We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and service”

Quarter Acre Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Levin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $42
Cuisines: Cafe, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manawatu, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great value. Food delicious. Staff attentive and knowledgeable about the new menu.
The whole family particularly loves the pizza, and we are never disappointed by the presentation, portion size and taste.
If at the end of your meal you have room for dessert I heartily recommend their cheesecake or the carrot cake. They are both fantastic.
I recommend that you book a table to avoid disappointment (note: they do have outside tables and seating, in the garden area). If you are local then you are aware how busy this café can get.
The staff always has a smile for us on arrival, and I have no hesitation in recommending this café to others. Enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GICal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    74
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otaki-machi, Japan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Friday night is not a night for cooking and this new restaurAnt is the closest to where we live so thought it was worth a try. Sadly, it did not deliver! The food arrived quickly and service was good but the flavours were very ordinary! The steak was well cooked but sauce let the dish down. Tasted like bisto gravy! Scallops were over shadowed by their sauce and two of our dishes tasted charred( and not in a good way!) disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, simple food and enthusiastic service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here last night. We ordered scallops and pork belly entrée, both nice even if the passion fruit sauce on the scallops was a little 1980s; soup and chicken as mains, both were good and as my husband said "it is what it is"; and pavlova and waffles for dessert. Can't recommend these more highly, both were massive portions and good value at only $10 or so. Side of chips was disappointing, as they were limp and soggy. Couple of glasses of vino and it all came to a reasonable bill of $120. Our server was good and very enthusiastic if just a little unprofessional (spilled soup, no offer of coffee at the end) but his friendly manner more than made up for it. Would probably not go back but ok for a good, solid, nice and reasonably-priced meal in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nasi_ayam_search
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As good as any in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The guys have just relocated this cafe / bistro / restaurant 6 weeks ago, we went for an evening meal with friends Saturday Night - the service was great, and the food superb (Esp the huge individual Pavlova - YUM ). As good a restaurant as any we have been to round the world. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Nice food and Surroundings but staff lack Professionalism”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

On a recent trip to the Kapiti Coast to visit my mum and step father they shouted me too lunch at the Quarter Acre and I am in two minds weather I would return. The food, although basic is very good quality, well presented and fresh. In saying that, my step father said his meal was much smaller than his last visit and I have to agree with him that It did look like it had been thrown onto the plate complete with a finger smudge where excess gravy had been wiped away, not a nice look. What has put me in two minds is the service. The staff are inattentive, wondering around not doing much and I'm not sure why a chef, holding a filthy looking tea towel would also wondering around the dining room taking the occasional plate. Our waiter was also chewing something!!! Once our plates had been cleared, we were not asked if we wanted anything else which sucked as coffee would have been nice. While we were eating, an older women, who appeared to be an owner, arrived from the bar behind us with a strong smell of cigarettes and got into several loud conversation with the staff, two of which were shouted over our table. This women sat down at the table next to us, set up her office work and continued talking loudly to the her staff making it difficult for us to continue our conversation. Wait...it gets worse. A young girl arrived at the restaurant and was seated at this table next to us, where this women conducted a job interview and we heard ever word. I pitied the poor girl, as if a job interview isn't nerve raking enough but to be conducted in public is just not cool. I rate Quarter Acre Cafe with nice food and surroundings but the service truly sucks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarter Acre Cafe Bistro also viewed

Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Quarter Acre Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing