We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay !”
Review of Het Buytenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Het Buytenhof
Ranked #1 of 2 Zweeloo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Henk and Simone are perfect hosts. Also a compliment to son Ralph who gave us a tour in this beautiful B & B.
The bedroom (de Dars), the breakfast room and garden, these are all gems.
The breakfast was described as "three courses", and it was delicious. We really have enjoyed it.

Zweeloo itself is a nice village. Close to Zweeloo, you can visit Westerbork, Emmen Zoo, historic Orvelte, the dolmen in Borger;

Within walking distance, "Tante Sweel" (aunt Sweel) is a nice restaurant with great hospitality and good food..
So, our stay in Drenthe was great.
We are sure that we will stay at Buytenhof again in the future.
Henk and Simone, keep on doing the good work !

Kristien & Dirk

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Het Buytenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 25 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I don't know if you really should call this a hotel. This is more like your dream home, where all you wished to have in your house has been magically realized.
The location: in a lovely part of Zweeloo with old beech trees you will find the Buytenhof, a typical dutch villa set in an extensive manicured garden. It is not so easy to find, but the entrance panel pinpoints it. Our night arrival was illuminated by garden candles and dedicated outdoor lamps. This allowed us to reach the parking in the back on a lovely gravel path without damage.
The duplex rooms have been well described by the previous reviewers, let me say I was astonished by the amount of material lying around for your perusal: books (soooo many), games, artifacts, information... The wifi is working well and is really fast.
The breakfast is NOT a buffet, it is served at the main table by the host and includes 3 courses! It is simply delicious.
Price of 86 EUR is very reasonable

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

this is a real hidden gem.the lovely renovated old house has 4 beautiful rooms with kitchenette,bathroom and a upstairs bedroom(can be a problem for certain people)but if you don"t mind the stairs it is a lovely getaway for a few days.
the very professional and lovely hosts, make you feel at home and yet don"t intervere with your privacy.
every morning of our 3 day stay, we had a different gourmet breakfast,served as in a 5 star restaurant, in the cosy,elegant breakfast-room.
the kitchenette and bathroom had all the aminities you can think off.
the location is great, lots of biking and walking possibilties.we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieuwke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed here for the second time and like last year we very much enjoyed the personal touch of the owners Simone and Henk. Clean, well equipped apartments, well suited for self catering are a treat to stay in. The lovely garden, very well maintained, is there for relaxation and tranquility. The breakfast prepared each day by Simone and served by Henk is the best way to start your day. Most of it cooked fresh by Simone each day. We played a golf tournament in the northern provinces of the Netherlands and the Buytenhof is a perfect place to reach all of the fine places within the hour. The Gelpenberg Golf club is within 5 minutes reach and host some spectacular holes. You won't be disappointed, but check the weather.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Stayed here with friends during NYE. We had the luxury that we had the B&B for ourselves.
The rooms where spacious and tasteful furnitured. Especially the breakfast was a welcome surprise each morning. Being used to a lot of hotels worldwide this breakfast was the best we ever had.
Also the tips from Henk & Simone where to go, suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadouAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Zweeloo, Drenthe : Guest-house Het Buytenhof
Date : August 1st, 2008
Reviewer : Belgian couple who visited in June 2008

If you plan to go to Drenthe, then stay at this magnificent B&B ! The house is a real gem, the garden wonderful and large as a park and the accommodation spacious and very tastefully decorated. And breakfast exceeds the quality of a five-star hotel !
You really cannot find any better ...
We will definitely go there again and are already looking forward to it very much.

Thank pbmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

What do you say about a beutifully renovated Farmhouse that stands in it own grounds. Where the rooms are nothing short of the most tastefully presented small apartments with lounge area, bedroom and ensuite. The hosts Simone and Henk provided the most outstanding 3 course served breakfasts.
This property is the best we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zweeloo
14.3 mi away
DroomHotel 't Heinenhoes
5.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast "bij Saar"
Bed & Breakfast "bij Saar"
#1 of 1 in Zwinderen
4 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kasteel Coevorden Hotel de Vlijt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bed and Breakfast 1874 Erm
Show Prices

Been to Het Buytenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Buytenhof

Address: Hoofdstraat 24, 7851 AA Zweeloo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Zweeloo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zweeloo
Price Range: $114 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Het Buytenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing