the bad bits:

Noise - Kept awake every night by the plumbing or the drunks running up and down the corridors, shouting, banging on doors or the "entertainment" (more of which later) downstairs.

Smoke - I know it's Andorra and everyone smokes anywhere but the place, and therefore you and your clothes, reeks of smoke.

The entertainment - very weird. A strange couple who did the disco/quiz/raffle. Hard to avoid as they took over the bar area and you could hear it all in your room anyway. I imagine it's worse than Butlins.

All in all, it was so cheap that we didn't care that much - we were out skiing or in the other bars most of the time. But if I had paid more I would have been mightily disappointed. Only stay here if you get a good deal.

The skiing was great for us - a mixture of skiers/boarders intermediate level - enough to do and explore. Those who did ski school said it was very good. Arinsal is such a small resort that it is very friendly and the videos playing the bar were a really good idea.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The hotel is clean, comfortable and well-served by friendly staff. Meals were excellent - you would have to be very fussy not to find something to your liking on the buffet. The chefs were constantly out in the dining room checking temperatures and fussing over the presentation of the dishes, removing anyting they weren't happy with. Freshly-prepared food was being brought out right up to the end of the meal time.
Rooms were spacious and well serviced, with fresh linen every day. True they could do with a facelift, but couldn't we all!
Downside is the distance from town, a 10 minute uphill walk, but the free ski bus takes care of that in the mornings, and it does mean the area is a lot quieter outside. Entertainment was OK, not my style, but people seemed to be enjoying the evenings in the reasonably-priced bar.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Feb 2011.

Arinsal – Andorra
Sant Gothard Hotel
4 *

2 people, 43 + 57.

1 weeks ski trip to Arinsal booked at last minute with Neilson. £500 all in for flights, half board in Sant Gothard hotel, ski, boot hire, and lift pass.
4 hour Coachtrip from Toulouse airport to Arinsal includes a half way break to buy drinks and eats.
Trouble free check-in at hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room (1307) was spotless, and serviced every day. Quiet, with comfy beds. Hairdryer, shaving socket, extra blankets and pillows in room. Sant Gothard room-safe and TV remote hire charge was 1.50 Euro per day so 10:50 Euro for 7 days. There is a 15 Euro returnable deposit. The shower setup was a tad inconvenient as the shower hose support is only at waist height, so you had to hold shower head manually for proper rinse. TV has numerous foreign channels plus 1 English channel - Sky news. The well lit restaurante is situated on the basement floor, quite spacious and lined with mirrored walls. Breakfast closed at 10am, and provided good choice including cereals, bacon, alternating scrambled or fried egg, sausage, beans, fruit, croissant, ham, cheese, baps, yoghurts, etc. Grill toasters and fresh bread available, I made use of toaster to crispen my bacon up. Free various fruit juices, tea coffee. All in all not bad, but not always piping hot. Evening buffet from 7:30pm to 10pm had reasonable choices, chip lovers will not be disappointed, however no free drinks, not even water. Most drinks quite expensive (small fruit juice 2.50 Euro ). Good choice of sweets, fruit and cheese to finish. There was free wifi in reception area, though may work in your room if near enough to router. Also large flat screen TVs in bar area showed mostly football with foreign commentary. Lots of comfy armchairs, pool tables ( 2 euro), video machines in reception area. There was entertainment of varying quality in the hotel every evening, mostly Butlins orientated. Resident chain-smoking couple Peck and Peck hosted a quiz night, Elvis impressionist, Mike Jones was quite good. The hotel bar prices varied from 3 to 4 Euros per pint, though had a weird setup where you had to pay at a till for a receipt which you then took took to the bar to exchange for your chosen drink. Snow forecasts, bus timetables, local attraction info, and activities programmes all available at reception.
Reps always contactable and helpful, usual excursions offered at the welcome meeting first day (pub crawl, candlelit sledge ride, skidoo trip, reps night etc.Try not to miss free morning ski bus to the gondolier, as 400 metre walk up steep hill is quite a challenge, especially if carrying heavy ski kit. Bus timetables are not an exact science in the resort, allow plus or minus 10 minutes. 9:30 am uphill was preferred. Last free uphill ski bus at 1pm-ish. I discovered that only a couple of large UK friendly mobile-phone networks supported (O2 and Orange), my network Tesco was not, so had to use brothers mobile to call missus, keep her sweet. Phone cards and coin operated phone boxes available in town. I had some Amex Euro traveler cheques left over from last year, but nowhere in Arinasal to exchange them, had to get L5 bus (1:50 Euro each way) to Massana to cash them. Plently of ATMs in Arinsal though. Ski kit hire procedure quick and efficient, all items were bar coded. To avoid lugging gear up and down the hill daily, you can leave your skiis or board in secure cage at base of slopes for 10 Euro per week ( excluding boots), or hire a heated locker big enough for 4 sets of kit (including boots) for 50 Euros.
Apres ski – Most bars had happy hours 4-7pm. Recommend Ciscos, cave type setting, 1.50 Euro for a decent pint, plus free nachos + Mexican chile. Moli's free BBQ with your drinks order opposite gondolier, toasties at the El Cau . Also Decades, Quo Vadis etc. The Derby Irish bar has a great atmosphere and brilliant live music, but 4 Euro pint tad dear. You get a loyalty card that is stamped for each pint bought, 9 stamps get you a freebie. Many Arinsal bars show videos of the daily ski/board lessons. Your instructor will tell you at which bar your vid can be viewed and purchased. Good reps night (family orientated-5 euro a head ) at Decades bar on Friday saw 3 to 4 hundred people turn up, the cheap beer was a bit watery though. Beware that most bars still allow smoking, so many get muggy later on, some worse than others. I had a few Euro travel cheques left over from last year, but found no place in Arinsal to cash them. I had to go find a suitable bank in Massana, L5 bus ( 1.50 Euro each way ). ( taxi Massana to Arinsal 6 Euro during afternoon )
. Skiing in Arinsal for basic skiers. Bubble lift from Arinsal peak takes you to Pal where runs are better suited to intermediates. Pal slopes also tended to be far less wind swept than those at Arinsal. Some, but not all lifts closed on a couple of days due to high winds. Weekend saw many local schools classes arrive, nursery slopes got extremely busy, and organizers sneakily put chicanes on a few of the blues to slow the youngsters up. Dodgy if you had whizzed down that particular run several times previously, then encounter a narrow fenced gate. Last bubble from Pal to Arcalis was 4:15pm, but be sure queue numbers do not force you to miss bubble then end up using bus instead. One day, we got the free bus (Blue) at 10:30am from Arinsal Gondolier stop to Arcalis. Slopes there were far superior, many long reds, few blacks, limited blue and greens. Catching the returning freebus to Arinsus instead.al at 3pm or 5pm is challenging. Even if you join the bus queue early, there is still a bit of a scrabble as free for all mentality breaks out as bus arrives. No good stashing your ski gear in the boot, then find that there are no seats left, as no standing allowed (health and safety). Taxi Arcalis to Arinsal 50 Euros if you miss bus. There are several mountain eateries, Iglu, Obelix OK. Shopping a bit limited, a trip into the capital takes 30 mins, and there will be found a huge selection of shops and goods. Think I have covered most things, all in all, great ski trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giraffeMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed with friends on a skiing trip early February 2011. Expected quite a lot from a 4 star hotel, but was bitterly dissapointed. First of all the food was 1980's Spanish Hotel buffet at its worst. If you are a vegetarian forget it! I have had better food in third world countries! Next the room was clean, but cold (16/17C). They seemed unable to fix the heating. The bar was a joke. It took ages to get (reasonably priced) drinks. Finally, the hotel was very noisy with doors banging, arguments and drunks shouting all through the night (every night). Kids were also running around the hotel unsupervised until the small hours (and this was outside school holidays).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clingy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here for the first time last year and said that I would be back.
Have been coming to Andorra to ski for years now.
Gave a glowing review last year and have to say that I didn't think it could be topped. I was wrong. Even better than last year.

Went B & B last year which was great but decided to go half board this year.
Food was fantastic. Great choice and something for everyone.

Had a huge room at the back of the hotel which overlooked the swimming pool and the stream. Stunning views.

Rooms were cleaned every day and the staff were really friendly.

I'll be coming back in 2012 for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stbsgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We had our first Family ski holiday here and really enjoyed it! Arinsal is a lovely picturesque village built into the mountains and the skiing was perfect for us as it is more suited to beginners/ intermediates. All the instructors spoke great English- and none of the runs were too difficult- though we stuck to the blues. Perfect beginner resort!

We loved the apres ski, after a hard day on the slopes we looked forward to the hot nachos at Cisco's in the village and the numerous other (reasonably priced- E1.50 for a pint) bars.

The hotel is about a 15 minute downhill walk from the centre and the gondola (but not a problem as there is a ski bus in the mornings, every 10/20 minutes, if you don't fancy the early morning stroll up the hill). The hotel is comfortable and clean, as are the rooms, but we found the bar area dated, and a little like a canteen. The food though was very good! lots of choice and well received by everybody, even the fussiest eater will find something to enjoy.

This year we are returning to Arinsal but have decided on the self catering option, but for a first skiing trip the St Gothard was perfect x

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyShambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erts
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
2.7 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palome
Hotel Palome
#1 of 4 in Erts
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,091 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Magic Ski
Hotel Magic Ski
#4 of 10 in La Massana
232 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Gothard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Gothard Hotel

Address: s/n Carretera d'Arinsal, Erts AD400, Andorra
Phone Number:
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Erts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Price Range: $72 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Gothard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your St Gothard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gothard
St Gothard Erts
St Gothard Hotel Andorra/Erts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing