We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great birding site at higher altitude” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great birding site at higher altitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very pleasant 3 day stay in Saverge river canyon, with extensive birding opportunities at higher and lower altitudes. We saw all the socalled money birds, and intersected with other small birding groups. Rooms fine; good and speedy laundry. Young and enthusiastic multi lingual staff. Food fine in easy line service. If you go in winter it's cool/ cold but rooms well heated with individual gas heaters. WiFi througout. Nif a problem, ask staff to reboot. Good birding!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahlon33822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    134
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
118
312
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights - excellent location with cabins set amongst a beautiful garden. There are some very nice trails to walk or ride in the valley. The evening meal was excellent for one of us - a non-vegetarian - superb trout - but not so great for vegetarians. We ate a la carte one evening when there were only a handful of guests and had a buffet the second. Breakfasts were excellent. The first night was very cold but the cabin gas heater kept us warm enough. This place is being run by some very nice people. Isaac ensured we had some good views of a Quetzal. Recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our small tour group was booked into this remote lodge in a beautiful steep river valley. The lodge is very charming with cabins dotted along the hillside with connecting paths leading through beautifully kept grounds. Every plant seemed designed to attract a variety of hummingbirds. The sound of the river water cascading over the rocks was relaxing. The rooms were very clean. The food was among the best we encountered through our entire trip. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulofSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent our last night in CR here, upon recommendation. We were driving up from the Coast and I was nervous about the inter-americana, driving up from the coast--since it was shrouded in fog and the peak is called Cerro Muerte. The "road" from the highway to the lodge is quite an adventure. I considered forgetting our reservation at the Trogon Lodge, for fear that we wouldn't make it to the airport the next morning on time (b/c of the roads), but we went ahead down the road and stayed at the lodge. I'm so glad we did. We will definitely return. It was absolutely stunning. We hiked on the trails a bit, but didn't have much time. And the food! Our trout dinner buffet and breakfast the next morning were so delicious. We woke up at 5 am, headed to a farm down the road, paid to walk on the property, and the boy who lives there led us to two quetzals. We achieved our quest! And we left for the airport by 8:00 am--it took about 2 hours, on a good road. If you go to this area, take some warm clothes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okapiwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent a night here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Driving down the steep valley from the main Panamerican is stunning, and makes you wonder why the first pioneers ever thought it was possible to head down. The scenery is simply breathtaking, and the lodge is attractively positioned in a cleft in the sheer alpine-style mountains. We had last visited about 10 years before, and were impressed by the improvements made since to the amenities. The garden is spectacular, with a wide range of flowers. The lodge is relatively small and intimate, compared with the much larger Savegre Lodge further down, and rooms rustic whilst still comfortable. The restaurant is attractive, and staff friendly. We will go again - hopefully before another decade!

Room Tip: Cabins 1&2 are the oldest, and have an enclosed balcony whilst all the others have an outside ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here during a 15 day ecotourism guided trip we did in May with our daughters and few other travellers touring with the company Amerika Venture. Among the places we have been to, this is one of those that looked and felt exactly like the type of accommodation we where expecting from a trip like this: charming and cozy little cottages at the hearth of nature, in a peaceful environment, away form the neighbours, overlooking the valley and the cloud forest, sometimes in the mist, sometimes in the sun… Magical! They did not name the place Trogon Lodge by mistake, we saw many trogons here and especially enjoyed watching and photographing the Quetzal that our guide spotted after some research the second day of our stay here (spotting this guy was one the reasons for this trip!). The grounds here are beautiful and so peaceful, the staff is very pleasant and the food is good and plenty! We strongly recommend the place to all nature lovers!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4-Grands-Voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hola! It is with great pleasure that we read through your review, thank you for putting a smile to our face!. We are delighted to hear that the hotel and the trip met and exceeded your expectations. Glad that you were able to see the Trogons, the birds and teh Quetzal.
We hope that you can visit us again a near future and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we truly appreciate it.
Muchas gracias!
Eugenia Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Party of 7. 3 rooms for 2 nights. 3rd time in Costa Rica. 1st time to this area.

The gas heaters worked well. The fresh fruit at breakfast was excellent. Dinners were very good, soups were notably good.

Staff was excellent. Horseback riding was nice. The grounds are stunning. So glad we spent a few nights here. Perhaps 3 nights would have been better. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce__ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
30.9 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
5.8 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Property: Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing