We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quetzal Quest achieved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quetzal Quest achieved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My goal in staying at this lodge was to view and photograph the Resplendent Quetzal. I had this was the best chance to see this magnificent bird, and I wasn't disappointed. My goal was achieved the first afternoon. The hummingbird feeders were also a delight, with added perches for the photographer in mind. Birding aside, the grounds were quite attractive and the accommodations very comfortable and roomy. If mobility is an issue, be sure to ask for a room closer to the dining area. The buffet meals offered a good variety, but in spite of the warming plates, the food was often cold. The salad bar and dessert table never disappointed, though!
If you are birding in Costa Rica, Savegre is not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyCone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    207
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
131
332
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I accompanied my wife on a photographic workshop focused on hummingbirds. Not being a photographer, I took advantage of the Savegre River that flows alongside the resort and a guide, Charlie, from San Jose, to do some fly fishing for the "native" rainbow trout.

Savegre is located at about 8,000 feet in the cloud forest of Costa Rica, a rich tropical setting with comfortable temperatures. The accommodations are well furnished, spacious rooms with ensuite baths located in rows of from two to six rooms. Some are a five minute walk from the lodge proper, but others are literally "next door" to the bar, restaurant, and office.

The food was buffet style in the main restaurant, and there was also a pizza restaurant and a full service bar. The food was varied and good - a lot of "rice and peas" with eggs, sausage, bacon and pastries in the morning and a good selection of entrees for lunch and dinner.

Bird watching and photography, not only of humming birds, but also of toucans and the very rare quetzal, are the main activities. Fishing in the Savegre is challenging, as the pools are small, the current swift, and the jungle grows all along the river. Fortunately, the trout, though small, are very aggressive and provide a lot of good, technical fishing.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of similar quality - those closest to the main lodge area are most convenient f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

A luxurious spot in paradise. We saw a quetzal on our first day at the hotel. Meals are fantastic. Accommodations are comfortable and spacious. Grounds are a real treat with lots of beautiful flora and fauna - the hummingbird feeders are such a treat! We had a couple of great hikes - one was ambitious and the other leisurely. The fireplace in the lounge at the end of the day was a cozy touch.

Room Tip: All rooms are in 4-unit rows of cabins. Glass on both sides of the room made for lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Lovely hotel in a beautiful valley - felt very luxurious.
Rooms are all individual cabins spread over the lush grounds - large, plush & fancy bathroom. Even has a heater (which I definitely needed).
Loads of wildlife to see in the grounds, esp the numerous types of hummingbirds. Great walks you can access directly up the hill behind the hotel. Quiet & peaceful. Clean fresh air.
Bar has a fab (fake) log fire to warm yourself at in the evening.
Enjoyed a spa treatment - very relaxing afternoon - just missing a swimming pool.
Only thing that lets hotel down is the food- very average buffet affair

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This cloud-forest lodge is a good place to stay to see the Resplendent Quetzal - we were lucky enough to see him and her at their nest site. There are hundreds of other bird species to be seen in the area and great bird guides available. We spent 5 hours with Raoul, who was excellent. There are plenty of trails to walk.

We had a junior suite which is an individual cabin with 2 beds and a fan heater. The cabins are spread around the lovely gardens. As it gets cool here at night you do need the fan heater. I think this is preferable to a log fire as its instant, especially if you get up early to go bird watching.

The rooms could do with updating - the taps and shower did not work well; the beds were hard and the sofa old and uncomfortable. There is plenty of space inside and a bench outside so a little work would make a huge difference.

Despite promising 'a la carte' in the restaurant we saw no evidence of this. The buffet on offer was not good and when we were behind some larger groups, many items had gone. We had to wait for them to be restocked - the staff could have been a lot more efficient in anticipating this. We did not think that the cost of the buffet per person was good value although in the end we negotiated to pay for one person - we had one starter, one main and one desert between us. The bar snack we tried was served cold.

This is a lovely location and wonderful for birding but I felt the hotel is unsure of what its trying to be - there is a new spa promising luxury but the standard of the rooms and food is more basic.

The reception staff were exceptionally helpful so 5 stars for them.

Room Tip: make sure there is a fan heater in the room; junior suite is a detached cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epicerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My son and I booked a five day stay at Savegre because they advertise 30 kilometers of hiking trails, and we planned to hike the entire time. When we arrived we discovered the 30 kilometers was a big MENTIRA, and that in fact they had 12 kilometers of trails. We showed them the misrepresentation on their advertisement and asked to be refunded for two nights, so we could go elsewhere to hike, but Savegre only agreed to refund us for one night. Additionally they did not have the food they advertised on their website.

The setting is beautiful and the cabanas are spacious and pleasant. The gardens are pretty and well-tended and there are lots of birds. The birders there seemed very happy with their tours and the gardens and birds on the hotel grounds.

Bottom line: Savegre misrepresented their facilities and could have been more gracious and released us from our non-refundable reservation. Additionally, they had conflicting records about how much deposit we made from the United States and checking out was a hassle and left a bad taste in the mouth.

We'd recommend Dantica, which is 6 kilometers up the road, very beautiful, and has fantastic food.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are quieter than rooms in a string of 3 or more. There is no centralized heating, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxvHAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed in 1 of the individual cabins, 1 large room with spacious bathrrom. The room was attractive and clean and everything worked well.
The cabins are distributed around a central garden area which was very pleasant and included a bird-feeding area so there were always something interesting to see, brightly colored birds and a variety of hummingbirds constantly at their feeders scattered along the walk.
The buffet style dining area was fine and we had all our meals there. The restaurant and room staff were efficient and helpful.
3 minutes walk from our cabin a pair of resplendent quetzals had their nest and were frequently showing themselves off to the guests - a principal goal of many visitors to CR.
You can easily take long walks in the forest from the lodge and the birding is excellent. We took 2 guided hikes with Marino Chacon, a very knowledgeable guide who was both enthusiastic about his work and patient with us to ensure we actually got good views of the birds. What birds you see depends greatly on the height, and lots of good hikes are farther up from the lodge. While you can walk up to them, it is quite helpful to drive up, as we did with Marino, then walk. It was the only time on our trip when I wished we had our own car. Even so, we would use a guide again also.
There was a very attractive lounge/bar, but we wanted to be outside almost the whole time.

Room Tip: I think any of the individual cabins would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraMike68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
32.2 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
7.1 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Property: Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Address: 2km South from La Lidia School, San Gerardo de Dota 482-7050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty-nine kilometers (55.3 miles) south of San Jose in a private natural reserve of 400 hectares and just 9 km. (5.5 miles) from Los Quetzales National Park, Hotel Savegre is the ideal starting point for exploring Costa Rica’s magnificent tropical cloud forest in all its beauty. Hotel Savegre’s services are the perfect complement for every nature lover seeking a memorable experience. We offer 41 rooms, bar and restaurant, day spa, conference room, laundry service, shuttle service, tours and related activities, as well as our beautiful gardens and impressive private reserve with its extensive network of trails. Our helpful and genuinely friendly staff are the hotel’s signature feature.The Chacon family, pioneers in the San Gerardo de Dota region have been operating the hotel since its inception and it has always been our utmost aim to provide top-quality service that goes hand in hand with the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve And Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Savegre Mountain Cartago
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing