We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Nearby Hotels
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suenos del Bosque(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$120
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tami Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas San Gerardo(San Gerardo de Dota)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Los Lagos Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas El Quetzal(San Gerardo de Dota)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Quetzal Valley Cabins(San Gerardo de Dota)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveler rating
507
162
25
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
162
25
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottlesgas heaterspool tabletroutcosta ricathe rivercloud forestcanopy tourzip lineearly morningbeautiful placebird watchinghorseback ridingexcellent breakfasthiking trailslunch and dinnerhumming birds
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 703 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We liked our stay in the Trogon Lodge. The bungalows are located in a beautiful garden.
Greivin, the manager, took us on a beautiful walk where we achieved one of the goals of our Costa Rica trip: seeing the Quetzal!

Situated on a higher location, the temperature was rather low, but the heating in the bungalows was welcome.

We enjoyed the friendly staff, the good food and the quiet location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regemorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Trogon Lodge is a beautiful lodge with wonderful grounds and trails a little off the beaten track, in San Gerardo de Dota.It is owned by don Mauricio, who also owns Mawamba Lodge in Tortuguero (another place I would highly recommend). Don Mauricio was present during our stay, and was a congenial host. Greivin, the manager, also went out of his way to make our stay very enjoyable.
Now a couple of caveats. The road from the Interamerican Highway is rough and mostly unpaved, although two-wheel vehicles are fine, at least in the "summer" (dry season). And this lodge is is pretty high in altitude, so give yourself some time to acclimate if you spend most of your life at sea level. It got cold as soon as the sun went down, so have something warm to wear-- you'll be fine in the rooms, as they light a gas heater for you every evening.
The trails have lots of birds, including quetzals, and I recommend going on a bird walk with Greivin, who not only is the manager, but also a capable nature guide, The restaurant was excellent, and we ate all our meals there for three days. There are lots of opportunities to eat trout, and I think my brother had it every meal.
I mentioned customer care in the title. When we drove back to San Jose, we drove around Santa Ana for over an hour looking for our hotel. Asking directions got us nowhere, We saw a sign for the Mawamba Group, owners of Trogon Lodge, and I told the security guard that we had just come from Trogon Lodge, that we were lost, and asked if they could help us? I was admitted into the building and talked to two women. The second woman, seeing how complicated the directions were, actually got permission to drive and show us how to get there! This is the best customer service I have ever seen in Costa Rica, and I will be sure to patronize the Mawamba properties again. Great people and great lodges.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Love the hotel! Is a magic place! Excellent food! Perfect for rest and scape from the stressful city live! Very clean and good room service. There's small areas for rest and read a good book. There's no tv... It's just you and the nature, also it have bad cellular signal... But still is a really nice mountain hotel, there's also trails to explore, perfect to take nature photos and explore the zone.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We just returned from a visit to Costa Rica and were fortunate enough to be able to spend a few days in this lovely location. Aside from being incredibly beautiful, it is a peaceful and unique environment (cloud forest) that is wonderful to have an opportunity to experience. The lodge is located on the side of steep hills, so if you have weak legs it could be a problem, although the paths are well maintained. There are more hummingbirds than you can believe. We saw one quetzal in flight and other birds, though not as many as we expected (could have been a function of heavy winds). Still, we weren't disappointed by our time there.
Travelers should be aware that this is a remote location. There are more lodges (a few that are very luxurious) than one would expect...but it is still extremely private. There is no town..although there is spread out community of residents.
Grieven, the manager, was a real pleasure. He made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Food was good and nicely prepared.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As with most places I visited in Costa Rica, Trogon lodge was quite a drive
Beautiful grounds
Grievan, the host was extremely gracious
All the staff was pleasant
The food was good, the coffee was great
The menu was a little heavy on the trout they raise there(maybe a few other options)
I felt the prices were reasonable considering what a captive audience you are there
The cabins were clean and comfortable
Wifi was available at the dining area
A very nice touch was the hot water bottles delivered to your room at bedtime
It was chilly and the warmth was appreciated

Stayed: January 2013
Thank chichullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews