We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG what a Great Place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzal Valley Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
“OMG what a Great Place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have been to Quetzal Valley Cabins several times. It is so relaxing and peaceful. The view of sera de la muerte is great. So many wild birds to look at one of the best if not the best place to see the elusive Quetzal. You can pick blackberry's off the bushes when they are in season there is an abundance and they are so good fresh. They have a really beautiful stream/ river that is crystal clear and refreshing. You can go hiking on the mountain if you dare and enjoy some alone time in the wilderness.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    7
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
39
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and I visited the Quetzal Valley Cabins accidentally while traveling into San Gerardo de Dota to relax while attempting to sell our Uvita farm. We simply could not leave! In fact, we lived there for nearly three years from that day and I wrote my first book while living there, something I had been unable to do elsewhere. It is HEAVEN. Each time I left to go to town for supplies, I dreaded it and would race back home to our cozy cabin for the evening. Each breakfast was a treat as we ate fruit we bought from a traveling farmer and watched the spectacular aviary exhibition performed by the hundreds of birds representing dozens of species. I absolutely love it there. In fact, if my wife had not needed to return to the United States, I'd still be there. In other words, there is only one thing I love more than living in the Quetzal Valley Cabins, and that's being with my wife : ) By the way, the owners Peter and Paqui are beautiful too. It is my favorite place on Earth!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickGancitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I´ve been in the Quetzal Valley Cabins several times with my family and friends. These are well equipped and very comfortable and warm, made of pine wood, which makes the atmosphere pleasant to spend some days in the mountains. From them you can see nice views of the valley, as well as different kind of birds, including the Quetzal during the season. Particularly, we enjoyed seeing the sunrises and starry skies.

Room Tip: Cabins with valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

On my last trip to San Gerardo de Dota with my family, we stayed at
Quetzal Valley Cabins, San Gerardo is a beautiful, peaceful place
and the cabins are very, very comfortable, warm, with nice views,and sounds
of the river. The most interesting is to see the amazing quetzals.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aura Sulema G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gerardo de Dota hotels
2.3 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Suenos del Bosque
Suenos del Bosque
#3 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabinas El Quetzal
Cabinas El Quetzal
#6 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Valley Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Valley Cabins

Property: Quetzal Valley Cabins
Address: Km 80 on South Interamerican Hwy | 3.5 km down San Gerardo Rd, San Gerardo de Dota 11702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the headwaters of Savegre River (designated as cleanest river in all Middle America by the FAO), the Valle del Quetzal Nature Reserve maintains more than 500 acres (200 ha) under an environmental protection contract with FONOFIFO, most of which is primary Cloud Oak Forest between 2400 and 3000 m elevation (8200 to 10,000 ft). We have nearly mile of exclusive river frontage with excellent Trout fishing, bird watching and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quetzal Valley Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzal Valley Cabins Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing