We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 Year Old's Review - Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
“8 Year Old's Review - Awesome”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Trogen Lodge is a great place to stay. There is a zip line, it is awesome. There is horse back riding as well as a quetzal tour. There is a game room... What could be better?!!? Never mind the trout farm - Cause it is totally totally awesome. If you catch a trout and it is bleeding, you have to eat it for dinner. So beware, if you don't like trout, don't catch it. There is a nice trail with a water fall. The water fall is 11 degrees Celsius (52 Fahrenheit). If you ever go to Costa Rica go to Trogen Lodge.
-Liam M. (age 8)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    143
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
133
330
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a great and nice place. The landscape is amazing. There are some trails around the property. The food is good for the price and the bar is really nice and serves good drinks. Service is good and rooms are clean.
The cons are only that the rooms are not well isolated and the bird watch tour is overpriced (even if it is cool).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful retreat in the mountains. The grounds are taken care of perfectly. Flowers and beautiful plants everywhere. If you like Hummingbirds then this is your place. They are all over. The cabin was wonderful, the food was amazing. I had their trout which they have in a pond out front. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We went on the Quetzel tour at 5:30 in the morning. The guide was able to make Quetzel calls and knew where to find them feeding. We saw 2 males and 2 females. What a beautiful bird. He also pointed out many different species of birds along the way. It was so nice and cool in the mountains, which was a perfect change from the lower elevations. I hope to go back here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron_Jessica2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wonderful family fun here! The guides are friendly and helpful, showing you birds, waterfalls, jungle tours by horseback and/or hiking. We loved the room, the comforts of the lodge, and the breakfasts by the hummingbird feeders. The beauty of this place is beyond description. The dinner menu is limited, but we were never disappointed with the food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horsey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to eat, stay and be around nature. The road is a little difficult to access but the place is absolutely beautiful. I'd only hoped the restaurant had more choices. Definitely a great place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Ricardo A,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you thoroughlly enjoyed your visit at Trogon Lodge.
Trogon Lodge is, as you have seen, a Cloud Forest in the highlands of San Gerardo de Dota and located in a quiet and peaceful valley, surrounded by impressive mountains and the colors of the forest. To Get here you do have to take a deviation of 7 km from the main road, and on this 7 km you go 1000 meters down the road in order to get to the Valley, of course that results in windy, narrow roads down the mountain. Gladly, the area is accesible in any kind of car but we do advise on driving on day time and using the strong shifts of the vehicle.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed a nice weekend with us and we appreciate your taking the time to write about us. Please come back soon, we would be delighted to have you here.
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Alone the driveway down to the Lodge makes it worth for a visit. The facility is very well maintained, comes with very comfy & roomy Bungalows, and the restaurant is serving an excellent cuisine. If you're looking for a hideout to release yor daily stress, go to Trogon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German_Saxonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
dear German_Saxinia,
Thank you! We are so thrilled your say with us was an enjoyable one and appreciate your taking the time to share your impressions with fellow travelers.
All of our staff appreciates your kinds words.
Muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at Trogon Lodge and couldn't have been more pleased. Our 2 week trip focused mostly on birding, and this place is a birders paradise for sure. We saw Quetzals every day, once right outside our room. The place is pristine, with gorgeous gardens that attract birds and butterflies. We found several new birds just sitting on our balcony. The staff is hard-working and amazing, and include little extras, like towels sculptures on bed, and hot water bottles for the cold evenings. The cooler air was so welcome after the heat and humidity of Drake Bay. Our only slight complaint was with the dinners, served buffet style, which weren't particularly good. Other meals were fine. And we didn't have a car, which put us at a disadvantage, as lots of the trails and good birding are 2 plus miles down the road. But, the lodge was a bit of heaven...we loved our time there and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We loved #11! Great views and birding right from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
764 reviews
30.9 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
149 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
164 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
0.5 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Property: Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing