We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE”
Review of St Gothard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Gothard Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Have just come back from a great week skiing in Andorra with my two children which we really enjoyed ski school was great -however on our last night my two daughters both discovered they had all their money stolen from their purses which was left in room and in a child's handbag -I'm sickened about this they were very upset and as with the previous reviews here when I went up to reception to report it they were dismissive defensive and a disgrace with their attitude especially the peroxide blonde who needs to go to some kind of finishing school for her bad manners -this is totally a scam going on in this hotel and it happens on the last day as people are leaving at early hours of the morning and the police /hotel staff are not interested and the crystal ski rep was also totally useless -I rang him on the '24 hour' number and told him what was going on reception was chaotic with all the people reporting money taken -he never come back to the hotel and neither the next day on the transfer bus home even speak to me about it -they know we'll the cleaners at this and it happens regular here -I left my email with manager- no one has got back to me which I'm not surprised -we were on ground floor it was wild noisy but alot of noisy. guests and also arguing going on at night time -our room was unnaturally hot and no radiator in it and thermostat turned down -the food was ok first 2 nights after this it was very bad and seemed only suitable for Spanish guests -braised pigs trotters was one example! The Derby Irish pub was great after the slopes and also suitable for kids with games they can play. I would go back to Andorra but never to this hotel it was unacceptable what happened to so many guests On our last day here and the ski companies -crystal/top flight and Neilson should also look into what is going on with the way their guests are being treated

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portugalIrelandsligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 463 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

What began as an exciting family ski holiday ended miserably when a substantial sum of money was stolen from our room safe. This was also the case for a number of other guests on the same day and had happened the previous week in this hotel. Hotel management were asked to call police but declined to do so. Noise from the hotel lobby & bar meant getting much needed sleep after a days skiing was difficult. Food varied from excellent some nights to average or poor on others. On the plus side staffwere generally pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Starting the review positively We found the St Gothard to be a well run hotel for food and service. There was a good standard of cleanliness. Most of the staff were courteous except for the bar staff and the female receptionist. There was a good variety of food on offer most days for breakfast and evening meals, I would say good value for money. But on our last day we had a large sum of money stolen from our room safe when we were up at the ski slopes. When we went to report this to the manager we were shocked to find that about 10 other guest had been robbed as well, to make it worse on reading other reviews sadly theft is an ongoing issue at the St Gothard. We were told we had to go to the police station before it closed which would not have been possible. And got no real help from management even though theft had occurred recently. Police were no help and Crystal travel company should have informed us about recent thefts this May have prevented heartache as we had no money left for presents. The St Gothard will have to take serious action or will loose a lot of custom

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank sr170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned from our skiing holiday which we really enjoyed. However there are a few points that i would like to say and point out to people who are planning to book to stay at this hotel... The time that we had on the slopes was brill and we all had really good fun. Loved the instructors who were really friendly and had a giggle with, and for me made the holiday. The hotel was lovely and the catering staff were great, and problems we had through the week were sorted really quickly and efficiently. There were 23 of us on the holiday and we did feel all the same that we were let down by our reps with Neilson. On the way to our hotel we were sold these wrists bands that were made out to be really good and you could get discounts here and there which were 5 euros each, however we found that we couldnt use these anywhere and was a waste of money. So i would advise if you get offered these it is not worth purchasing.

Right... on our last night of our hotel we had all just returned from having a fantastic last day to find that I personally had had money stolen and my partner had had his bank cards tampered with. When i went down to reception to report this we discovered that were several people this had happened to that afternoon. One guy even had 350 euros stolen!!!! The attitude from the reception staff and our reps was disgusting, unhelpful and was trying to shrug off. This happened the last day knowing that we had no time to do anything about it. I was told i need to go to the police station which closes at 9 and need to pay 15 euros to get there. How do i get there with no money???? There was then many families at the reception who were angry, upset and frustrating that no one who take responsibility to help us. We added up how much in total had been taken that afternoon which was roughly 1000 euros!!! The manager finally turned up who tried to make out he had heard nothing about this previously but then went back on his word and said it had happened the week before and if you read down a few weeks ago this also happened to others. Overall we felt let down and put a damper on our last day which was a shame because apart from the last day we had a really good week. Its the hassle of now contacted insurance company's and banks to cancel cards etc to get this sorted. Why if these keeps happening do they not investigate and sack the problem.

~So I would advise if you are looking to go skiing at this resort either 1... Buy a safe and NOT leave open or 2... Do not book at this hotel if you do not want to be robbed!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned from a great skiing holiday in Arinsal and would definitely return, however we would not return to this hotel.
The main reason for this is that on the day before we left a member of our party realised that they had had money stolen from there room, we went to report it, to find out that several other people had also had money taken, some very large amounts, they had reported it to the police who just said they would investigate, they ended up bringing the manager in, apparently it had happened the week before also and a member of staff had been suspended, this had not stopped it happening again. The hotel does have safety deposit boxes in rooms charged at 1.50 euros a day, I would advise to use them.
The other down side was as said in other reviews it is a noisy hotel, we were kept awake quite a lot by noise in reception/bar area, not good when you are skiing, try for rooms as far away from reception and at back of hotel, road was also very noisy.
The positives were good food most nights and the staff in the restaurant were always friendly.
Rooms are quite basic, small and we did not have much storage, but were clean and warm with comfy beds.
The free bus was good as it was quite a hike up to gondola.
I don't normally leave reviews but felt people should be warned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnonymousI8798OA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Myself and my family have just return from Andorra, and had a fabulous time, the hotel is lovely clean, staff were friendly and polite and helpful, and we didn't expect any entertainment, and there was every evening, ranging from bingo, quizzes, abba tribute band and Adele tribute singer, all provided by, the young entertainment staff, Amy and Danielle who are great, friendly and helped to make our stay great. Both worked really hard and involved everyone whatever age you are. Thanks girls Maria

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here half term week 16th February. As you would expect it was crowded with school kids but did not find it a problem. we were a party or 2 adults and one 12 year old all staying in one room which was a bit compact and lacking drawer space. The room was very clean and warm with a balcony overlooking the mountain, we were on the 5th floor and didn't have any problems with noise. Also a safe is available at a small fee. We though the two girls who took care of the entertainment to be very good and so friendly. Also they had a magician who was very entertaining. On the negative side we found the price 5 euros for a non alcoholic cocktail which consisted of orange and pineapple juice and a drop of grenadine syrup extortionate. in the restaurant very nice salad bar but the rest of the food average, the hot buffet was always cold, we would have rated it higher had it not been for this.

Room Tip: a high room at the back with balcony overlooking the stream are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erts
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
2.7 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palome
Hotel Palome
#1 of 4 in Erts
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,091 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Magic Ski
Hotel Magic Ski
#4 of 10 in La Massana
232 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Gothard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Gothard Hotel

Address: s/n Carretera d'Arinsal, Erts AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Erts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Price Range: $72 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Gothard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your St Gothard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gothard
St Gothard Erts
St Gothard Hotel Andorra/Erts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing