We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a wonderful time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine Faverot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine Faverot
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
550 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fabulous location at the base of the Luberon looking across the vineyard towards Gordes and the Vaucluse. Great base from which to visit west to St Remy and to east to Apt and Lourmarin. The pool was great and whilst very clean didn't smell of chemicals at all with a red squirrel visiting daily to drink.

Bed was very comfortable.

If you stay there make sure you have a meal at Maison Gouin in Coustellet.

The gites have some lovely decorative touches although to improve them further a few more utensils would help e.g. scissors and bread knife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Sally and Francois are excellent hosts. The pool was used daily and was superb. Close to many great tourist areas. Our favourites were L'Isle de Sorgue (Sunday market) and great restaurants and Fontaine de Vaucluse. Would definitely also recommend a day trip to Cassis (Marseille) for the beach and cliff jumping into the Med. The rooms were small but well equipped. I'd go again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having read rave reviews on Tripadvisor we had high expectations of our accommodation. The location is very beautiful and the pool is a real plus. Maubec is very convenient for touring the local villages and towns, strolling through the many markets. However the cottages are very basically equipped and your experience can depend on which unit you get. Both Murier and Ecurie are for four people and rent for the same price, but Ecurie is significantly larger than Murier and much better equipped – for four adults Ecurie is the choice to make.
One of the factors in our selection of Domaine Faverot was that the cottages are non-smoking, however smoking is allowed outside and for us the smoke was drifting across the terraces and upwards into one of the bedrooms. As the evenings were warm we wanted windows open and to sit outside but the adjacent smoking made this unpleasant for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely location in the midst of vineyards, lavender bushes, cherry trees and rosemary. The three cottages are not free standing but part of the one building which looks like an old farm house but upon closer inspection is a much newer building styled to look older and Provencal. The cottages do, however feel very private and their proximity to each other means there is the opportunity to meet other guests which we and our 9 and 11 year old daughters really enjoyed. French named but English born and bred hosts Francois and Sally were accomodating. Wifi access very good some days, not so good on others. Proximity to towns in the region was great. A walk through the streets of nearby Oppede was a highlight. Very comfortable and well appointed cottage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superstidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently returned from Europe where we started our holiday for one week in Domaine Faverot. I booked from an ad in the Globe and Mail pretty blind having only double checked the location on Google satelite to make sure it was away from busy roads. We were welcomed by Sally jet lagged from Toronto and it was even nicer than I anticipated. My wife and I had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay in our "cottage". It was like our own little townhouse with the living room, kitchen and powder room on the ground floor with a nice private patio in front and upstairs was a spacious bedroom and very nice bathroom, all tastefully furnished and spotless. We had the end unit with windows on three sides, the bedroom had a lovely veiw of their vineyards and the hills in the distance.
Sally's husband Richard makes some very good wines from their property. We really enjoyed some of his reds and of course, being in Provence, his Rose. The property is charming with a beautiful infinity edge pool shared by only 4 units. We were treated to an evening table d'hote prepared by Sally with all the guests which was a special treat in their classic courtyard. It was a very memorable meal and great fun with an interesting mix of guests andRichard's wines flowing!
The area is a beautiful valley surrounded by charming towns and villages. So much to explore. Both Avingnon and Aix en Provence are close for day visits. You'll be rewarded on return from these busy tourist destinations to your quiet oasis.
Domaine Faverot and the Luberon are a real treat!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at Domaine Faverot in September 2011. It was our first trip to France. We had spent a great, but very busy week in Paris, and then rounded out our vacation with a wonderful stay at Domain Faverot for another week. We were there during the grape harvest. Our cottage ("La Cerisier") was too big for our needs, but Sally and Francois had made it available to us even though we did not need that much space.

Our cottage was the end unit, closest to the infinity pool, and the laundry facilities. We had a nice quiet entrance from the courtyard, and a fantastic private terrace overlooking the pool and the vineyard (with a view of Gordes in the distance).

Sally greeted us with warmth and friendship even though we arrived earlier than we had anticipated. She had our cottage ready, and had made fresh olive bread, and had laid out fresh cut flowers and olives to nibble on. A wonderful welcome.

Our week there was characterised by 32 degree celsius weather on the first day, followed by the Mistral winds the next night. After that, we had a week of clear blue skies, and 24 degree weather. Very comfortable for walking and sight seeing al of the great perched villages that are all so close.

The nearby villages all offer many things to see and do. We did our shopping at the local market in Coustelet (5 minutes by car away), and also at the local grocery store. There are good bakeries in Maubec to pick up fresh bread in the morning (just walk along the gravel road at the back of Domaine Faverot's property).

The cottages were clean, comfortable, and very private feeling. Sally was available whenever needed, but was also very adept at giving us complete space and freedom. We spent one day just lounging by the pool, and enjoyed the opportunity to speak with Francoise and learn about their wines. He was very helpful and patient. Their harvest is done by a close group of friends for the cost of free room and board and daily labour. We'd love to help them in a future harvest.

You can easily drive to about 8 or 9 perched villages nearby. All seem to be within 10 to 30 minutes of Domaine Faverot. See as many as you can, because each has a very different character, and is worth seeing. See them at different times of the day and evening to appreciate the views and the light. If you have a GPS bring it. Ours was a Godsend. It took us everywhere we needed to go without ever getting lost. It found all of the convenient parking locations in each of the perced villages, and navigated us through all of the roundabouts etc. Domaine Faverot was exactly where the GPS thought it was.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Muskoka535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Don't think twice, just book it.
We arrived later than we planned and Sally greeted us with kindness and showed us to our wonderful L'Ecurie cottage. It was beautiful. We'd read that there might be olive bread to greet us and Sally didn't let us down - just delicious. We tried all four of the wines during our stay and enjoyed each of them.
After a peaceful night's sleep, we were able to explore the wonderful vineyard and swimming pool.We had a lovely patio area that led right into the vines. The whole place was just breathtaking.
It was difficult to go sightseeing while already lodging in a little piece of heaven, but we made ourselves go. This is an excellent place to stay while visiting provencal villages large and small as everything was easily accessible. We traveled to Aix, Marseille and Avignon without difficulty. At the recommendation of Sally, we stopped in Gourdes and Rousillon and we were not disappointed.
We were looking for a peaceful retreat and we found it at Domaine Faverot. Don't pass this up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmbaker622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maubec
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant
5.5 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mas de la Senancole
Mas de la Senancole
#12 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Relais du Luberon
Le Relais du Luberon
#1 of 2 in Coustellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel les Oliviers
Motel les Oliviers
#2 of 2 in Coustellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Faverot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Faverot

Property: Domaine Faverot
Address: 771 route de Robion, 84660 Maubec, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Maubec
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Maubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four beautifully restored rental cottages are situated on the Winery estate in their own private wing. The Domaine was established in 1998 in an old XVIII century stone farmhouse. Encircled by it's own vines, some of which were planted nearly a hundred years ago. There is also an infinity pool in which, when you swim, you have the view of the vines and in the distance the Luberon countryside and hills, and Gordes, on of the most pituresque perched villages of the Luberon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Domaine Faverot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Faverot Hotel Maubec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing