We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places in all of Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Such a beautiful place! We have been in Costa Rica for 4 weeks and have been mainly on the Southern Pacific coast. It was a real treat to get up into the mountains and escape the heat and mugginess. Be prepared...it can get pretty chilly up here in the mornings and evenings (all night- the only heat is a wood burning fireplace so bring warm night clothes). Luckily we brought jeans and sweatshirts. This place is darling! So well thought out- they don't miss a detail. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and comfortable- and everything is oh so clean! The people who work here are all so nice and accommodating. The food was out of this world!! We had trout soup, pumpkin soup, a trout with shrimp entree that was my favorite meal in all of Costa Rica. Never had trout anywhere near this good. My husband had the steak with gorgonzola. The chef is outstanding and obviously gets how to flavor and cook perfectly! Saw lots of quetzals and many other birds in the mornings with a very helpful guide. Highly recommend this place!! My daughter spent hours watching the hummingbirds come right up to her- many different varieties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeChV, Manager at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks so much for your review
We feel happy to read your comments about our service.
It is a very good tip to bring warm clothes, sometimes people do not expect to have low temperatures in the tropics.
Here are the hummingbirds waiting for you and daughter to come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 778 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visiting this hotel was a spontaneous idea - it was our last night in CR and we needed a place between Drake Bay and the capital. Needless to say, the option to see the quetzals was very alluring. I didn't expect much because the Frommer's guide mentioned the rooms were "Spartan," but instead was pleasantly surprised - the rooms were beautiful and each had a fireplace. The restaurant offered many options and the food was good.
It goes without saying, this hotel is a birdwatcher's paradise - humming birds are zipping around your face and don't mind your curiosity, while numerous other species are visiting the trees on the premises for breakfast and dinner. We did see the quetzals - they are real and they are spectacular! We even saw one male in his full breeding plumage - tail and all.
Overall, this was a beautiful hotel and I really wish we had more time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pchelarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeChV, Manager at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks so much for your review.
During the last few years we have been updating our facilities, so most of our rooms are quite new and right now we are updating the last old rooms.
I hope you can come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Aug 2013. The lodge arranged for our transportation from the airport, as we did not feel like renting a car. This was a reasonable cost and very easy. Our room was fantastic! After reading reviews from others, I made su to bring warm clothes for sleeping but with the covers I was plenty warm. The food was pretty good - my favorite was the tipico breakfast with pinto gallo, fresh crema, homemade tortillas, eggs, and some Lizano sauce. Nothing too gourmet, but worth the all-inclusive price we paid. The lodge has recently added a bar, which was a great place to hang out at night or duirng an afternoon rain with a cup of coffee. I was even able to get a little work time in during the rain because the lodge has wifi in the bar/restaurant area.

We didn't come to Savegre for the food or the nice rooms, of course. We came to see birds and we were not disappointed. Though we ventured away from the lodge on a couple of field trips, we saw many many new birds on the trails around the lodge, too. We tried three trails in their private reserve on the hillside above the lodge. I highly recommend La Quebrada and if you are adventurous then you might also want to try El Roble. The former is a very nice walk where you can see a Quetzal, tanagers, and other birds on a relatively easy trail. El Roble is about a 5 mile trek up and down hills through primary forest where the oaks are 200 feet tall. We also walked a streamside trail with Marino Chacon, who is the primary naturalist for the property. Marino is extremely knowledgeable about the birds and other wildlife at Savegre and a thoughtful guide, too. All of the staff were great...we really felt at home the whole time we were there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Naturalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed as part of a birdwatching trip. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and a little forest containing many many quetzals. unfortunately, as part of an 'improvement plan', he hotel is encroaching into the surrounding forest, in which reside the one thing the hotel is famous for... QUETZALS of a RESPLENDENT nature! I do hope they stop soon1

Room Tip: all rooms have been recently upgraded but building work continues so newer bungalows will be availab...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scatti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeChV, Manager at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks so much for your review.
We are happy to know that you describe the hotel as lovely and that you give us a good evaluation.
I need to explain you and other readers that we are not encroaching in any way into our precious forest.
During May to November 2013, we are renewing our old standard rooms. This does not mean in any single way that we had the need to cut a single tree or even move any ground in our surroundings.
The old standard rooms were constructed more than 20 years ago and after so many years the time to update came and that is why we have decide to take the old rooms down and built the new ones, but this new units are being built in the same place that the old ones were.
As you do, we care about environment. Savegre is part of the Certification for Sustainable Tourism Program (CST - a product of the Costa Rican Tourism Board) and we got on our last evaluation 4 leaves out of 5 possible.
Also this year we are building an anaerobic bio digester to treat the waste water and keep reducing the impact.
We invite all of our clients to come and find out more about our environmental programs
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Savegre Lodge for three nights in early April to do tropical birding.

Our room was comfortable, spacious, and included a fireplace. It was cool at night, and the room is not heated, so we used the fireplace at night to heat up the room before retiring. Between the fireplace and warm blankets, we were comfortable. Savegre is an eco-loge and has its own water purification system, so tap water is potable. There was a large and beautiful tropical garden outside the rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Our package included 10 hours of guided bird walks, which were great. The bird guides are quite remarkable in spotting birds which are quite distant, and we recommend getting one to fully enjoy the trip. We had the same guide for all of our walks which worked very well. The guide made sure we saw the "must see" birds first, such as the Resplendent Quetzal. He also tailored the walks so they were less strenuous, and was flexible in scheduling the times.

The food was very good. My wife is lactose intolerant and has other dietary restrictions, and she had no problems with the food.

Our trip included transfers from the airport and between lodges during our stay. We're glad we did, since some of the steep roads are dirt.

Savege is a great place to stay and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rgw28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My daughter and I had a nice relaxing visit to Savegre Lodge last year and we really enjoyed it there. The Chacon family are so nice and helpful to the tourists who stay there and though their lodge has grown, it still has the small friendly, family feeling that it had at the begining. Marino Chacon was our guide and he took us on the trails to look for the Resplendant Quetzal, we saw many birds and along the way he showed us a place in the forest where they had seen a Tapir just a couple of days before. He also showed us where camera traps carefully placed on the trails had photographed a Black Panther (Jaguar). Later in the late afternoon we enjoyed the new Spa and had massages! They even have a steam sauna which is really nice in that cool climate!
The cabinas are separated by a space between them so you don't hear noise from the other side.The rooms are very nice, extremely clean, and have a lot of hot water for bathing. Another thing of interest to birders is that the landscaping has been done around the cabins with native plant species which provide berries and fruits, and flowers for the birds, so you will see a lot of birds right around the cabins. The new lounge has a big fireplace where you can go to relax after dinner. The food was a nice buffet but they had a menu at lunch and all the food was good. We love the fresh trout that they serve there and all the fruit drinks that come from their own orchards. If you are looking for a good place in the highlands to see the Quetzal I think that you would love it at Savegre Lodge/Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaErb_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeChV, Director of Sales at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks so very much for your review
It makes us so happy to know that you had such a good time during your stay at Savegre.
There are a lot of new pictures of mammals from the trap cams but we are anxious to see the Black Panther again…
Thanks so much for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at Savegre Hotel in June 2013 during a photo workshop. I liked pretty much everything about the stay in this wonderful place. The cabin I got was very comfortable and it was quiet at night. The cabins are simple with no TV or a/c but there is a small heater for the nights when it gets rather cold.

The hotel grounds are well maintained and many birds can be seen right outside the rooms. We were there when a Quetzal couple was nesting and we were lucky enough to see them every day multiple times when they came back to the nest to feed the little ones. There are also lots of hummingbirds which can be photographed at the feeders. In addition, there are some great trails along the river for great picture opportunities.

We had all meals in the restaurant which belongs to the hotel and the food was truly great. There were lots of choices and for every lunch and dinner there was a very nice salad buffet. The adjacent bar is a nice place to meet before or after dinner and they offer good drinks at nice prices, especially during happy hour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d7ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelipeChV, Director of Sales at Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks so very much for your review
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your time at Savegre
This is truly a good spot to take pictures, is not?
I hope you can visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
634 reviews
32.2 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
152 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
18.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
2.4 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Address: 2km South from La Lidia School, San Gerardo de Dota 11703, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $59 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty-nine kilometers (55.3 miles) south of San Jose in a private natural reserve of 400 hectares and just 9 km. (5.5 miles) from Los Quetzales National Park, Hotel Savegre is the ideal starting point for exploring Costa Rica’s magnificent tropical cloud forest in all its beauty. Hotel Savegre’s services are the perfect complement for every nature lover seeking a memorable experience. We offer 41 rooms, bar and restaurant, day spa, conference room, laundry service, shuttle service, tours and related activities, as well as our beautiful gardens and impressive private reserve with its extensive network of trails. Our helpful and genuinely friendly staff are the hotel’s signature feature.The Chacon family, pioneers in the San Gerardo de Dota region have been operating the hotel since its inception and it has always been our utmost aim to provide top-quality service that goes hand in hand with the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve And Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Savegre Mountain Cartago
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing