We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it if there is a good offer”
Review of St Gothard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Gothard Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Girona, Catalunya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Take it if there is a good offer”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been there in a family room which was tiny for 4. We had to move in a reduced space but as it was just for one night we didn't really mind. The dinner food was average but the metre and all the staff were really helpful and nice to us and offered different options. Breakfast was better with loads of fresh fruit and hot and cold food to choose from.
The problem was that there were two buses with old people who were shouting at one o'clock at night and woke up at 6 am. So, we didn't have much time to sleep. Appart from that, the pillows and the beds were a bit unconfortable. The bed and bath were really clean.
The situation is good if you don't want to stay in the middle of a city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    174
    97
    29
    35
See reviews for
137
131
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

To say the hotel is four star is a total joke. It reminded us of a school skiing holiday hotel, cold, vast, no atmosphere, food was what can only be described as school dinners and not good ones at that! The rooms were a fair size but basic, but at least warm. The bus stop was across the road from the hotel which was good and frequent and only took a couple of minutes to the lifts. The walk to the village took about 10 minutes up hill and there was not much there when you finally did get there. No real shops to speak of, so non skiiers dont bother. A few bars most of which seemed okay. Would never go to that hotel again or recommend it! Thank god there was some snow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
3 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erts hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A group of 10 of us stayed here the first week of February and loved this hotel,

The reception is nice and spacious, staff are very friendly and rooms are nice and comfortable, we got a lovely view of the river and mountains great start to every morning waking up to that view, the food was very good with a huge choice for breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is in a quiet part of Arinsal and you need to walk up the hill or get the bus but that's the only thing I could find a negative, would definitely that here again

Try the Derby Irish pub, great Craic :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patd211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at the St Gothard Hotel for 7 nights in March as part of a group of four.
Throughout the trip the staff were very approachable, friendly and cheerful. Whenever asked for help or advice, they were happy to assist (including when the meal ticket was lost, and a room card). Some of them even had a bit of a joke with the guests. Although, the female waitresses let the side down a little and could be grumpy.

The location was good and far enough from the bars not to get any noise issues from them or the drunks wondering home. Although described as others as an easy 5 minute walk to the gondola, its much fairer to say its a 15 minute walk up hill and wouldnt be a good idea to do this in the morning with all your ski/snowboard kit, unless you feel fit enough. It is however quite a pleasant manageble walk back at the end of the day. There is a free ski bus which picks up right outside of the hotel, and drives you the short journey to the gondalas. Although advertised as every 10-15 minutes, we found you could wait up to half hour after the first few days of the week, and seemed to consistantly get worse as the week went on.But its free.....so you're not loosing anything by waiting, especially with the lovely weather we had.

The bedroom- I thought the bedrooms were a fair size for just the two of us and had a balcony which looked over a stream and onto a mountain. It gave us a beautiful view, and was especially lovely with the sunny weather we experienced all week. The room was quite dated, but was always cleaned to a high standard and did the job considering we were only there in the evenings before another full day of boarding. Bedding and towels were changed daily by the maids, who always did a cracking job with the room.
Something to note about the rooms however were that the beds were pretty uncomfortable to sleep on, especially after nursing some already hurting muscles following a day on the slope. I thought I was just being picky, but it was commonly mentioned by other guests at the hotel throughout the week. Also, although stream was lovely outside our room, it was pretty loud in the room when trying to sleep at night, i would recommend if youre a light sleeper you take ear plugs.

The restaurant- The food throughout the week was great. There was always something to everyones fancy, even the more picky eaters of the group, and there was always plenty of it and at a decent temperature (not like other places i have been).
The breakfast consists of the usual cereal, croissants, pain au chocolat, cooked breakfast, fresh meats and fruit. Among the odd choices were cakes and muffins, but however odd they were lovely and worth a try.
Each night for dinner were a mixture of different choices of meat, pastas, soups etc. These never failed to satisfy our hungry bellies.
Amongst all the choices there was a pleasant suprise. Looking at previous reviews, people had made mention of no tea and coffee on offer in the restaurant and hotel room. Although true of the hotel room, the St Gothard has obviously been taking note of the previous comments and have now introduced free tea and a selection of coffees at breakfast. Very impressed. Only downfall was that this was not on offer other times of the day.

If you fancy a night out at one of the local restaurants its worth looking up Surf (right next to the gondola) or 360 which provided catalan cuisine. Surf was a BIG favourite, but not for the faint hearted and only for the meat lovers. (The portions are huge!)

During our stay everyone was offered some free Champagne on the friday. This was a nice touch and went down well. And on the saturday for breakfast there were Churros with chocolate dipping sauce.....a big plus for a couple of members of our group.

Within the hotel was a bar by reception. This was handy when you didnt feel up to going out but wanted a quick pint. They had a TV in there which played two of the biggest British football matches that week. This seemed to go down well for the guests. They also have two pool tables and a games room consisting of some arcade games like air hockey and pinball (some a little outdated but fun nonetheless).

In the reception area is free Wi-fi. Seemed to be a popular feature and you could often find guests at the hotel chilling in the area.

The hotel does offer ski storage in what i can only call a car parking area in the basement of the hotel. Although the staff tried to sell it as secure, it was easily accessible by anyone who entered the hotel, with no lock on the door or locker areas. Alot of the guests seemed to just take their kit up to their rooms and keep it on the balcony instead, and this didnt seem to cause any issues.

Overall it was a lovely place to stay for the week and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony, the others look out on the street. Also try not to get a room nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jdpistons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed from the 25th march for ine week while in a skiing trip.
The staff were brilliant, food was brilliant and the staff which cleaned the rooms done a top job.
I would definatly recommend this hotel and would definatly return

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barney3789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Really friendly hotel staff, who joked with the children at mealtimes. Rooms are large with good quality bathrooms - our family room had a separate bunk bed room for the kids: an added bonus. Food was a large buffet at breakfast and dinner: unspectacular but absolutely fine. Restaurants in the village are slightly more varied but if you want Haute Cuisine, Arinsal isn't for you!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Just returned from Arinsal on Sunday, can not think of one bad point. We didn't have the biggest room but your hardly in it, all that mattered to us was the plentiful hot water and clean room, the towels and sheets were changed daily. The whole hotel was kept very clean, the food both breakfast and evening meal were brilliant so much choice and all of it edible!! If you did'nt finish your wine of an evening they would mark it with your room number ready for the next night, having worked in a hotel that's very unusual! The ski shop was adjoined to the hotel which was very conveinent they were also quick and efficient. The Ski bus stops is right outside hotel, the walk upto the gondola could be a pain for some people especially if you had boots and skis but walking down is not so bad, especially if you have been apres skiing!!
You can hire something called the cage for 10 euros each which is what we did which wasn't too bad although not always organised very well by the neilson reps or there were lockers for 50 euros but talking to some people in families these lockers took at least 4 peoples stuff so for convenience of having a key and being able to come and go as you please could for some people be useful, we were sometimes finished skiing at 1 (it was 27 degrees and the slopes were suffering!) but we were forced to stay in the polar bar till the cage was opened at 3 LOL!!!!

Will definately go back hopefully next year, even though the slopes were suffering we still had a fantastic time, meeting some lovely people ( hi Sam and Justin hope we didnt disgrace ourselves too much on Thursday afternoon/ early evening lol)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spiggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erts
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
4.4 mi away
NH Andorra La Vella
NH Andorra La Vella
#2 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.8 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Exe Princep Hotel
Exe Princep Hotel
#14 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
8.2 mi away
Hotel Coma Bella
Hotel Coma Bella
#1 of 5 in Sant Julia de Loria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Gothard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Gothard Hotel

Property: St Gothard Hotel
Address: s/n Carretera d'Arinsal, Erts AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Erts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Gothard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Gothard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gothard
St Gothard Erts
St Gothard Hotel Andorra/Erts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing