We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan Q and family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Spent 3 nights in Feb. 2014.
Great location and beautiful scenery.
More rustic than other lodges we visited but that is part of the beauty of the place. Wonderful food, the best we had in Costa Rica. Great young chef. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Nice fully glazed restaurant which gave good viewing of the adjacent bird life. My wife has slight walking problems and we were thankful to be given room 3 which was closest to the restaurant whereas some others are somewhat distant. We thought overall that this room gave the best bird viewing. Cold at night so make sure you take some jumpers. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 because of the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 471 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

At the end of a (too short) visit to Costa Rica we spent two nights at the Dantica Lodge. The views from our rooms were breathtaking, and it was tempting to spend all of our time watching the clouds roll over the mountains.

We were awake at sunrise to drive down into the valley and were lucky enough to see a quetzal (just look for the birders and huge cameras and binoculars, chances are they've already found what you're looking for). The road winds its way down into San Gerardo De Dota, and although it can be scary (we were happy we had a standard transmission in our car), it's worth the trek down. There is a gorgeous hike to the cataracts at the bottom of the valley.

Our rooms were perfect - coffee maker, good seating inside and out, spacious. The meals in the restaurant are delicious and the menu is good.

Because this hotel is off the beaten track, you're guaranteed to meet other adventurous travellers from all around the world. The staff is extremely helpful and they speak many languages.

Hint: there are many trout hatcheries on the rivers in the valley, so fresh trout is on the menu for many of the restaurants along the road, as well as at the Dantica.

I would strongly recommend this place. I was happy to be higher in the valley where we could overlook the hills, rather than staying down in the valley.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is located half-way down a steep track to the village of San Gerardo De Dota, providing fabulous views of the Cloud Forest on the way - we were lucky enough to see a swallow-tailed hawk soaring over the tree-tops as we left the main road. All the staff at Dantica take their lead from Nico & Mary and are committed to ensuring you have a wonderful stay - Nico insists you chill out as it's your holiday! The food in the restaurant is fantastic and the views from the lodges are superb - we saw the clouds roll in across the mountainside explaining the region's name. The walk through the forest to & from the restaurant provided a wonderful opportunity to see & hear some of the wildlife, the squirrels seemed particularly tame. The temperature drops with the sun so be prepared for cold evenings & mornings; we took gloves and hats and used them on our early morning walks. The lodges have heaters and there is abundant fuel so they are quite cosy. Carlos - the local guide who leads various tours - is a wonderful man and a fabulous spotter of wildlife - he showed us so many birds and insects that we just wouldn't have seen otherwise.

Room Tip: We were in lodge #5, 5-6 minutes walk from the restaurant along a paved path with small lights. If...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank philary1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We travelled to Cost Rica for 2 weeks in mid-November - the whole trip was absolutely incredible and Dantica lodge/the time we spent in San Gerardo de Dota really helped to make this an incredible trip.

We stayed for 4 nights and were surprised by the number of people who literally only go there for a night or two just to see the Quetsals - I'd have felt so dissappointed if I only had one night at this place.

We stayed in the Deluxe suite, which has the addition of having a log fire in the room as well as an ethanol burner (loved the log fire every night!). The juccuzi was nice too! It also has a balcony connected to a small private walk, amazing views and was generally just completely beautiful. We enjoyed having a glass of wine on the sofa, just looking out over the valley and watching the sun set at night - it was absolutely perfect! I will say it is a fair old trek to that particular room - we're young and fit and so didn't mind, but it is a good 1km away from the main entrance/dining room with quite a few steps on the trail. This was generally fine, but got more difficult when we had to leave at 5am on the last day (which is earlier than the baggage transport service they offer) and trying to get the bags along that trail was tiring!! Not Dantica's fault though - the fact that the bungalows are so far away and remote is one of the great parts about it because it means that all have fantastic views.

Carlos was a fantastic guide - he obviously loves his job and brought his son along with use to learn for the last couple of trips we had, which was a bonus all round as he could be an extra pair of eyes. We saw soooo many bird species it was a bit mind blowing, including the Quetsal and the absolutely beautiful chlorophonia really close up eating fruit from a bush (which is apparently so rare to see a group of them so close). In one morning we saw >35 different species of bird. We also saw a confused bat flying around during the day time. To be honest though, if you don't like birds this area probably isn't for you as there's not much other than birds around. For us it was a fantastic change to the two other areas we were visiting (Tortuguero and the Osa Peninsula).

The managers of the lodge were fantastic too - always happy to help.

Overall, if you want to go this area, I really can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe suite - it's a long walk from the main entrance/dining room, but it's wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chameleon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This property is located down a very picturesque road that is well worth the effort to find. The signage and directions make it easy to find and when you do you will surely be amazed at its unique beauty. It’s a stunning property and the villas are unbelievable. The views are breath taking. They grow some of their own herbs and vegetables that are used in their own kitchen, and speaking of the kitchen.. the food here is fantastic. The people working there are extremely helpful and friendly. We were met by and lovely lady and the young gentleman that worked hard to make us feel at home, they are also pretty funny and easy going folks.
I highly recommend this property for a visit.. its one of the best laces I have stayed in this area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon to Costa Rica. I had read that you reached the rooms via a winding path but I don't think I really took into account what that meant. It was a good ten minute walk from the restaurant / reception to our room and it was through the forest and even though there were lights along the pathway flashlights were still needed. I didn't like having to fend off insects flying at me every time we left the room. My fault entirely for not understanding the description properly.
There were a few things which also rankled - the safety deposit box was broken in our room so we couldn't lock valuables away. There was supposed to be wifi in all rooms but we could only get connected for one day out of the four.
There was no where to really sit and chill out other than the room as the staff only seemed to appear around mealtimes and the first day we arrived after travelling 6 hours we couldn't get anything to eat as they were doing a stocktake.
We were also unfortunate on the second day that the chef slipped and hurt his back and had to go to hospital so we ended up with a couple of chocolate bars from the minibar for dinner.
When we chose the location both my husband and I were fit and healthy but unfortunately I was still recovering from major surgery and he was getting over a chest infection before we travelled so neither of us were up to the walks within the grounds as the terrain was very hilly. Unfortunately unless you were on a paid excursion with transport it was really impossible to get anywhere without transport. We tried to arrange for a guide to take us out on our second morning there but bad luck struck again and the guide was unwell so we had no option but to hang around the grounds all day.
The main saving grace for us was Miriam's restaurant which is 200 metres (felt more like 500 to us) up the road. A lovely place where the woodpeckers, tanagers and squirrel come to the bird table.
We had deliberately booked accommodation in the area in order to increase chances of seeing the Quetzal and thankfully we were not disappointed. We joined the 05:45 tour and were taken to the wild avocado trees and after about 20 minutes the birds came to feed and I was able to take some brilliant photos - thank you to Carlos for his wonderful skills in knowing where to look for these birds.
As other reviewers have said - it can get very cold up here. We found that, depending on where the sun was our room was rather like a greenhouse - either baking hot or really quite chilly. To go to the bathroom at night I had to slip my fleece on - but, you get what you pay for and if you book accommodation in a cloud forest you have to expect the different temperatures
The staff in the restaurant were really helpful and friendly and the food was ok. I wasn't keen on the limited choice for breakfast as you chose from 5 set menus and I didn't find any of them particularly appealing.
This accommodation may well suit somebody wanting to 'get back to nature' but I am afraid that it would not be my choice if we were going back to the same area. Some more communal areas to get a coffee or juice during the day and somewhere to sit other than the room would have made a lot of difference.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that most rooms are a good ten minute walk through the forest to reception and the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived there without a reservation and they found us a room; AMAZING: the views, the service, the restaurant and the reserve were just great! We highly recommend it. It was worth every penny. There is a jacuzzy in every room, wich was very helpful to clean our 3 years old daughter who doesn't like showers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
2.4 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
279 reviews
15.2 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
17 mi away
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alto de San Juan
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: 4 Km south of the entrance to San Gerardo de Dota, San Gerardo de Dota, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $149 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge is an eco-boutique hotel, which was built between 2003 and 2008. Our hotel provides the following facilities; sleeping, restaurant, gallery, trails, tours and relaxing, combining quality and comfort in order to allow you to experience and enjoy the cloud forest in its purest form.The hotel is situated in the valley of San Gerardo de Dota. Inside the Los Santos Forest Reserve, on top of a hill with a breathtaking view and a private reserve that consists of 5 km of walking trails, Dantica is the closest hotel to the newly created Los Quetzales National Park. Nearby you can also find typical restaurants, trails, trout fishing, protected areas, National Parks and the Cerro de la Muerte, with its 3480 meters the second highest point in Costa Rica and with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and the volcanoes.The Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge consist of 8 Bungalows with a modern interior design and decorated with typical aspects of the Latin American culture, distributed in 7 Superior bungalows and one Suite, especially designed so you can enjoy contact with nature. All Bungalows have the following facilities: queen-sized beds with goose-feather duvets, Satellite television, ecological chimney working on ethanol, safe deposit box, minibar with fridge, coffee maker with coffee and tea as a courtesy of the hotel, table with chairs and a private terrace. In the bathroom you will find a Jacuzzi, towels, biodegradable soaps and shampoos, and a hair dryer.The 4-person Superior Bungalows have two bedrooms with private bathroom (one with Jacuzzi, one with shower), a terrace and a living room with a fully equipped open kitchen including stove and warm water.Our Deluxe Suite additionally has an additional fireplace working on wood and a private garden with trail in the forest. All our hot water is solar heated. The hotel distinguishes itself by its personalized attention, harmony with nature and respect for the environment. At the restaurant you can enjoy a breakfast, lunch or dinner a la carte. In our beautiful and large gallery you can buy art and handicrafts from Costa Rica and other Latin American countries.We have WIFI high speed internet service, and offer parking lots, playground for children, laundry service and tour packages with a certified bilingual guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge And Gallery Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing