We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mountain jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A mountain jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have a great stay at this magic place. Nice rooms, basic but clean and comfortable. Great birding and good food. The staff was very helpful, and able to inform us about the activities on the area, and the best places to find the great quetzal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carcalumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    40
    15
    12
    2
See reviews for
27
74
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

First of all the Suria Hotel is not for anyone looking for first class accommodations. It has very basic rooms, but they are clean. There is no TV or refrigerator, just beds. We had room 4 with a king size bed that is actually two twins pushed together and there was another single bed. One side of the king size bed really needs a new mattress. The water for the shower was warm, not hot, but we were able to shower quickly and be OK. The grounds are beautiful and there are a lot of birds to be seen. As for the food - not a lot of variety, but it was good - the trout was excellent. As for the family/owners they were very accomidating, but except for Agniel, they spoke little english - we are in Costa Rica it is our fault our Spanish is poor - we did our best and managed well. The Suria is located at the end of the road, the last 200-300 yards are up hill - it might be worth having a car for that reason. We were a bit unprepared for the fact that there is no beer and little ice at Suria - again our fault. Every day we would walk down the hill and about 1/2 mile to Savregre Ladge for 4-6pm happy hour then back up the hill for dinner at Suria. All & all i would stay here again, but be more prepared supply wise. We did not see the Quetzal until we were on out way out. Our driver stopped so we could get pictures - both male and female.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doobie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Suria and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! The hotel itself is fairly basic, but our room was spacious, clean, fairly new, ample hot water and comfortable beds. The family that owns the hotel was wonderful. We went on a birding walk early one morning with Agniel, the 22-year old son, who was quite expert both sighting birds and hearing bird calls. He found us a pair of resplendent quetzals among many other birds. Later that day, we drove up to Cerro de la Meurte with Agniel and his mother Hilde. Agniel and the two of us disembarked at the top and hiked down down down 10 miles or so, while Hilde drove our car back to the hotel. It was a beautiful hike, descending through many different kinds of vegetation, including cloud forest, with spectacular views. The food was fine; basic Costa Rican breakfast and a trout dinner which was very tasty! The prices were reasonable for the room, meals and excursions. This is not a five-star hotel in terms of luxury, but it was just what we wanted. We wished we had more time to spend there and would happily return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

In 2012 we went to San Gerardo de dota and stayed at Suria Lodge. We found the cabin, food and service to be wonderful. The owners son, very personable and eager to help was also an accomplished birding guide. He took us quickly to view not only the famous quetzals but also other local species. He was invaluable in helping me to secure my luggage which the airline had misplaced, making numerous calls until he was successful in having it delivered to my room. We highly recommend this terrific place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

A friend took us here as a surprise so we could see the quetzal. Well, what a place. Run by a local family the cabins are basic but lovely! The grounds are even BETTER! Hummingbirds and lots of other birds play around the well cared for gardens. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff great and the walk to the waterfall nearby was well worth the time. You can hire a private guide from the hotel at a very reasonable price. He is very knowledgeable and will be your best bet to see the quetzal, among other amazing birds and mammals. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Stay at least two nights, preferably three!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

After looking in this web page if dogs were aloud at the hotel , and calling the owner for reconfirmation, my boyfriend and I decided to go with our dog “Boli” to Suria.
Several hours after we arrived Boli barked ONCE and the owner asked us if he could sleep IN THE CAR. So, this is definitely not a pet’s aloud place and I don’t understand why they say it is. I really do not recommend this place no ANYONE, even less if you are going with your pet.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aloki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Accomodation is basic but spacious, clean and OK. A bit thin-walled in case of honeymooning neighbours, though. Restaurant is also basic but fine - home made soup and local pastry. Walking distance to the nest of the quetzal and the guide understands his job.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarKlaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
32.2 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
30.9 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
30.6 mi away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria

Property: Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Address: San Gerardo de Dota-Costa Rica, San Gerardo de Dota, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to offer you: 1- 20 Charming rustic yet modern suites, each boasting a private bath. 2- A total capacity of 60 people (any combination of triples, doubles and singles) 3- Our dining room, where you may enjoy local flavors, including trout from the region 4- Safe parking 5- Horseback riding 6- Guided birdwatching tours 7- Transportation 8- Personalized service 9- Credit cards accepted 10 Telephone and internet service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Montana y Restaurante Suria Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing