We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Paradise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Secluded Paradise Hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels in CR! The design of the hotel is unique and although the structures are simple, it is a reinterpretation of colonial architecture with teja roof , white walls, adobe construction inspired and operable colorful windows, but with plenty of glass to allow you to be immersed it the beautiful surrounding. The place is very cold, so the heater and jacuzzi will warm you up.

The food in the restraunt is delicious and prices are reasonable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The property is large so you can walk around the forest and in a private reserve.

I highly recommend this hotel and going to San Gerardo de Dota because it is secluded, not too developed like Monteverde (which is great) and the area is just beautiful and untouched by human intervention. Perfect place to relax and it is still not too far from SJ to enjoy even a mini vacation even on a weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeliChinaTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    103
    49
    20
    8
See reviews for
96
269
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

an amazing place where you can disconnect from the world and be in contact with nature in a beautiful rainforest. Very good and friendly attention and delicious restaurant. The only detail that should care is the cleaning because between the sheets had hair of other guests.

un lugar increíble donde puedes desconectarte del mundo y estar en contacto con la naturaleza en un hermoso bosque lluvioso. Muy buena y amable atención y el restaurante delicioso. El único detalle que deben cuidar es la limpieza ya que entre las sábanas habían cabellos de otros huéspedes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maycarva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I spent three days at Dantica Lodge and I can honestly say they were a wonderful experience! The lodge by itself is fantastically located. There is forest all around and the bungalows are totally surround by it! There is this peaceful environment and green all around you. It is priceless indeed. The accommodations are what you need if you realize your are not going to be on a luxurious place. The luxury here is provided by the Rain Forest, the birds and magnificent views of San Gerardo Valley mountains! The Food at Le Tapir is delicious (try the avocado and shrimp entree, amazing). I will be returning again conveniently prepared to look for the Quetzal. Kudos Dantica Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jespinoza081968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful area, with impressive views and gorgeous landscapes, the overall arquitecture is pretty nice. However, we do have a few negative important remarks. The staff lacks proper training in order to offer a consumer oriented service, particularly managers seem to have other priorities rather than their guests. Rooms were not properly clean and lacks general maintenance. During our stay we ran out of water and did not receive any notice about possible problems affecting the service nor any potential solutions to this problem. Finally, even when they offered amenities such as satellite tv, during our 2 day visit the service did not work. The restaurant offers good food but overpriced. In conclusion, we will go back to this area but not to this hotel, since there are several other options that seem to better match price and service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dantica, Propietario at Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Roger, off course we are very sorry to hear that and sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We had a storm in San Gerardo that weekend and it rained a lot. Because of this, our water supply got damaged as well as the satellite dish for the Forest Bungalows. The water was repaired the following day, but for the satellite we had to wait 3 days, until Monday, before they sent a team to adjust the disk again. Those things can happen any moment and I am confident you also understand that, but in that case you should have been told and explained by our managers; that is our policy and I will definitely see into it, so it would not happen again, because it is something we take very serious. Our restaurant has reasonable rates for Costa Rican standards, and I am pleased to hear you liked our meals. We are a small Lodge, orientated on the personal attention of our guests, and I hope you will give us a second change to prove that. Best regards, Joost Wilms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the lodge. Amazing room, magical surroundings, superb food, friendly staff, great hiking trails, access to waterfalls and quetzals! What's not to love!
Be prepared for cool, rainy weather, but it is sunny in the mornings and it is gorgeous. Try the flan de café.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Dantica Lodge, and really wished we'd booked longer. The owners were friendly and helpful, as were the other staff. Food was absolutely delicious. The lodge was lovely, especially having the little fires and amazing views with full wall windows. Don't think you need the TVs!! Only downside was a less-than-enthusiastic guide, Carlos - personally I wouldn't recommend a trip with him, although others seemed to have found him more engaging and informative. Perhaps we just caught him on a bad day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snigglybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful Hotel and area. It was the perfect place to get out of San Jose and spend the night with my girlfriend. The accomidations are 1st class. Awesome views and a great Jacuzzi. Be prepared to walk a bit. The rooms are fairly far from the main lodge. Everyone was very accomodating and friendly. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rogerrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
2.4 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
30.6 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
15.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: 4 Km south of the entrance to San Gerardo de Dota, San Gerardo de Dota, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge is an eco-boutique hotel, which was built between 2003 and 2008. Our hotel provides the following facilities; sleeping, restaurant, gallery, trails, tours and relaxing, combining quality and comfort in order to allow you to experience and enjoy the cloud forest in its purest form.The hotel is situated in the valley of San Gerardo de Dota. Inside the Los Santos Forest Reserve, on top of a hill with a breathtaking view and a private reserve that consists of 5 km of walking trails, Dantica is the closest hotel to the newly created Los Quetzales National Park. Nearby you can also find typical restaurants, trails, trout fishing, protected areas, National Parks and the Cerro de la Muerte, with its 3480 meters the second highest point in Costa Rica and with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and the volcanoes.The Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge consist of 8 Bungalows with a modern interior design and decorated with typical aspects of the Latin American culture, distributed in 7 Superior bungalows and one Suite, especially designed so you can enjoy contact with nature. All Bungalows have the following facilities: queen-sized beds with goose-feather duvets, Satellite television, ecological chimney working on ethanol, safe deposit box, minibar with fridge, coffee maker with coffee and tea as a courtesy of the hotel, table with chairs and a private terrace. In the bathroom you will find a Jacuzzi, towels, biodegradable soaps and shampoos, and a hair dryer.The 4-person Superior Bungalows have two bedrooms with private bathroom (one with Jacuzzi, one with shower), a terrace and a living room with a fully equipped open kitchen including stove and warm water.Our Deluxe Suite additionally has an additional fireplace working on wood and a private garden with trail in the forest. All our hot water is solar heated. The hotel distinguishes itself by its personalized attention, harmony with nature and respect for the environment. At the restaurant you can enjoy a breakfast, lunch or dinner a la carte. In our beautiful and large gallery you can buy art and handicrafts from Costa Rica and other Latin American countries.We have WIFI high speed internet service, and offer parking lots, playground for children, laundry service and tour packages with a certified bilingual guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge And Gallery Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing