We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food! Food! Food!”
Review of Whispers Cafe

Whispers Cafe
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Levin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have recently eaten at Whispers Cafe in Levin. Having breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Great meals, great variety, good amount of food and lovely friendly staff. This place seemed very popular at all times of the day over a 3 day period, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. We had corn fritters with bacon and ciabatta toast for breakfast. Huge meal and very cheap we thought. And it was great to have homemade fritter. Not the mass produced frozen variety. In fact all food seemed to be be made on the premises. Highly recommended.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food! Food! Food!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Excellent food and coffee - well patronised by the locals so you know it's going to be good. This cafe also has a fantastic selection of large, colourful, original tiles which you can buy. They're brilliant!

Helpful?
Thank LindatNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    70
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We were surprised”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We recently travelled through Levin and happened to pay this cafe a visit after a recommendation from a local. I was a bit dubious about finding good cafe food here, but we ended up leaving very happy.

The place was quite full when we arrived, but we received prompt service when placing our (simple) order. Our blueberry muffin arrived promptly and had the most blueberries we'd ever seen in a muffin - not sure how they all fitted in to be honest! My wife's iced coffee was delicious, not too sweet.

Great atmosphere, and lots of other yummy food on offer ready to tempt your tastebuds. Toilets are simple but clean. There are seats outside with umbrellas, and plenty of local photographs up on the walls. There's even a small pond with a couple of fish in it.

If you're passing through Levin this place is well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles83-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“buzzing yummy haven in a provincial town”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I had eaten here three years previously and popped in as we passed through to grab if possible some of their yummy food to take with us to have with my family at their home. This was no problem for the staff. It was a very busy Saturday lunchtime. There was a wonderful selection of counter food, both savoury and sweet. there is also a full blackboard menu for those wishing to have something more substantial or make a occassion out of their dining. If you are a discerning diner struggling because youve landed in Levin at a meal time, this restaurant is your solution. City eating in an otherwise drab and boring little town. Expect city prices but then relish the quality of the cuisine. Also open Friday evenings and maybe Saturdays Im not sure.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dicowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good cafe.”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Had lunch on two separate days this week. Good, tasty food, interesting & varied menu. Sometimes you can wait for heated food or milkshake to appear after ordering but generally a good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waggersting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
720 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal here”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had breakfast here again this morning. Great food at agood price. Lovely staff and atmoshphere. Very busy cafe, in small town.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whispers Cafe also viewed

Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Whispers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing