We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quetzals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

the gardens are great, there are numerous locations to relax/hang out. Room was not huge but a good size, with two queen beds. Food was pretty good but at $15 a head, dinner was not a good value. Breakfast was tasty though. Quetzals were building a nest near the parking area so we didn't have to go far to see them. Staff were generally nice and helpful. This would be great place for group. The lounge has a pool table and several tables and couches plus a bar. Nice trails to hike around their property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towen27701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear towen27701,
Thank you very much for your visitand for taking the time to write about your experience. For us, it is always a wonderful opportunity to receive feedback from our visitors.
We are glad to hear that you rated us with a 5, in spite of considering that dinner price was not a good value, we understand from that the place lived up to your expectations and it was a good experience for you, we are thankful for that.
As for dinner price, we appreciate your comment about the value. We work hard to offer fresh food, often incorporating locally grown ingredients, including produce from our hydroponics little farm, and try for it to be varied, tasty and fresh; based on this we believe that the price of $ 15 including tax ($12 + tax) is up to the standards of the hotels in Costa RIca, and probably, less expensive than similar meals in other hotels of similar category. We understand this is your personal opìnion and believe us that we truly observe our customers opinions.
Thank you once again for coming to San Gerardo de Dota and especially for selecting Trogon Lodge as your Lodge in the area.
Gracias!
Eugenia Jurado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 668 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

This lodge is approached along miles of dirt road and is well down a valley. It is very quiet and peaceful. Sitting in the dining room one can watch many different hummingbirds on the feeders just outside the windows. The food is superb although there is not a great choice. This does not aim to be a 5* hotel but is more than adequate for a bird-watching group such as ours. The individual cabins were built up the side of a hill and have fresh air under the floor boards. It can be cold at night and we found hot water bottles in our beds when we got back from dinner - a very homely touch !

Room Tip: Not too far from the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabra1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Sabra1942,
Thank you very much for your visit in Trogon Lodge. We appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear you had a nice time while visiting us.
Yes, we are not a deluxe property. Our main goal is to offer our visitors a place where they can really get in touch with nature, in a cordial, friendly and down to earth atmosphere. By having only 22 rooms, we love to have the opportunity of personalizing our service and sharing with visitors the beautiful surrounding nature. San Gerardo offers wonderful opportunities for those who appreciate natural locations, birdwatching, walking, and relaxing in a quite, intimate and green surrounding.
We work hard everyday on improving our services, our meals - now with our own hydroponics, producing some of the vegetables we serve and well, in general, working on being able to offer a Costa Rican experience in one of the best kept little jewels of Costa Rica, the Valley of San Gerardo de Dota.
Thanks again for your visit and thanks for sharing your opinions with fellow travelers.
Pura vida,
Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great lodge in a wonderfull garden. Hummingbirds are very common in garden and come very close to bungalows. Nice bungalows, great shower, beautiful hike. Friendly staff. Great dining restaurant, prices are OK. We loved it here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingemuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We've been to CR many times, but never to this area so had no clue where to stay. Trogon Lodge was suggested by our travel agent, My Costa Rica. We arrived very late (around midnight) because traffic in San Jose was very heavy. Everything was dark. Yikes! Our driver found Isaac and he showed us to our room, fired up the heater (it's cold up there at night), and made us welcome. When the sun came out we were amazed - the grounds are beautiful!! Tons of flowers, ponds, and places to relax. Breakfast was great, as were all meals. Very reasonable too. Tours were also reasonable and the horseback ride is a bargain, especially when you consider you will likely see a Quetzal on your ride (which we did). Hiking from the property has lots of options too. We also fished in the river and caught small trout. We stayed four nights, but three would have been sufficient to take in the area. Try to stay at least two nights because one just isn't enough. Besides, it's so remote, it's a shame to go that far and stay just one night. Oh, the place is REALLY clean - the rooms, the grounds, the bar, restarurant, reception area - all exceptional. Over all, we really enjoyed our stay at Trogon Lodge.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms 3 or 4, the view is great but they are not so high up. Some of the rooms can be diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank q1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Trogon Lodge amazed us in that we felt like we were on a U.S. forest service road to an obscure hike, yet it was a beautifully landscaped collection of cabins along a small whitewater river. It's at the bottom of a steep and narrow valley which meant a steep climb back up to our cabin. There are pretty sitting areas all over and 2 short hiking trails. We loved watching the hummingbirds at the feeders at the diner. Food was buffet style, very tasty and a good deal for the price. Our birding guide for the morning quetzal tour was sick but he set us up to meet with Carlos from Dantica Lodge who led us on our best bird-watching tour ever(26 species in 2 hours) including a fabulous view of the resplendant quetzal. The hot water bottles in our bed was a nice touch.

Room Tip: I'd request a room closer to the main lodge to avoid the climb though we were rewarded with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtRainierDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear MtRainierDave,
We are delighted to hear about your visit in San Gerardo and Trogon Lodge, and how it presented a wonderful surprise after driving down the road.
From your pictures I see you selected our one and only Standard Superior room, that is perched up in the hill and does require some walking, but the only way to provide a wonderful and impressive view of the Valley and the Lodge itself, also adding privacy to your stay. We recommend this room for honeymooners and those who want a private stay surrounded by nature, willing to walk a little bit up (and down) to get the views and the privacy.
It is great to hear you enjoyed the meals, the experience, the walk and our Lodge. Hope you can come back and visit sometime in the future.
Muchas gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very pleasant 3 day stay in Saverge river canyon, with extensive birding opportunities at higher and lower altitudes. We saw all the socalled money birds, and intersected with other small birding groups. Rooms fine; good and speedy laundry. Young and enthusiastic multi lingual staff. Food fine in easy line service. If you go in winter it's cool/ cold but rooms well heated with individual gas heaters. WiFi througout. Nif a problem, ask staff to reboot. Good birding!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahlon33822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights - excellent location with cabins set amongst a beautiful garden. There are some very nice trails to walk or ride in the valley. The evening meal was excellent for one of us - a non-vegetarian - superb trout - but not so great for vegetarians. We ate a la carte one evening when there were only a handful of guests and had a buffet the second. Breakfasts were excellent. The first night was very cold but the cabin gas heater kept us warm enough. This place is being run by some very nice people. Isaac ensured we had some good views of a Quetzal. Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
820 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
158 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
15.5 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
425 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $155 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing