We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best cakes in town”
Review of Whispers Cafe

Whispers Cafe
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Levin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have recently eaten at Whispers Cafe in Levin. Having breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Great meals, great variety, good amount of food and lovely friendly staff. This place seemed very popular at all times of the day over a 3 day period, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. We had corn fritters with bacon and ciabatta toast for breakfast. Huge meal and very cheap we thought. And it was great to have homemade fritter. Not the mass produced frozen variety. In fact all food seemed to be be made on the premises. Highly recommended.
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best cakes in town”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have called in for coffee and cake over 40 times now, the cakes are always fresh and very appealing, I love the way they have the big cakes and they cut you off a slab as you order, they always ask if you want cream or yogurt with it and if you want it heated, the girls are lovely and it is always busy but not too busy, but really humming, my favourites are thier Blueberry Muffins, enormous and thier Coffee Slice, which sortof tastes raw but is amazing, and thier Carrot Cake is to die for, and the coffees great too, keep meaning to go for dinner, its been in Levin for as long as I can remember, try it, it is highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Levinites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    67
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Coffee - Fresh and very tasty”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Last visit I had a beautiful quiche which was served with their own salsa. I love their baked potato which comes with a creamy mushroom sauce. Mum had the lasagne which she was still talking about a few days after. They have beautiful cakes and some nice savouries. We would come here more often if we could park our trailor near by but sadly that isn't the easiest. Coffees are hot and not to strong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“At last a place worth stopping for lunch at in Levin”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for great coffee (caffe l'affare), fish chowder and eggs benedict. All beautifully presented and prepared. Nice buzzy atmosphere. Well done

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rarodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Why cant some small towns provide decent cafes?”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Being a regular visitor to Levin for work I visit Whispers out of desperation as there is so little choice in the town. Given they are very busy the locals obviously like it but I find it really dirty and smelly and the food very average. If only they did some cleaning it may be OK but the kitchen area and toilets are scary.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gluten Free no problem”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This cafe is consistently great. Never disappointed with their food or service. The coffee is always the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whispers Cafe also viewed

Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Whispers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing