We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wendy & Dennis S” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wendy & Dennis S”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Where do we start? Arriving in the dark, down an amazing dirt track with hairpin bends, we arrived at this beautiful 'Garden of Eden'. Daylight revealed the sheer stunning beauty of the location and setting of the lodge. Delightful cabins, every comfort - including heater and hot water bottles for the cold nights! A truly welcoming atmosphere, the guide was superb and the variety of birdlife wonderful - the highlight being the Resplendent Quetzal!
We felt we would have liked to stay longer. All the staff worked together to make our stay a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy and Denni... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Wendy and Dennis,
Thank you so much for putting a smile on our faces! We are so delighted to hear you had an excellent experience while staying with us. It is great to know you saw the Quetzal, enjoyed our family run business and peacefulness of the area.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us!.
Muchas gracias & pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    134
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
118
312
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I are big naturalist/birders and have put some thought into this Savegre Valley / San Gerardo de Dota area. There are several options of where to stay. We particularly like Trogon Lodge because it is located right at the base of the descending mountain range, at the crook/top of the Savegre River valley. Because of that, the property also includes an amazing series of gorgeous, wild, extensive hiking trails along the rivers as well as up into the surrounding hills. The lodge feels anchored, at the very edge of the mountain canyons. And what a beautiful place they have created in that nook--spectacular garden plantings that attract the birds, together with some of the nicest trout farming ponds in the valley. You can then head out, on foot, across the valley on mostly a level path.

It is fantastic how trout are farmed in the Savegre Valley. Because of the high elevation and cool temperatures, the river is a continuous source of cold, trout-friendly water (I'm a fish biologist in my other life...). Trogon Lodge diverts a small fraction of the Savegre River, to pour sequentially through their 5+ beautiful trout ponds, returning the water back to the river and growing delicious, huge trout in the process. It's amazing to see, and that's where the star meat on the menu comes from--talk about 'local produce'!

There are two premier places to stay in this valley--here at Trogon or several km down valley at the much larger, more established Savegre Lodge. Savegre is great, they have some trails, they have very nice grounds. But the location is more wide-open in the valley, and the place just feels huge and institutional. Trogon is far more intimate, with a series of duplex cabins that each have spectacular views.

Trogon, like Savegre, has a nice dining area and 3 meals a day available. They are mostly buffet style and excellent. My only complaint is that the default seating arrangement is geared toward privacy rather than forced companionship--which we prefer. You can opt out of any of the meals, and many do this for lunches in particular, when you can be exploring out to other parts of the valley. If you are moderately fit, you can easily walk the valley from this location.

Be warned: there are other lodges claiming to be 'in' San Gerardo de Dota besides Trogon and Savegre. A couple of them are way, way up a hellishly steep series of switchbacks, thousands of feet higher elevation and effectively isolated from the Savegre Valley.

Most people drive themselves here, but it is fine to go to by bus, using the route south on the Pan American Highway toward San Isidro del General. Trogon staff will come get you--be sure to tell your bus driver to let you off at 'kilometro ochenta'. Rogelio, the Trogon bartender, picked us up and was hilarious and very fun to travel down with.

Oh yes, the birds! This is a great base from which to find a pile of higher elevation and transition Pacific Slope species, including of course the hummers, trogon/quetzals, tanagers, and a bunch of very cool ground finches and many others. Great place. We stayed 4 days in each of 2 widely separated years and had a spectacular time each visit.

Room Tip: Every single cabin is beautiful, but if you want the treat of having the most remote cabin, at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Down a very steep dirt road lies one of the best birding sites headed south on the Pan Am highway. Very mountainous, delightful cabins, zip line, early morning quetzal searches. The hummingbird variety at the feeders by the dining room is amazing. Flowers galore.

Room Tip: It is a climb to most all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRG1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MRG1024,
We are delighted to hear from you and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to write and share your opinions with other travelers.
San Gerardo de Dota is a birdwatcher's haven! More than 175 species have been identified in the area, including the beautiful Resplendent Quetzal that resides here year round, along with the hummingbirds, trogons and some many others that we see here. It is great to know that you enjoyed your birdwatching experience here.
Thanks again for visiting!.
Have a wonderfu day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lush, cloudforesty grounds positively infested with hummingbirds. Almost every ornamental planting in their gorgeously landscaped grounds caters to these little buggers, and in February they were everywhere. Many other birds (and, of course the Quetzal, that the morning birdwatch guide was skilled in locating.) Wonderful, luxe-feeling rooms with hardwood floors and very nice high-quality beds/baths, thoughtful extras like finding hot-water bottles had been slipped between the bedsheets when we returned from dinner, and rocking chairs on the porches. Lovely restaurant, buffet-style meals well worth the money. You can watch them pull the trout from the ponds before lunch! Our 6 and 8-yo kids adored this place, running all over the winding up-and-down paths like a roller coaster, poking in the stream, climbing the garden boulder, watching the various-sized trout in the ponds and the hummingbirds in the flowers. I honestly felt like if we'd paid double it would have been worth it! The price here is quite reasonable. Likewise with the meals (breakfast is included, but you pay for the others, quite worth it). A bit hard to get to and isolated, but worth the effort. Wish we had stayed longer -- the kids didn't get to do the zip lines! Next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads,NY USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were scheduled to spend only one night at the Trogon Lodge, but as soon as we drove in and saw it, even before we registered or saw our room, we decided one night would not be enough for us. Fortunately, they had a room available for two nights and we were able to change our itinerary. The place is the most beautiful spot imaginable- stunning flowers, birds, ponds, hiking trails along a river complete with waterfalls- it satisfies your soul. It would be very hard to feel stressed in this peaceful and beautiful setting. The staff members were very friendly, welcoming, and willing to do whatever they could to do to make you happy.My husband was not feeling well and didn't feel like eating much. I went over to the bar/lounge area and asked for a smoothie for him, and a staff person wanted to carry it up to our cabin for me. (Since there were lots of steps to our cabin this was very thoughtful, even though I declined the offer.)

This lodge manages to blend a rustic, nature-focused atmosphere with everything you could want to be comfortable. In the late afternoon staff brought around hot bottles for each quest to help people relax before dinner. This was especially appreciated when I had a few aches after spending a morning horseback riding (a great experience, though.) Another worthwhile venture was an early morning outing with Greivin, the manager, to see the famous quetzal. He was very patient and knowledgeable and after some looking we did get to see this magnificent bird, as well as many other species. Hummingbirds are everywhere at the Lodge- you could spend all day watching them.

The food was excellent and beautifully served, rooms were spotless, and beds very comfortable. We've been lucky to find these features in a number of places we've stayed, but none have matched the setting of the Trogan Lodge. It's a gem in a breathtaking location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmanHorseheads_NYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent four nights at the Trogon Lodge, our second stay here in the past 18 months. It was terrific all around. The rooms are clean, the food is excellent, it's just the right size for us. Lots of good hiking and birding all around the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peachcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbanna, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a one night stay at the Trogon Lodge for the last night of our 11 day trip in Costa Rica. Like others, we wish were able to stay longer!

It is truly a special place and the grounds and rooms were fantastic. One of the best places we stayed in CR.

Graivin, the manager while we were there, was great. He greeted us when we arrived, coordinated everything for us, and made us feel completely welcome during our short stay. He is a fantastic asset to this stunning cloud forest resort.

Stay more than one night, if possible. We could have explored much more and relaxed in the quiet, majestic atmosphere of San Gerardo de Dota for a few more days. It's an easy trip to/from San Jose, and we'll stopping in again on our next trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
30.9 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
5.8 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Property: Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing