We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above the Clouds!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I visited Dantica Lodge as part of our 3 weeks in Costa Rica on the recommendation of a neighbour and it turned out to be one of the best recommendations we received!
From the moment we arrived we felt like we were in a different country. We were literally above the clouds!
This was just the start though as were were led through the forest to our lodge high up in the oak trees with magnificent views through the huge windows which take up a whole wall in the lodge. The views are amazing and the quiet was such a relief after 3 days in San Jose!
After dinner in the stylish restaurant (we both had the trout- fantastic!) we wandered back to our solitude in the forest and lit the fire place (which burns ethanol- it was a nice touch) and sat in the jacuzzi to wind off the day. And another plus, there were NO MOSQUITOES here. Apparently it is too high for them at 2500m!
The following morning we did a Quetzal tour which was led by a local guide who knew nearly every bird flying past. He was very patient and entertaining using recordings of bird calls on his phone to call the Quetzals in the trees. It must of worked because we saw 3 of these beautiful birds!
We highly recommend this special place for a couple of days of something really different in Costa Rica. Thank you for a wonderful experience. Hope to be back some day!

Room Tip: There are rooms near the reception and there are rooms which we stayed in higher up the mountain whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carleton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 473 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Dantica Lodge. Does not sound like much, does it? Let me explain to you that this lodge is posibly one of the jewels of the area called San Gerardo de Dota. A region famous for its top quality coffee and also for the entrepreneurs that started the idea that apples could be grown in the tropics along with rainbow trout that could be harvested in farm like ponds. Along with these 2 elements another jewel for the crown is that if you are into birds as I am (Look me up in www.smallgroupstravel.com) you will certainly enjoy the presence of the ever so elusive Quetzal. In this myriad of colors within the cloud forest is one of the best hidden treasures of all who wish to find the Quetzal. There in San Gerardo you can see them without the hours of pain taking of long walks and long waiting. So as you come into this area after maybe visiting the lower pacific coast and bound for the capitol, San Jose, why not stop there for a day or 2?
What awaits you is simply wonderful. A nice lodge that sits motionless within time. This is not your conventional lodge of rustic homes or houses but of authentic farm like homes as they were many years ago, in that decade of the early 20´s or 30´s. It is like taking a backward step into time. The atmosphere is of the most authentic that you can find. Something that I feel as a guide we are loosing against the major hotels. The food there is superb or what I would describe as the 4 B´s. You might just ask what are the 4 B´s, right ? Well for me this 30 year old tour guide the 4 B´s stand for Bueno, Bonito, Barato and Bastante in what relates to as food. Do not let this out of your agenda if you decide to come to my wonderful country.
Pura Vida!!!

Room Tip: Rise and shine early in the morning so as to get to see the ever so elusive quetzal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It's a bit complicated to describe my feelings about this lodge. The rooms are so beautiful, the view from it is wonderful. Here you will find absolute privacy. But the weather is cold and you need to heat up the modern fireplace constantly (september), which doesn't bring you the 'Costa Rican feeling'. Also there are SO many annoying mosquitoes/small flies... amazing. They don't bite, they are just a big pain in the ass.

So, let's start from the beginning. On our arrival we met Carlos, instead of the owner. We didn't meet or see the owner at all, though I had nice contact with him by email. I think it is very important to welcome your guests and be a warm host to them. We missed such a person at Dantica. Though the other staff was quite friendly, they hardly spoke English and so we didn't know who to turn to.

Our room was cold, but it had just about everything you can wish for, including minibar and jacuzzi. Though it was all perfect, it also is very European... And that goes for the rest of it. The restaurant is super modern, displaying all kinds of art, with very modern interior. The food is very European too... it's delicious though. But served on all kinds of nice dishes... small portions... chic... So you see, it's close to perfection but it has no charm at all. I think that's it, the place lacks a great deal of charm, starting with the absence of the owner.

So we began each morning with a nice cup of tea in our room and heating up the fireplace. At breakfast, lunch or dinner they ran out of ingredients all the time so each time we had a limited choice. On our second day we went to Cerro de la Muerte with Carlos. I chose a different tour, but the owner told me (by email) we would simply love this one. It was much more expensive, but lasted longer and of course he convinced us, since he knows what's worthwhile and what's not. We drove up to almost 3.500 metres from where the walk downwards began.

It took us almost 5 hours to come down to the lodge, which pleased us because we like walking a lot. But this tour was more like how fast can we get back? There was not much to see... the more we descended, the more we were convinced the tour would actually start, but it just never happened. We were happily surprised to find out our guide Carlos was much into birds and on his phone with speakers he had all sorts of bird sounds to call and attract birds, which was very nice... at the beginning. But after a while we got so extremely tired from his non-stopping whistling and loud sounds from his mouth and the continuously clapping in his hands to stop the mosquitoes from flying around his head. There is nothing wrong with Carlos, I think he is quite intelligent, but he just lacks charm... like the rest of this lodge. Nice thing though was that he took some pictures of us on top of the mountain and sent us a panorama by email when we got back. I think we paid 2x 60 dollar plus 1x 40 for transportation to the top, so 160 dollar for a 5 hours tour which we didn't like. Sure, we saw birds, but nothing spectacular and nothing else. Also we just don't like this part of the country much. I have seen so much more beauty than over here.

When we got back, we were quite hungry but we had to wait for about half an hour because there was a camera crew in the restaurant, which was no problem of course. We enjoyed a spectacular carrot cream soup (they ran out of union soup), it was absolutely delicious. Both vegetarian pastas were lovely (but not the best we had so far) and desert again was heavenly (passionfruit panna cotta). They ran out of fried ice cream, but there was just plain ice cream (didn't quite get that), which was okay. Today the room had not been cleaned, we only got some fresh towels which we didn't need.

After our late lunch we went up the hill to our room. Ours was one on the far end. If you are in less condition, I would recommend to ask for a room nearby the restaurant because it takes at least 5 minutes uphill and is tiring, especially since the mosquitoes/flies bother you constantly on the way.

Next morning we went for the Quetzal tour with amigo Carlos. At first we didn't quite understand because we had to go by our own car, driving behind Carlos. Then it became clear, when he picked up two other people from another lodge. It was a very nice couple, Dutch people. We looked for the beautiful Quetzal for 2 hours but didn't find any. It took the Dutch couple only ten minutes to get tired of Carlos' endless Quetzal whistle... It was of course a bit disappointing we didn't spot the bird, but that's nature. And Carlos was kind enough to email us two very nice pictures of the Quetzal. What bothered me more was that we paid more than the other couple for this tour, though they got a ride from Carlos and we had to drive by ourselves.

When we left the lodge and had to pay the bill, we did so with the cook. He was kind, but it was the first time we saw him and so it felt a bit weird... we definitely missed a personal touch.

Bottom line is that we would not visit the Dantica lodge again. From the many beautiful lodges and guesthouses we visited during our month traveling in Costa Rica we liked Dantica the least (sorry to say so). It's a bit complicated, because there is actually nothing wrong with the place and maybe we had a bit of a bad experience. But yes, it definitely lacks charm, Costa Rican charm. And that's what we want when visiting Costa Rica, right?

Room Tip: If you don't feel like climbing uphill all the time, ask a room which is nearby the restaurant o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groenepepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I left our son with a relative and took advantage of a long holiday weekend in October. We found the perfect place for it. Just by browsing their web page we knew that was it. The rooms: since Dantica is un higher grounds than most of the Hotels in San Gerardo, the view is S P E C T A C U L A R from ALL of the rooms and the restaurant. They are all tastefully decorated with latinamercan art and modern furniture (ikea plays a big roll here). Our villa had two rooms and a living area adjacent to a balcony. All the indoor spaces are equipped with alcohol fuel wall space heaters. They didn't smell, but they do steam up the windows quite a bit. We helped too. The beds were cozy and they had an ikea #5 duvet, so they are pretty warm. The living area has a super comfortable sofa, minibar, kitchenette and table and a killer view to the mountains.
The restaurant: we had breakfast and dinner there. Be sure to make a reservation before 5pm, though. The venue is a glass house with a great view. A nice dim lit ambiance at night and bright invigorating natural light for breakfast. The food is awesome. I was pleasantly surprised by the French cuisine fusion with Local ingredients and flavours. We had one on one service from Michael, the chef, who even shared a couple of cooking tips with us. Forget about casados for dinner. They have a good selection of fish (rainbow trout), poultry, beef and freshly made pasta. We dined there two nights and tried the pasta and the fish: yumm! The desserts were also to die for.
The gallery. Dantica has its own Latin American arts and crafts with a wiiiide range of prices ($1 up to $1000), but their merchandise is unique. I've prowled through a lot of souvenir stores to say this. I just hope they trade fairly with the artists and artisans they buy from.

All in all our stay was wonderful. I highly recommend it! If you're not too crazy about the typical rustic look and feel of places in CR, this boutique hotel will greet you with charm, warmth and good taste.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpiCritic_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed There on the recommendation of a friend was a GREAT choice...Romantic, Quiet in the middle of the Cloud Forest . The Views were unreal, the weather was perfect and the service outstanding . If i would have known about this place and how close it was to san Jose i would have been here a lot sooner...I will be back...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was the second leg of our Feb trip. After Osa, we stayed at Dantica in the Talamanca Mtns. Intention was to finally see the male Queztal. We had a very private cottage with a view of the mountains - it couldn't have been more cozy and romantic. The Dantica restaurant is much more upscale than most places we've stayed - our main objective is usually wildlife. The food was delicious and the staff was lovely. Our first birding tour with Carlos was looking a little grim as he had not sighted any Queztal that morning and was not happy about it at all! But we set out anyway around 1pm along the river and spotted many small species. Then we went closer to the river near a new Quetzal nest and suddenly I saw the female. We viewed her for a few minutes and then the male arrived!! We then spent over an hour photographing and videoing him - it was unprecedented! Carlos was amazed that he stuck around so long - we saw him very close up, on the ground feeding, and on various perches. This was a dream come true! After that, we celebrated with some beer and viewing hummingbirds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dantica for three nights in early March and enjoyed it immensely. Since we were not renting a car in Costa Rica, we opted for the all-inclusive four-day adventure package which included transportation to and from San Jose, and it was absolutely worth it. All meals were included and every one was outstanding. Luis(I think) waited on us generally and he was delightful. Andre and Marie, the hosts, were always helpful and entertaining to talk to. All the staff was gracious and polite at all times. We stayed in the suite and it is indeed the farthest of all rooms from the restaurant and gallery, but the room is very nice, the view spectacular and the hike really isn't too bad at all. I'm 67 and my wife is 60 and we managed it quite well. The all inclusive package included a hike from near the top of Cerro de la Muerte down to the Hotel Savegre and Rio Spa, massage included, a distance of 12-13km. The weather when we started was atrocious, rain and wind about 60kph, but it improved dramatically the further down the mountain we went. Our guide, Carlos, was excellent and was able to give us the scientific and common names of anything we asked about. The following day Carlos took us in search of Quetzals and we found the male near the trout tanks just before he went in for his turn on the nest. We spent several more hours bird watching and, while we are not birders, we both enjoyed it quite a bit and saw a lot of birds that I know we would have missed on our own and certainly could not have identified. The next day we went for a hike on one of the trails on the property, missed a turn and ended up down by the Rio Savegre, where Carlos had said was the best trout fishing. The hike turned out to be quite a bit more than we planned on and we were about 30 minutes late getting back for our drive back to San Jose.

Anyone who thinks of visiting this area needs to be aware that San Gerardo de Dota is not really a town or even a village, but a several km long area with about 4 places to stay and maybe 5 places to eat. Other than the gallery at Dantica and the small gift shop at Hotel Savegre, there is no shopping. It is a place of great peace and solitude and is a truly beautiful spot in a beautiful country. We hope to visit here again and we will stay at Dantica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLMskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
2.4 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
668 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
279 reviews
15.2 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
15.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: 4 Km south of the entrance to San Gerardo de Dota, San Gerardo de Dota, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $149 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge is an eco-boutique hotel, which was built between 2003 and 2008. Our hotel provides the following facilities; sleeping, restaurant, gallery, trails, tours and relaxing, combining quality and comfort in order to allow you to experience and enjoy the cloud forest in its purest form.The hotel is situated in the valley of San Gerardo de Dota. Inside the Los Santos Forest Reserve, on top of a hill with a breathtaking view and a private reserve that consists of 5 km of walking trails, Dantica is the closest hotel to the newly created Los Quetzales National Park. Nearby you can also find typical restaurants, trails, trout fishing, protected areas, National Parks and the Cerro de la Muerte, with its 3480 meters the second highest point in Costa Rica and with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and the volcanoes.The Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge consist of 8 Bungalows with a modern interior design and decorated with typical aspects of the Latin American culture, distributed in 7 Superior bungalows and one Suite, especially designed so you can enjoy contact with nature. All Bungalows have the following facilities: queen-sized beds with goose-feather duvets, Satellite television, ecological chimney working on ethanol, safe deposit box, minibar with fridge, coffee maker with coffee and tea as a courtesy of the hotel, table with chairs and a private terrace. In the bathroom you will find a Jacuzzi, towels, biodegradable soaps and shampoos, and a hair dryer.The 4-person Superior Bungalows have two bedrooms with private bathroom (one with Jacuzzi, one with shower), a terrace and a living room with a fully equipped open kitchen including stove and warm water.Our Deluxe Suite additionally has an additional fireplace working on wood and a private garden with trail in the forest. All our hot water is solar heated. The hotel distinguishes itself by its personalized attention, harmony with nature and respect for the environment. At the restaurant you can enjoy a breakfast, lunch or dinner a la carte. In our beautiful and large gallery you can buy art and handicrafts from Costa Rica and other Latin American countries.We have WIFI high speed internet service, and offer parking lots, playground for children, laundry service and tour packages with a certified bilingual guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge And Gallery Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing