We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight of our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were scheduled to spend only one night at the Trogon Lodge, but as soon as we drove in and saw it, even before we registered or saw our room, we decided one night would not be enough for us. Fortunately, they had a room available for two nights and we were able to change our itinerary. The place is the most beautiful spot imaginable- stunning flowers, birds, ponds, hiking trails along a river complete with waterfalls- it satisfies your soul. It would be very hard to feel stressed in this peaceful and beautiful setting. The staff members were very friendly, welcoming, and willing to do whatever they could to do to make you happy.My husband was not feeling well and didn't feel like eating much. I went over to the bar/lounge area and asked for a smoothie for him, and a staff person wanted to carry it up to our cabin for me. (Since there were lots of steps to our cabin this was very thoughtful, even though I declined the offer.)

This lodge manages to blend a rustic, nature-focused atmosphere with everything you could want to be comfortable. In the late afternoon staff brought around hot bottles for each quest to help people relax before dinner. This was especially appreciated when I had a few aches after spending a morning horseback riding (a great experience, though.) Another worthwhile venture was an early morning outing with Greivin, the manager, to see the famous quetzal. He was very patient and knowledgeable and after some looking we did get to see this magnificent bird, as well as many other species. Hummingbirds are everywhere at the Lodge- you could spend all day watching them.

The food was excellent and beautifully served, rooms were spotless, and beds very comfortable. We've been lucky to find these features in a number of places we've stayed, but none have matched the setting of the Trogan Lodge. It's a gem in a breathtaking location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmanHorseheads_NYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent four nights at the Trogon Lodge, our second stay here in the past 18 months. It was terrific all around. The rooms are clean, the food is excellent, it's just the right size for us. Lots of good hiking and birding all around the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a one night stay at the Trogon Lodge for the last night of our 11 day trip in Costa Rica. Like others, we wish were able to stay longer!

It is truly a special place and the grounds and rooms were fantastic. One of the best places we stayed in CR.

Graivin, the manager while we were there, was great. He greeted us when we arrived, coordinated everything for us, and made us feel completely welcome during our short stay. He is a fantastic asset to this stunning cloud forest resort.

Stay more than one night, if possible. We could have explored much more and relaxed in the quiet, majestic atmosphere of San Gerardo de Dota for a few more days. It's an easy trip to/from San Jose, and we'll stopping in again on our next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was the best, by far. When booking our trip here we tried to book three days at the other hotel but only the first two were available. This place, Trogon Lodge, looked like the best place to round out our three nights in San Gerardo de Dota. As it turned out, it was infinitely nicer than the other place. The grounds here are immaculate and extensive. The staff is friendly and the food is great. Unlike the other place (Savegre Lodge) as far as we could tell this place doesn't accomodate large bus tours, thank God. Savegre Lodge was frequently overrun by busses and tourists and the buffet line there felt like a school lunch line. Trogon was much quieter, the menus more individualized, and the mattresses much more comfortable. My advice if choosing a hotel in San Gerardo de Dota: Stay here!

Room Tip: If walking up and down a bit of a hill to get to your room is an issue for you, I'd suggest you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the trogon lodge unfortunately for a night only !!! It is a nice place with few cabins on the hill sides. A few trails to go along with waterfall, a nice lounge area with a billiard and a nice restaurant area. It is possible to take a walk to the village which is situated further down the road, where there's a nice coffee by the river. We got good informations from the personnel at the hotel and got to watch the famous quetzal early morning !!! Really worth a stop on your way to the other destinations if only for the fresh air !

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank katsuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just visited in February for the first time. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The lodge is gorgeous with beautifully landscaped gardens with trout ponds and hummingbird feeders. From the moment we arrived we were treated as special guests. The restaurant has a limited menu, but the food is excellent. You must try the trout at lunch time as you can order it 3 different ways. It was so delicious that we ate trout for lunch and dinner for 2 days. Greivin took us on a birding trip in the morning and not only did we see a variety of birds, we also saw a male and female Quetzal in nesting mode. I took great photos and it was a spectacular site. I recommend the horse back ride to the water falls/trout farm. There is a little "soda" (restaurant) near the trout farm that makes the best trout empanadas I've ever had. A little cold at night but with the hot water bottle they put in your bed (nice touch!) and the heater, you'll be fine. Don't forget to go hiking - the trails on the property are well maintained. We all had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and will return again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joychris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Trogan Lodge is a series of bungalows and building arranged on a hillside; this place fits the hilly setting and it is beautiful! Plants, trails, and trout pounds surround you; adjacent trails will take you to forest waterfalls and the primary growth forest. The Quetzal is the spectacular bird of the area and easily found with a hotel guide in the early morning hour.

The rooms were warm, comfortable, and clean . . . great views. The restaurant was well above average and surprising in this remote valley.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thales29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
818 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
157 reviews
14.9 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
279 reviews
15.5 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
424 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $155 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing