We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzal Valley Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I booked my 2 night stay in Quetzal Valley because of what a read from other travelers that visited the place.It was exactly what I read and more. The cabinas have a great view of the mountains in front, and a nice porch where you sit and talk and have a hot chocolate while you see the clouds go around the cabin. I stayed in the cabin that is far down the hill, this one had plenty of space for having at least 6 people or more. The closest cabina is about 60 meters uphill. We had a 5 degree Celsius night while in there, but there is plenty of pillows and blankets to keep you warm.

Room Tip: The cabinas are equipped, bringing some hot beverage (coffee, tea or chocolate) is highly advisable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I drove to San Gerardo from San Jose without much trouble. We hadn't read the greatest thing about Costa Rican driving, but it ended up being totally fine.

Lilianna met us at Miriam's restaurant and had our cabin ready for us. A short drive from there was the cabin. We couldn't believe how perfect it was. The view was extraordinary and we had so much space. This was also the first accommodation on our trip where we actually felt clean and comfortable.

We did a bird tour with Alex our first morning and thanks to his help we saw 3 quetzals, a toucanette, several parakeets and many more birds. Alex was a great guide and a fun guy.

This was such a beautiful area and a bird watchers dream. I would absolutely recommend it here.

The only thing I wouldn't recommend here is backing your car down the hill to cabin 4. We ended up getting stuck in the clay wall and some staff members from Dantica lodge had to come tow us out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meghankmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed two nights in Quetzal Valley Cabins, just off of the road to San Gerardo de Dota during June 2013. These are beautiful wooden cabins (smell wonderful!), with windows that look out over the valley. There was a problem with our first cabin that could not be dealt with immediately, so they put us into another cabin which was very close and similar.

This is at a very high elevation, and it can get quite cold at night. There is an electric space heater and all the blankets we asked for and the cabin stayed at a very comfortable temperature overnight. The bed was fine for me, but a little hard for my wife.

There are hot showers, with electric water heaters built into the water line just before the shower head. We've seen these in other rural Central American locations and are just a little bit nervous about electricity and water running concurrently into the shower, but we've never had any problems. The water was not HOT, but was very warm and comfortable for showers.

Our check-in point was at Miriam's Typical Restaurant about .5k up the hill, where we ate most of our meals while in the area. Miriam's son-in-law, Alex provided exceptional bi-lingual guide service and helped us find male and female quetzals, along with many more of the smaller birds. He was our guide a year ago when we stayed at Savegre Inn, and told us at that time about Miriam's, so we reserved his services when reserving the cabin for this trip.

We would not hesitate to stay in these cabins again and would recommend them to anyone travelling to San Gerardo de Dota.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent hosts ... Peter and Paqui were so hospitable and helpful! And the mountain town of San Gerardo de Dota is a fabulous, quaint place. We spent the first three days of our vacation there from May 9-11. It was a great place to unwind, get back to basics, and leave the busy rat-race behind. Everyone we met was awesome ... Alex was a great bird guide ... Mirian and her daughter Lilliana were fantastic cooks and hosts. Have I used up all the adjectives in the dictionary yet? Just can't say enough good things. This really is a corner of paradise!

Room Tip: Some Spanish phrases might come in handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

These mountainside cabins are amazing. It's a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. The property is right on the Savegre River and has great hiking trails running through it. Peter and Fransisca are lovely hosts - they went above and beyond to help me organize transportation and make sure I had everything I needed during my stay. I took my meals at Miriam's up the road, where the food was incredible, plentiful and affordable.
My time at Quetzal Valley Cabins was spent exploring the forest, soaking up the natural surroundings, stargazing and relaxing. I loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Quetzal valley cabins consists of some nice wooden cabins in a private forest. Cabins are very large and well maintained. It gets pretty cold out here, as they are located rather high, but they provide some heating device and plenty of blankets. There is hot water. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be taken at Miriam’s, a great place, but ca 500 m away. So a car can be useful, but given the remote location all visitors probably have a car. This was definitely one of our best places during our holiday…Their private reserve is not very large, but features some nice birds. There are reportedly a few quetzals, but we only saw a female here. There are plenty of hummingbirds, bush-tanagers, sooty robins, …
If you do not have a booking, you can inform at Mariams, which is located ca 3 km from the Interamericana at the first group of houses in the direction of San Gerardo. When we were visiting, they still had plenty of availability. The lower parts of the village of S Gerardo are located ca 6 km downhill, on a not-so-easy road (very steep but probably doable with a normal car). It is also very hard to get anything more than some coockies and a bottle of water in the 2 local pulperias, so if you cater yourself you should bring everything.

Room Tip: the small cabins are actually very large to costa rican standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Quetzal Valley. These Rustic but very comfortable cabins are perfect for a mountain stay, especially if you are interested in the wildlife of the area. The cabins are nestled within moist high elevation forest with spectacular views. Peter and his wife were more than willing to help us in looking for certain species, find food, and give excellent advice on directions and driving to and from the area.

Affiliated with the cabins is Miriam's Restaurant. Miriam was so inviting and prepared us delicious meals for an amazing price. She also has many species of birds feeding outside her place which you can watch while eating.

Just remember to bring warm clothing!

We will be back again

Room Tip: The Bigger Cabins have a wood stove while the smaller have an electric heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gerardo de Dota hotels
0.4 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
636 reviews
2.3 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
793 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Suenos del Bosque
Suenos del Bosque
#3 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
139 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tami Lodge
Tami Lodge
#7 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Valley Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Valley Cabins

Address: Km 80 on South Interamerican Hwy | 3.5 km down San Gerardo Rd, San Gerardo de Dota 11702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $49 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the headwaters of Savegre River (designated as cleanest river in all Middle America by the FAO), the Valle del Quetzal Nature Reserve maintains more than 500 acres (200 ha) under an environmental protection contract with FONOFIFO, most of which is primary Cloud Oak Forest between 2400 and 3000 m elevation (8200 to 10,000 ft). We have many natural trail with nearly a mile of exclusive river frontage with excellent Trout fishing, bird watching and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Valley Cabins Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing