We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beauty, great staff, but off the path and not for everyone.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is absolutely one of the most beautiful locations I have EVER seen. You can follow me as a senior contributor and know this not a small feat. The staff and setting and rooms are unreal beautiful. But dont go here if you dont know what to expect. It is COLD here. I'm from Michigan, mind you. Muy frio! If you are a birder, this is a can't miss. The food is excellent. But, there is NO where else to go. Dinner is a set menu as is lunch. No comidas tipico. It is a looooong rugged drive, but worth it! Just know the showers wont stay warm long and they bring you a hot water bottle to warm your bed before bedtime. The short hiking trails are soooo beautiful and the trout ponds are very cool.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caveman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 636 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

it takes to get here, but the reward is great, trogon lodge is situated in a beautifull garden with flowers year around, the rooms are really good, there is heating and when the night gets really cold (yo are at 2200 meter) they provide you with hot-water bottels. the connected restaurant serves lovely diner and the breakfast is big and good. there are possiblilities to walk some trails and when you are lucky maybe you see the quetzal, there is a bar and a lot of places to sit down and watch the kolobries, just check ik out.

Room Tip: the rooms are build on a small hill, but if you need help, the staff helps you wirh your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear visitor,
It is a wonderful surprise to know you were visiting from Hanga Roa, Rapa Nui! Wow! I know its a smal community and it is such a great pleasure to know you selected Costa Rica (and the Trogon Lodge) For your vacation. A great honor, thank you!
We are delighted to hear it was a great experience for you all along, and we will make sure to convey your immpresions with our staff. Everybody here, our small team, works hard to provide a good, personalized, satisfactory experience and it is wonderful to know when we achieve our goal.
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience.
Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

In 2013 we took a family trip to Costa Rica to visit family and friends. My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days and we are so glad we chose to stay at Trogon Lodge! It was quiet and peaceful. Although we did not take advantage of the numerous activities the lodge offered (bird watches, zip lines, tours, etc.), we did go on quite a few fun hikes. The restaurant was buffet-style and had the most incredible food! The grounds are gorgeous with the landscaping is marvelous. There are so many different kinds of plants and flowers everywhere! The cabin was beautiful. The evenings were pretty chilly, so we were delighted when a few employees arrived at our cabin right before dinner to deliver hot water bottles to warm up our bed. Those, along with the little fire place, kept our little cabin warm and cozy. The day we left, our children came and went on a hike with us. We decided the next time we'll be staying at the lodge as a family. The kids LOVED it! It is SO much fun and such a beautiful, literally breath-taking location. We absolutely loved it, will be recommending it to everyone, and we will DEFINITELY be going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin #8. The shower was a little challenging, but it gave us a good laugh and a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klutchy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear visitor,
Thank you so much for your candid review. We are so delighted to hear from you and to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be really delighted to hear about your comments, as these are the engine that keeps us wanting to work harder and better each day for our clients. Thank you!
I will make sure to look into the shower on room #8 to see what challenges it is giving us our guests
Thank you and pura vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked two nights at Trogon Lodge, I had on my bucked list to visit this area of San Gerardo de Dota and we really had a great great time! On arrival we were received by Adriana, she works at the Front Desk, she explained every detail of the property! The rooms are separated, surrounded by such beautiful flowers, birds and hummingbirds are your real neighboors! Next day we took the trail to the waterfall, my kids enjoy it and on the way back we saw a female quetzal that leave us speachless... We had dinner and breakfast, great treats for all my family, good coffee, good salads and fish was delicious. They spoiled us so much that at night the staff turns on a heater and give us hot water bags to keep our rooms and body warm. I sleep like a baby dreaming with his grandparents! Also I need to mention Michael, he works at the bar and we really enjoyed playing Jengga and music at an old Rockola! This is really a haven for all travelers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joscuahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear joscuahe,
All of us at Trogon Lodge are delighted to know your experience was memorable. We will make sure that Adriana, Michael and all the staff knows about the good service they are providing. We are definitely happy to have them on our team.
We truly enjoying hearing about our guest's experiences and its a great pleasure to know your family enjoyed the birdis, the food and the activities.
Come back soon!
Pura vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Where do we start? Arriving in the dark, down an amazing dirt track with hairpin bends, we arrived at this beautiful 'Garden of Eden'. Daylight revealed the sheer stunning beauty of the location and setting of the lodge. Delightful cabins, every comfort - including heater and hot water bottles for the cold nights! A truly welcoming atmosphere, the guide was superb and the variety of birdlife wonderful - the highlight being the Resplendent Quetzal!
We felt we would have liked to stay longer. All the staff worked together to make our stay a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy and Denni... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Wendy and Dennis,
Thank you so much for putting a smile on our faces! We are so delighted to hear you had an excellent experience while staying with us. It is great to know you saw the Quetzal, enjoyed our family run business and peacefulness of the area.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us!.
Muchas gracias & pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I are big naturalist/birders and have put some thought into this Savegre Valley / San Gerardo de Dota area. There are several options of where to stay. We particularly like Trogon Lodge because it is located right at the base of the descending mountain range, at the crook/top of the Savegre River valley. Because of that, the property also includes an amazing series of gorgeous, wild, extensive hiking trails along the rivers as well as up into the surrounding hills. The lodge feels anchored, at the very edge of the mountain canyons. And what a beautiful place they have created in that nook--spectacular garden plantings that attract the birds, together with some of the nicest trout farming ponds in the valley. You can then head out, on foot, across the valley on mostly a level path.

It is fantastic how trout are farmed in the Savegre Valley. Because of the high elevation and cool temperatures, the river is a continuous source of cold, trout-friendly water (I'm a fish biologist in my other life...). Trogon Lodge diverts a small fraction of the Savegre River, to pour sequentially through their 5+ beautiful trout ponds, returning the water back to the river and growing delicious, huge trout in the process. It's amazing to see, and that's where the star meat on the menu comes from--talk about 'local produce'!

There are two premier places to stay in this valley--here at Trogon or several km down valley at the much larger, more established Savegre Lodge. Savegre is great, they have some trails, they have very nice grounds. But the location is more wide-open in the valley, and the place just feels huge and institutional. Trogon is far more intimate, with a series of duplex cabins that each have spectacular views.

Trogon, like Savegre, has a nice dining area and 3 meals a day available. They are mostly buffet style and excellent. My only complaint is that the default seating arrangement is geared toward privacy rather than forced companionship--which we prefer. You can opt out of any of the meals, and many do this for lunches in particular, when you can be exploring out to other parts of the valley. If you are moderately fit, you can easily walk the valley from this location.

Be warned: there are other lodges claiming to be 'in' San Gerardo de Dota besides Trogon and Savegre. A couple of them are way, way up a hellishly steep series of switchbacks, thousands of feet higher elevation and effectively isolated from the Savegre Valley.

Most people drive themselves here, but it is fine to go to by bus, using the route south on the Pan American Highway toward San Isidro del General. Trogon staff will come get you--be sure to tell your bus driver to let you off at 'kilometro ochenta'. Rogelio, the Trogon bartender, picked us up and was hilarious and very fun to travel down with.

Oh yes, the birds! This is a great base from which to find a pile of higher elevation and transition Pacific Slope species, including of course the hummers, trogon/quetzals, tanagers, and a bunch of very cool ground finches and many others. Great place. We stayed 4 days in each of 2 widely separated years and had a spectacular time each visit.

Room Tip: Every single cabin is beautiful, but if you want the treat of having the most remote cabin, at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Down a very steep dirt road lies one of the best birding sites headed south on the Pan Am highway. Very mountainous, delightful cabins, zip line, early morning quetzal searches. The hummingbird variety at the feeders by the dining room is amazing. Flowers galore.

Room Tip: It is a climb to most all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRG1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear MRG1024,
We are delighted to hear from you and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to write and share your opinions with other travelers.
San Gerardo de Dota is a birdwatcher's haven! More than 175 species have been identified in the area, including the beautiful Resplendent Quetzal that resides here year round, along with the hummingbirds, trogons and some many others that we see here. It is great to know that you enjoyed your birdwatching experience here.
Thanks again for visiting!.
Have a wonderfu day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
783 reviews
30.9 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
152 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
406 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $141 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing